The "content" problem on STEEMIT// What ive learned looking at another crypto social media site

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)


This might be a controversial post and i wasnt sure if it was a smart idea to write it for many reasons. (im still pretty sure its a bad idea hehe) After im done ill probably give it to someone to check any holes i might have in my arguments.
The post will have to do with how Steem treats content.

What id like to emphasize is that i hold steem dapps that incorporate the social aspect to be the most superior of any social media site out there and that Steem, as a content monetization platform, doesnt have a competitor. But that has mostly to do with the ability to monetize your content and the unique economic system in place. I think, and you are free to disagree, Steem to a large extent has failed when it comes to content placement and rewarding universaly considered, "valuable/quality content".
"Value" is a point of disagreement for a lot of people because in many cases, "value" is subjective. "Many cases" being the important bit.
There is this pink person on Steem i disagree with about this every time.. His argument in the end always being:

Marica, you watched Idiocracy, if people want to watch a big butt on the screen in the cinema that passes gas, and that brings them value, then that kind of "content" has value, period.



I just cant agree... I think there are many other factors at play here that dont have to do with curation or bots or vote buying (well maybe with bots they have something to do. hehe). We treat STEEM as a closed system which turns it into a echo chamber where value and quality is muddled by what some call "contribution"... There are of course valid contributions on this platform but they are placed in the same pot with "those" that just play a reshuffling/repackaging game, in the end, ending up exactly where they began creating the illusion that something has been done.

I think there is an inherent problem with incentives here and i read a few days ago @kevinwong proposal on curation change and the criticisms of the proposal. The conclusion i came to is that i agree with both sides. I agree that incentives are broken but i dont agree that more curation will fix that ... I dont even think that we are currently talking about the "incentives" that i think are the problem.

At this point i see only one resolution to the content problem...

And that resolution is that STEEMIT needs to die for STEEM to live.

I dont mean it needs to stop existing. I just mean that SMT based platforms with their own rules, need to take its place as the dominant content placement platform.

That is why i wanted to bring up another platform i started posting to... That platform is "Minds".
Minds has its many problems from what i have researched and its use of blockchain is extremely simplistic, but with that simplicity comes what i find great about that platform.

While on Steem the incentive for content creators has always been: "Seeking support and "making friends" with large accounts, agreeing and engaging with high stake holders because they are high stake holders, following and supporting influential individuals simply because they are influential individuals"...

Minds have no such incentives. Its almost purely driven by users own individual determination of what quality or value is. There are no ninja/samurai tactics, because the tokens are worthless, there are no hidden agendas,because no one cares, there is only: "Do i think this deserves my attention for what it is".

I have posted a few times there and even though i gain almost nothing except a few nice comments, 3 of my posts are currently top 3 trending with 900 shares in 4 days. (I have posted on STEEM for 9 months, with breaks, and i dont have 900 resteems in total)
Most my videos have Steemit openmic in their title and i didnt forget to mention, 10 times per post, im from STEEM originally hehe
To see how STEEM compares with quality content placement, i did another thing. I took the video of a STEEM creator i value greatly @yidneth (sry i know im boring you to death these last few days. :D ) and boosted it.
The utility tokens you gain on Minds from creating valuable content can be used to boost a post.
Ill explain why i did this further down in the post.


Screenshot (182).png


At one point on this road we have completely forgotten what "quality" and "value" is. Watching Steemit now feels like what we have seen with Youtube in its early days. "How many friends do you have, sub for sub, like for like, favor for favor."

With everyone fighting to be the one to sit in the whales or dolphins lap, didnt we forget the most important thing?
How will this appeal to those that we want to attract to this platform. The content consumers.

Why did we along the way forget that in order for Steem to establish itself as a content monetization platform, Steem needs to create stand out content creators whose content can be taken and placed on the universal table of value and quality and be competitive with all other platforms. So that we as a group can be proud of what we had to bring forward. @yidneth.

Where is this sentiment? It doesnt exist at large. There are currently no creators on STEEM, that on STEEM, stand out in any regard based on their quality.
The difference in quality between, even the most rewarded creators is so staggering that it amazes me, but seeing some amazing creators not getting a fraction of what those that are objectively inferior get, shocks me.
Its easy to say: "Well this is what you need to do. Its not content, its networking and who you know." But thats not helpful. We all know how it works. The thing is that it shouldnt work like that.

Ill tell you where you can find this sentiment to a degree. You can find it with @curie, with @ocd, with @openmic....

In the places where your stake, your influence, your political provess, your SP mean absolutely nothing.

Do we want to talk about content monetization and content placement or do we want to create a political environment? Because i get enough of that with HDZ and SDP in Croatia, and i bet you get enough of that with Democrats and Republicans in US.



Thats exactly the reason why i mentioned this other social media site. With all its flaws, when the incentive of "making friends" (which in no way is a bad thing) is secondary, content has a opportunity to rise on top.

I for one cant complain about the rewards here.
Being liked by a few large accounts makes all the difference for me. I get to spend STEEM on SM cards, i get to liquidate it, i even used my STEEM earnings to fix my car and payed off a few loan payments with STEEM... I am in no way ungrateful for what i gained here. It is more i could have hoped by a huge margin.

....But at the end of the day, my rewards come from only 2-3 places. My content being seen depends on only 2-3 people.
When a community doesnt have an opportunity to decide what deserves to be seen,

it puts content creators into a position of a artist in feudal times where making ends meet depends completely on their benefactor.

And i openly admit that. If it wasnt for @vortac, @kpine and @dtube i would be nowhere. Im a "Steem child" all the way.
When all is said and done Vortac is the one that literally bought me all the equipment that i use to create videos. I didnt even own a mic before i started.

