New To Steemit? Remember These 3 Words

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

uBYtzxxLHhxPq.gif

My Steemit account was approved almost 3 days ago. And since then I have been actively engaging and contributing.

It’s fun, you know?

To contribute, connect, and engage is truly fun!

But you know what?

As usual, I was clueless to start with. I have been self-employed for over five years now.

When I started? I was clueless back then.

Writing was not natural to me. I had to learn it the hard way. And you know what? English is not my first or second language.

So when I started learning - you guessed it - I was clueless.

I never knew how to cook.

Yep.

Clueless there.

You know how this one ends, right?

Why am I saying this?

Every time I was clueless, I found a way out. It is not just me - but anyone can do it. And that’s because a wise man once told me something incredibly important.

I always remember these three words and wish to share with the community even if you already know this. What are these words?

Simple:

"Be Deadly Curious"

That's right. Just these three words. Feed it to your mind.

Always be deadly curious.

Like this cat:

TvZRJdKk49cKQ.gif

Because Every time you are curious, you ask questions. And these questions lead to answers.

So when I joined Steem, I was curious.

→ Curious to know how it operates...
→ Curious to know what people think about it...
→ Curious to know the technology behind it...
→ Curious to know the value I could bring to the community...

And It Gets Better

This curiosity has led me to Google more about Steem, go back to the frontpage of Steemit.com and read articles to the point that my mind was ready to explode.

So much of information, man!

But you know what?

I am taking it all in.

And I am also asking silly questions. Where, you ask?

One Good Place Is Steemit.chat

Steemit.chat is a free chatting service for Steem users.

As an Indian, I was surprised to find an Indian channel there. I quickly became friends with its admin @firepower and learned there are over 7600 users.

With 99% active.

Screen Shot 2017-05-09 at 6.40.54 PM.png

As you can see from the screenshot above, there are dedicated channels. One is to promote your post, other to talk anything in general. There are tonnes of channels there.

You can simply hang around.

Or ask silly questions like I did.

In fact, I was curious to know all about the system and asked @the-ego-is-you who was active on Steem Chat. He was truly helpful and answered everything.

The best part?

We went from crypto currency to relationship to God.

So if you have some free time, whether you are new to Steem or old, definitely check out Steem Chat. And, as always, remember those three words, each and every day:

Be Deadly Curious!

Cheers,
Sid

Sort:  

Steemit Chat has had a lot of help from @riverhead who manages the server and from @pfunk -also an admin now and our lil' mod team. We've seen a gradual rise in users and it remains a good place to network and collaborate.

There are tonnes of channels to choose from. I've listed a few here: https://steemit.com/steemit/@firepower/dummies-guide-to-using-steemit-chat-effectively-everyday - It's an old article and a lot of it is still relevant today.

Thank you!

These links help!

Thank you for tagging Riverhead and Pfunk! Truly appreciate what you guys have done here. :)

Sid you are doing it perfectly!

Thank you @Steemitqa! :)

I hope so. :)

Learning each hour!

I love your attitude man!

Thank you so much!

It means a lot to hear this at 1 AM!

Super pumped. :)

Curiosity really is the best. It's when we realize what we Don't know that we open up a whole new realm of possibility and learning! Thanks for your post :)

we open up a whole new realm of possibility and learning

This says it all!

Thank you! Every time I got more curious in life, I got more choices, ultimately more answers and miracles.

Funny life works that way.

Kids have this trait but to tend to lose some of it as we grow older and the question is why! "Mummy, why is the sky blue?"

How do you post articles on here

On Steemit? Go here: https://steemit.com/submit.html

Once the article is posted, you can paste the URL anywhere.

This helps? Let me know!

I post the link yet the picture doesnt come up. Also cant figure out how to post a profile picture

Picture of the link? It won't show up everywhere. Depends on where you are posting, you know.

For profile picture settings go here: https://steemit.com/@inandout1/settings (only you can access)

What i dont understand is the profile pic ask for a url opposed to giving me a option to upload a picture from my phone. I dont have a url to retrieve a picture from for a profile picture

So what you do is upload to sites like http://imgur.com/ or http://pasteboard.co/

Then from there, you will get an image URL (with png / jpg / or other format)

Paste this in your Steemit account setting. :)

You can upload your pictures on imgur.com without signing up, then copy the image address not link address, then insert into your post here!

Curiousity is the first step to learning :)

INDEED!

You got me curious now dude.

Where is your avatar? :D

Probably floating around somewhere :p..
Let me know if you need any help.

Absolutely! I saw you on Steem.chat.

Definitely wishing to connect further, my man!

I could help out with anything :)

Namaste ! I will keep making mistakes and learning from them,and from people like you!

I am having trouble - not knowing how to get questions answered since their is no Slack. Need get my coins off an exchange - but can not seem to find a good way to communicate with others in here.

We went from crypto currency to relationship to God.

Haha oh no... That happens sometimes with me. :D

Thanks for the mention and good talking to you Sid!

Welcome! I'm glad you're finding the community receptive and helpful. Deadly curious is a great way to view things.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64549.55
ETH 3170.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13