SOMETIMES WE NEED TO RAGE AGAINST THE MACHINE

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

I'm not sure how it happened, but in a gradual way, sort of like becoming fat, lazy, or conservative, in my 18 months on Steemit, I've become a boring old fart.

Back in the 90's I had lots of friends who were mad bastards. One of the maddest was Dan (I'll call him Dan because his name is Dan). These days he has his own business, and a wife and kids. But back then he was a loose unit.

Every year on the Wellington waterfront there was a contest called "Birdman" in which people would ride or leap off the end of a wharf, often with wings attached and see who could fly the farthest.

Keep in mind that this was the 90's, long before FUD, smart phones, and PC nazis turned everyone into spineless gimps. We were listening to Kurt Cobain rather than Justin Blubber.

The drop was about 15m (45ft) and the crowd was enthusiastic. To spice things up a bit some people popped a tab (LSD) first.

Dan decided to take things up a notch, so he covered himself in some sort of fireproof greasy shit as well as plenty of flammable shit. Then he got ready to take a long run up on his bike to build up speed. Before starting to ride he set fire to himself. It was a good plan, but halfway down the runway his chain broke, so he had to start paddling along with his feet as fast as he could.

By the time he got to the end of the wharf the flames were big. In fact he was a human fireball, and I felt the heat as he went past. When he landed in the water there was a big cloud of steam (that is steam not Steem)

These days Dan still feels the need to let loose occasionally. One of the things that still really pisses him off is New Zealand's retarded bicycle helmet law. So he recently went over to Courtney Place, Wellington's busy night time entertainment street, and rode up and down on his bike without a helmet until he got arrested.

Now here is the good part - just to make sure he made an impression, along with no helmet, he also didn't wear any clothes. How cool is that?

Apparently photos were posted on fakebook but they were removed, so this is just one of my own photos of Courtney place:

And that brings me back to the boring old fart on Steemit part. When I started out on Steemit last August, I had no wallet, no followers, I'd never heard of whales (other than big fat greasy fishy ones), and I didn't give a fuck who I pissed off.

A couple of days ago someone muted me for "hate speech" What did I say exactly? I told him to stop being an egg and to learn to speak properly so he didn't sound like such a munter. Maybe I should have just told him to stop being such a clueless prick...

That is one of the problems with Steemit, in a sorry arsed attempt to become more popular, so many of us turn into inoffensive boring righteous dribblers who are scared shitless to cause offense in case we lose "followers" But half my "followers" are from Bangladesh and have no idea what the fuck I'm talking about

We need to be free to express ourselves, and if that involves tearing our clothes off or setting fire to ourselves in public, that is what we need to do.

Now just in case anyone is deciding if they need to unfollow me, I'll say upfront that from this point I'm going to do my best to go back to being the person on Steemit that I was when I started out 18 months ago. I liked the posts I was doing last year better even if the payouts were mostly sub $1

That person didn't give a fuck if he pissed a few conservatives off - the first Steemit post he did was one saying that the US government did the 911 "attacks", that fluoride is a neurotoxin, that a low fat diet causes obesity, diabetes, heart disease and cancer, that "terrorist" attacks are all false flags, that cancer is an industry, that America is corrupt from top to bottom, that William Shakespeare was a pseudonym, that the moon landings were fake, that vaccinations are the biggest and most evil con job in human history, and a whole pile of other stuff.

https://steemit.com/conspiracies/@sift666/some-complete-bollocks-that-believers-have-fallen-for-hook-line-and-sinker

Oh yes I'm also anti-zionist, anti-chump, anti pretty much all mainstream opinion, an atheist , an anarchist, I think the idea that America is a democracy is a joke, and that Bitcoin is a rotchild scam to create a one world currency (but don't worry that didn't stop me temporarily investing in it, and making enough wedge to quit worrying about trying to be popular on Steemit)

I've posted all sort of stuff on my blog that I've hesitated to post on Steemit. But bugger it, Steemit is not a job, it's entertainment, the pay sucks, but hell some of the content is good, and now I'm going to strip off my gimp suit and start saying what I really think. Why the fuck not?


WWW.SIFT.CO.NZ

Sort:  

LOL fuck the noise, don’t mind the mess mate!

Carry on, post your honest truth, let the masses figure it out (they will, though I fear not for a long while yet...)
You fly the flag of my vote of confidence in high wind, and brother - we are NOT alone.

Be real, be honest, attenuate nothing.

Let reality shine and if it melts some snowflakes, nature reigns.

Biatch.