I am not saying we need to diminish their contribution.
What we need to do is increase the influence of smaller accounts. Find a way for them to act as a pointer for large accounts to find what actually is of value in the grand scheme of things. STEEM needs to start creating stand out creators and those creators are here right now, unseen, unpolished, because we forgot that on a content creation site, standards of quality need to exist.

And right now they most certainly do not.

Really, quality isnt something so elusive as you might think. As a classically trained musician, if i disregarded friendships, i could rate all the musicians on the platform based on objective parameters to a high level of precision and could achieve consensus on that with my peers.
Quality isnt hard to find. If it was Curie wouldnt exist.

Conclusion:



STEEM is an amazing token redistribution platform but it does badly when we are talking about content placement and no change to the code will fix that. STEEMIT needs to die and all its echo chamber nonsense with it. Jerry Banfield left STEEM and many will say good riddance, but why are we then creating a bunch of other Jerrys with the same behavior, with the same approach, with the same goals, just hidden behind a veil of novelty?

We need to create stand out Steemians, and many of those with large support, that are getting those big numbers based on "effort" (content spam) arent it.

Ask yourself... (sry Yid for dragging you into this) How many videos of the same quality could Yidneth make in a day?

I feel like i chastised a whole platform from a position of a someone with less then 1000 SP. :D

Ill see you around... Keep on Steeming.

Sort:  

Well, I certainly don't think the politics go away, no matter what scheme we end up with. For my part I'm increasing my stake as I am able. I think for us to even get to a point where we can have a better filtration of content we need a healthier distribution of stake, and that's related to growing minnows as you are pointing out. I suppose my voting behavior is compatible with that.

I'm very happy that curation accounts exist and can elevate selected content creators though. I hope they can continue to do so. If you told me that they aren't going to last and will go away, then we might be in a real pickle. The fact that they exist at least tells us that not everyone buys into the let's maximize our short term gains route. Really annoying that compared to short term maximizers we will have ended up with less STEEM, unless they are cashing out and not growing themselves.

Agreed. Hehe. I wanted to talk a bit about incentivized behavior and why things are like they are. I think that has more to do with how Steemit is set up, rather then with the steem blockchain. Hoping SMTs will render steemit obsolete.

Gridcoin-child here! We were all crypto-noobies once, even me :)

I am no newbie. I have 1000 SP and i know how to use Bitshares. Im a veteran. :D hahaha

What about mining? To be a veteran, you have to mine something!
I recommend Gridcoin and World Community Grid :)

If i ever put my computer back together, i have a decent one i think, haha, that will be the first thing i will mine. :D
I promise. hehe

i really admire this post and its subject.the above explanation about how content reward and curation should be organized is not what we see today in steemit.i do hope this ideology changes and make steemit a better place for all content creators.

Thanks for this timely post @silentscreamer,i am happy steemit has individuals like you.have a nice day

Well thank you for dropping by. Probably a bad time to talk about this in such a market but wanted to say a few things. 😀

I agree with much of what you say, and hopefully as you mentioned I think SMT will probably have a positive effect on the distribution. Same for me 95% of my support comes from Dtube (of course I am grateful for that) but if it wouldn't, it would be really hard to stay on the platform not getting any support and I see people start all excited then quit fast because no upvotes haven't checked out minds yet I'll look into it.

I can't really offer a solution because I don't know one but I just continue doing my thing, some people appreciate it and others don't care for it that's the way it is, but I just keep trying to support others with what I can even if my upvote isn't worth too much :-)

Of course. Im in the same boat as you. I just wish those users with 0.001 upvotes, their voice meant more which is why i mentioned minds. Your position on the trending page there is dependant on just the content you create. Im at 1000 shares in couple days on a obscure platform that has a lower user base then steem. And everything i know about content creation i learned on Steem.
This shows me that on Steem the incentives differ. Im not saying my content is the best or it should get big numbers, im saying that if i can get so much attention in 5 days on Minds and collectively in 9 months i could not get it here, then theres something very strange going on.

Are people on Minds so much different then Steemians?
I think content has become not secondary, but rather an afterthought on Steem and is replaced with politics and "who you know".

Now that ofc is not the case with everyone. Theres a handful of whales that are clearly not like that and those are the ones that dont bother with the politics. They just do what they do.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Well. I agree with your assessment. I don't have any serious hopes that it will change anytime in the near future, but...

So. I promised you this a while back. It's not that I didn't care, I had to be looking for something else to find it:

https://steemit.com/busy/@taskmaster4450/steemians-can-now-get-paid-on-posts-forever

Hope that helps.

Hi @silentscreamer!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.430 which ranks you at #2117 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 5 places in the last three days (old rank 2112).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 276 contributions, your post is ranked at #56.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

I've been on Minds for a couple of weeks already, giving it a try and from my perspective... I still hesitate if I should delete my channel or not. I have almost 200 subscribers, but I can say for sure that not more than 10 of them are real persons.

Most of the accounts (channels) there are fake. Massive copyrights violations are common practice. I already reported few accounts and... nothing happened so far. For example one of them is downloading beautiful photos from around the world, posting them by either have no credit line or "Image source: Internet". At least a hundreds post a day. This is simply awful. 100% intellectual theft. Especially when monetizing it!

From my 2 weeks experience there... It is too early for complete freedom of speech for Humanity... Just saying :) Am I too pessimistic? :D

Thank you and have a great day!


SteemitBannerLightCaptured400px.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63209.62
ETH 2570.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76