Sort:  

No not at all. I mean that I have to read them on the screen. I HATE reading on the screen. It just does not really go IN as well as reading real books. I don't have a printer so I don't print anything. I have zillions of ebooks too - and I read them but I HATE it.

For some reason I don't mind using my tablet to read books. I wouldn't read them on a computer or laptop though, that would really suck!

Yes that is an i-pad in the photo, but I use a Samsung tablet

right - so you understand my dilemma - I have very little familiarity with the ipad or tablet - mainly for the reasons you describe - you can't type or upload anything - so it is like a shopping tool to me which I find vulgar. but I am old - I will be 55 on Wednesday this week - so I am not of this gen that likes this kind of thing. I do LIKE puters - as a tool... I just don't like being used BY them.

I don't want to give you the idea I'm a tech head - I'm not - for example, I hate cell phones and only turn mine on occasionally to test websites on a small screen.

But I really like Android tablets - mainly for portable internet browsing (that is why I often don't comment much on Steemit), for image editing - I can do all sorts of things on a tablet that I can't do in Photoshop, as an eBook reader, and for watching videos in comfort (in the bath for example)

The catch for a new user is that you have to learn the double whammy of touchscreen control - mostly pretty good, but bloody awful for typing, all along with the Android operating system.

It's basically a Linux system, although purist geeks freak out because it's not open source. Yes Google are evil, but so are Microsoft and Apple. And like all Linux systems, the file structure is confusing.

Here is an introductory post I wrote about Linux back in 2010. It's pretty good if I say so myself :)
http://www.frot.co.nz/design/computing/linux/

Here is a photo I just edited on my tablet.

hmmm... an android tablet. I will think about this. i just looked on Craigslist at windows 7 laptops - around $150 - didn't you share an article with me about this? I am curious right now because my system is too old to use giphy - HOLY SHIT and I am pissed off about it. I might look into buying a windows 7 laptop eventually...

You probably won't be delighted to learn I'm recommending BOTH an Android tablet and a Win 7 computer - they are good for different things

http://www.frot.co.nz/design/computing/windows-7/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67167.83
ETH 3499.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81