🙂

I will be more uninhibited!

Back in 92 shit kicked arse!

"Fuck you, I won't do what you tell me!"

Probably the first album to successfully merge the seemingly disparate sounds of rap and heavy metal, Rage Against the Machine's self-titled debut was groundbreaking enough when released in 1992, but many would argue that it has yet to be surpassed in terms of influence and sheer brilliance -- though countless bands have certainly tried.

This is probably because the uniquely combustible creative relationship between guitar wizard Tom Morello and literate rebel vocalist Zack de la Rocha could only burn this bright, this once. While the former's roots in '80s heavy metal shredding gave rise to an inimitable array of six-string acrobatics and rhythmic special effects (few of which anyone else has managed to replicate), the latter delivered meaningful rhymes with an emotionally charged conviction that suburban white boys of the ensuing nu-metal generation could never hope to touch.

As a result, syncopated slabs of hard rock insurrection like "Bombtrack," "Take the Power Back," and "Know Your Enemy" were as instantly unforgettable as they were astonishing. Yet even they paled in comparison to veritable clinics in the art of slowly mounting tension such as "Settle for Nothing," "Bullet in the Head," and the particularly venomous "Wake Up" (where Morello revises Led Zeppelin's "Kashmir" riff for his own needs) -- all of which finally exploded with awesome power and fury.

And even listeners who were unable (or unwilling) to fully process the band's unique clash of muscle and intellect were catered to, as RATM were able to convey their messages through stubborn repetition via the fundamental challenge of "Freedom" and their signature track, "Killing in the Name," which would become a rallying cry of disenfranchisement, thanks to its relentlessly rebellious mantra of "Fuck you, I won't do what you tell me!"

Ultimately, if there's any disappointment to be had with this near-perfect album, it's that it still towers above subsequent efforts as the unequivocal climax of Rage Against the Machine's vision. As such, it remains absolutely essential.

I love you.


I was considering leaving it at that, but really I also have to say that this post was exactly what I needed to read today. I have been having a shit few weeks, a part of which has death in the forefront of my mind, which actually means life, such as it is, is something I'm pondering quite a bit. 'life is too short' may be a cliche, but that does not remove the truth of it. To those who prefer a watered down, polite persona to the real you, well they aren't much worth your spit, fuck em right up their extremely tight arses.
I also love your naked biking friend and have the same feelings about any laws where the only potential victim for breaking them is oneself. I.E. I'm not opposed to wearing a seatbelt, but I am extremely fucking opposed to being told I have to wear one or else.
Shake that Spear Ian ;)

Many thanks - you give me such awesome comments!

Sorry to hear you are having a rough time, it's really confidence crushing.

Things like watching people close to us dying or grasping that we work all our lives to earn money that can suddenly appear or disappear in a few weeks, really shifts perspectives.

At this point the crypto thing has been a lot of fun, but I suspect that that a lot of people on Steemit are about to get a big nasty slap in the chops (mostly from Bitcoin, and very soon)

But I guess that is what life forces us to do - the alternative is to not be alive anymore, and the fact that we are means still have things to learn

I'm with you on the laws that try to protect us from ourselves. It won't stop, even when they will "chip" us at birth.

yeah i agree, but remember you have uncle johno the munter from Feilding on your steem team :)
Image result for special needs funny

There are so many munters in Fielding... Or is that Palmie?

Glad to hear you are turning yourself lose. Truth hurts sometimes, but the alternative is lies. Love the old @sift666

I like your view. What i understand in it is that everyone is beeing boxed and you don't want to be in a box. You make your own views and they can overlap with others but that does not mean your the same in all your views.

I agree!

Definitely!

As with all things a lot of people are very swung by majority opinion, and even here on Steemit which used to be home of crypto gurus, right now I'm stunned by all the clueless comments I'm seeing!

I have to keep reminding myself that the people with real money generally don't give away their secrets too much...

This is really cool :)
that was great to read........//////////

Glad to be of reading service

Rock N Roll Man! Be free and Be You! Steem on and look forward to more from you down the road again.

Thanks, I'll see what I can come up with :)

Such a cool photo :)

This should make you laugh...well the dude being manhandled is hilarious, the twat man doing the manhandling just increases my disgust with men in uniform.

https://steemit.com/dtube/@dreemit/wosdc5j1

cops are speshule

haha. Anyway I think you need to write about what you want and what you like to say and what keeps you busy :)

Maybe at some point I became a conservative old school establishment Steemian instead of the guy that used to get several unfollows every day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66895.91
ETH 3499.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.89