POST THE SORT OF CONTENT ON STEEMIT THAT YOU WANT TO SEE YOURSELFsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Like many people on Steemit I’m coming up to my one year anniversary. There seems to have been two really big mass migrations to Steemit – August 2016 and July 2017.

I first heard about Steemit last August because James Corbett @corbettreport talked about it in a video. And around the same time a lot of people also heard about Steemit from Jeff Berwick @dollarvigilante

Not being part of the current influx, I have no idea who told the latest bunch of newbs, but I guess some famous person on one of the big censored platforms like youtub and fakebook was talking about it and then moved over here, bringing a bunch of followers with them.

A lot of people on Steemit are in search of the holy grail – the secret to success. But the thing is, we are all different. We not only have different interests, we also have different ways we want to see information presented.

Some people like to watch videos, while others think that videos are usually a boring time wasting pain in the arse, and just want to see things written down so they can read them at their own speed.

Some people think that resteeming other people's posts is the key to growing Steemit, but others think that resteeming is an incessant flow of noise that clutters their timeline, so they are constantly unfollowing people who do a lot of resteeming.

Like most people, I have my own preferences, and I have ideas about what I’m looking for on Steemit. But I am the first to admit that my own tastes are probably not the majorities tastes and may well prove to be spectacularly unsuccessful in terms of both popularity and reward.

Although Steemit is not mainsteam media, the more new people who sign up, the higher the percentage of them who are likely to be mainstream sheeple.

What initially started out a refuge for free thinking anarchists, for geek social misfits who keep blathering on about computers and crypto currencies, and for conspiracy theorists who harbour irrational fears about fakebook, might later just turn into the next “social media” platform where a bunch of conformists group together to affirm their existing beliefs and flag any dangerous lunatics who do posts about freaky shit.

And that is exactly what I don’t want to see happen on Steemit. We are all different, and we all want to see different things. Personally, I want to see more freaky shit, from posts about used panty dispensing machines in Japan, to in depth articles about the eugenics agenda of vaccinations.

I want to see that information presented in short well written sentences, with lots of pictures. I don’t give a toss where those pictures came from, I will either like them or I won’t. But I will probably like them best if they stand out like dogs balls.

Steemit is a vast flow of information, but to me, much of it is a boring and badly written sea of crap that I’m trying to sift through as rapidly as possible to find the bits I’m interested in.

So the secret to Steemit success? Well this is the sort of thing I’m looking for myself - but keep in mind that we are all different, and hopefully we will remain that way…

On my feed I first want to see a heading that jumps out and screams “LOOK AT THIS FREAKY SHIT!” followed by a first line that really draws me in eg. “Japan has more used panty dispensing machines than any other country”

And alongside that I want to see a thumbnail of an image that leaps out, grabs me by my eyeballs, and makes me think “holy crap that picture is awesome”. But I do not want to ever see the words “Image Source” in the tag line for fucks sake…

Once I’m on the page I want to get started with reading a few lines of text, while the first image loads (so don’t put an image at the top of the page because it will bugger everything up)

And from then on I want each sentence to hold my interest. There are hundreds of other posts on Steemit, and if your post bores my pants off I’m outa there. So make it snappy and then include some more pictures.

And that’s it really – grab my attention, hold my interest, and go on about some shit that freaks out the sheeple. Plus lots of pictures. And if you can regularly do all that without constantly resteeming a bunch of boring crap, I might even follow you!

Images by @sift666 - except this one of a book about pissing...

Coming soon – Next I’m working on a post about drinking your own piss:


MY MINIMALIST STEEMIT SIGNATURE

For more info, see MY WHOPPING BIG STEEMIT SIGNATURE

Sort:  

Excellent post and very well written which seriously addresses the issues with Steemit as a unique platform. I agree, conformity and acquiescence to the social media hordes seems inevitable at this point. Popularity and the masses will bring it, along with the usual suspects (drivel & spam) but hopefully this platform will evolve. At this point all we can collectively do is manually separate the wheat from the chaff.

Thanks, so true, and lets see if we make some conformists heads explode!

i am an August steemit baby so 1 year is coming up in a couple of weeks, i have found authors i like and anyone that bores me i un-follow.
I like your posts because they make me laugh and i agree with your stance on a lot of things

steemit has changed a lot in the last 12 months - some good some bad :)

I can cope with a some spam if my posts are earning over $40! - although actually I hardly ever get any spam, so maybe the spammers can tell I'm just waiting to mock them :)

Nice post. I envision Steemit as a place to red pill the shit out off libtards and make a few friends along the way.

Still seems very right leaning to me 😉

Which way are libtards leaning now? - so long as Steemit is leaning away from that!

Libtards who stray from fakebook may have an exciting time here! :)

Hopefully Steemit will remain the place for free thought. Personally I like short posts that get to the point, I do not want to read a novel here!

You hit the nail on the head again. Glad I found your site, you make me laugh and make me think. I try and include some humor in my posts. Without humor whats left. Drinking piss Huh, if it's going to keep me alive so I can read your next post, why not.

HAPPY ANNIVERSARY ON STEEMIT. VERY WELL DONE AND KEEP IT UP GREAT WORK !

Definitely worth an upvote and a resteem :]

Good post and I agree with you, even tho I like other kinds of posts, but that is reely what you are saying, Everyone has different taste. About the July "flood" (started in June) is a group I belong to, it's the people, mostly photographers and photo lovers, from Tsu. After Tsu went under this group has stuck together trying to find a new plase but all the sites we have tryed we had give up on, except Steemit, it's so close to Tsu. We stick together with our "same interest", photographing. Most of us are not looking at anything else or partisipating, except fave use Walpower and things like that. The other wave I think is what we got regularly on Tsu, bots, and buggers who believe it's easy money, but they will disappear when they find out it's not.

Thanks - that is the first I've ever heard of TSU!

I surely do unfollow people who repost too much :)

You know, I wondered why the second photo works so nicely - the face of the lady has similar geometry to the car's front :D

And the little girl with the gun is great as well!

Many thanks - I often admire your photos, so any feedback is much appreciated.

I hadn't even realised the similarity of her face to the car, but now that you point it out...

People with cell phones always crack me up!

Being a "newbie" and retired, I found your post really useful, particularly the "do's" and "dont's". I'm still finding my way around, and taking it all in - slowly. Where are all the "oldies" posts though. It seems to be mostly young people, unless I'm looking in the wrong place. I love the young people and what they have to say , but I can't pretend to understand some of the jargon and technicle stuff. Jan

It's certainly big and confusing, but not young at all. Many young people are semi-literate cell phone addicts and their posts are appalling!

Much of the good content is being written by older people - here is a 72 year old talent to start with - @richq11

Thank you . That's good to know that I'm not in a minority, and now that I know fellow oldies are out there, I can be on the lookout. Jan

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98