The Revolution Will Not Be Centralized

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

Are we witnessing the most HISTORIC movement in the history of the digital age thanks to Steemit?

Power To The People

If you've been immersed in the momentous growth that Steemit has experienced in the past 4-5 days then my guess is that you probably haven't gotten much sleep.

I know I haven't.

One things for certain, times are a changing and Steemit's definitely paving the way for a brand new era the likes of the world has never seen.

I never thought I'd see the day that I witnessed firsthand the birth of a platform that could make web 2.0 giants like Facebook obsolete.

I also never thought I'd witness a new cryptocurrency enter the marketplace and out of nowhere achieve market domination so fast.

In fact I fully expected STEEM to surpass Ethereum within a matter of weeks and then go on to give our beloved first born Bitcoin a run for it's money.

It's crazy to think that, but that's what happens when you ingeniously device a plan to give the power to the people like Steemit's creators @ned and @dan have done for you and me.

However, after today's hack (which was a minor one at that) speculation is definitely in the air...

enter image description here

I'll be the first to admit not being able to log into my account, make a post, or access my wallet for 5 hours or so was nerve wracking to say the least.

On top of that, the conversations happening in the #price Steem slack channel at the time weren't too promising either. It was mostly dead silence with some fearful commentary on the side.

If you've happened to stumble upon any of my previous posts than you'll know that I was lucky enough to pick up quite a few STEEM shares at just .49 cents a pop.

I thought I had struck Gold! And there's no doubt I did but what seemed like a sure thing has been quite the roller coaster ride for myself and many others over the past several hours.

Not being able to access or move your funds is never a good thing especially when you KNOW beyond the shadow of a doubt that you've placed your bets on a winner.

Fortunately most of my STEEM holdings were still in my Bittrex account. So I was able to move quite a bit of them and I did...It was a gamble just like originally investing in Steemit so early on. After all I was not a part of the alpha testing community, I was just going on a strong "hunch". I really had no idea what this community was all about.

Now, I unloaded quite a bit of my shares not because I don't believe in this platform and it's potential but the way people react to news like Steemit being hacked doesn't always turn out all that great.

enter image description here

Did I make a foolish mistake?

Well, at the time of writing this post it definitely looks like it so far because the price of STEEM continues to rise. (see chart below...)

enter image description here

On the other hand, if you were involved in incidents like Mt. Gox with Bitcoin or most recently the DAO hack then you know that these things aren't taken lightly once the word gets out, especially people who have been through them first hand like I have.

Fortunately for all of us the coin STEEM was never jeopardized and the way the Steemit Leadership team handled everything was top notch.

So I am in no way shape, or form worried one bit about the longevity of this platform or where it's headed.

However, my original investment in the currency STEEM itself was partially to fund a medical operation I'll be undergoing in a few weeks which as of right now I'm happy to report Steemit has officially paid for!

On the flip side I'm super bummed that I let go of any of my STEEM at all but I'm not a day trader, in fact I don't enjoy trading at all, I've learned quite a bit over the past few days about how to do it but I'm more satisfied by investing in projects that will change the world not just skimming a few bucks off the top of the next big thing.

Anyhow, all-in-all I'm quite pleased and happy to be here. I'm also happy that I still have a decent amount of Steem and SteemPower in my wallet here.

One things for sure, tomorrow's going to be an exciting day! Hope you're ready for the ride of your life :)

Thanks for reading my rambling about gambling in the crypto space. I've still got much to learn but what I do know is that if I can spend less time listening to the peanut gallery and more time tuning into my intuition there will be many more investments like this one for us all to benefit from in the future.

On a side note I did convert 100 of my STEEM into NIRO after coming across this video from Colin Cantrell on Youtube. I was super inspired by his message and desire to play a bigger game as a human being here on Planet Earth, this my friends is what it's all about!

We are all super lucky to be here right now, together we will make history. And this is just the beginning!

Aloha,

Jayson

p.s. I had my designer whip up the Steemit Revolution fist used in this post today. Feel free to share it with the community :)

Sort:  

It's more-so a place to share my thoughts here. I'm more stoked about having a platform to communicate, collaborate and earn money from it :) - it's the whole package for me I guess! - but then again, I wasn't an early investor like you were. If I was I'd have been sweating too!

@raymondspeaks Yes, that is ultimately the best route of action. However, if you've had a chance to read my introduce yourself post I'm actually using my work here to pay for an expensive medical treatment that I have to fly to Mexico to receive because it is illegal in the United States. We don't like people being fully healthy and functional here in the "land of the free home of the brave" so in that sense I did have a lot riding on it. Thankfully, my investment in STEEM has now paid for it. My hesitation is that it could've paid for a whole lot more and it still will but the bigger the cushion the better as it's taking every last ounce of my energy to even write these posts.

Oh wow. Really pleased that you've managed to pay for it. I really am. I consider my health treatment in the UK as lucky, because by my past experiences if I was in the US I'd be in debt for the rest of my life :/

Drugged up and dumbed up that's for sure!

I feel you bro, I wasn't either. Wish I know about steem when it was worth cents!

Steemit has very high potential, but thinking about increase of users (with every user granted 10$) can hurt the price in the nearest future. NIRO is a good catch for now, i did the same!

After watching that video how could I not want to be a part of that. It was really moving.

Everything is possible in the world of crypto, after seeing the Bitcoin

Remember guys, this a new economic model with a long way to go. Always take security seriously by yourself.

This is the kind of growth that is possible:

FACEBOOK has 1.65 billion monthly users and 1.09 billion daily active users on average.
The average Facebook user has 155 friends.

TWITTER has 310 million monthly active users.
Of those 83 percent are active users on mobile.
Every second, 6,000 Tweets are sent.

INSTAGRAM has more than 400 million active monthly users.
Of its user base, 75 percent are outside the U.S.
Users have shared more than 40 billion photos.

PINTEREST has 100 million active monthly users.
The average PIN is repinned 11 times.
In 2015 , 3.78 billion DIY Pins were saved Worldwide.
The Pin totaled more then 1.5 trillion recommendations annually.

LINKEDIN has more than 433 million users in more than 200 countries.
Of those, there are 100 million active monthly users.
More than 128 million users in the U.S. alone.
One in every three professionals in the world is on LinkedIn.

Just imagine if you are starting at the ground floor with the next big thing.

These statistics were provided by HOOTSUITE.

And its 24 hours a day 7 days a week, that is quite and entrance steem made.

Very interesting! I like it!

Thank you for sharing your insights .

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58306.22
ETH 2596.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39