Newbies - Do You Have Decision Paralysis?

in #steemit7 years ago

thinking-1652038_640.jpg

Now, I do know this about myself...but certain blank canvases bring this out of me - i.e. steemit!
paper-2221812_640.jpg

I'm the type of person that likes to make informed decisions - I will spend hours researching a topic so that I feel confident I am making the right decision! This, however, is also known as procrastination!!😂

Granted.. for certain situations you NEED to take time to decide on the best course of action. There does come a point though, if you find you take ages to decide on EVERYTHING that the following tips might help:

1. JUST DO IT!

Nike said it best...instead of wasting time going backwards and forwards trying to decide if you should or you shouldn't...try and see what happens. I know, jumping into the unknown is enough to give anyone with decision paralysis a heart attack...but sometimes it's the best way to get over the obstacle in front of you.

just-do-it-1432951_640.png

2. GIVE YOURSELF A TIME LIMIT

I honestly think if you give yourself a deadline it forces you to take action - otherwise you can end up chasing your tail forever!! If you tell yourself you MUST decide on a topic and do a post in the next 30 mins - you will speed up the whole process!

appointment-15979_640.jpg

3. WRITE A LIST

I always find a list of pros and cons always helps speed up the decision process...whichever list has more items, go with that. If it's not that easy, prioritise your list and chose the list that contains your top priority.

checklist-1919292_640.jpg

4. WRITE A TO-DO LIST

Ok so I better admit that i'm a list person (also known as a control freak!) lists give me control and a sense of satisfaction when I tick off each item on that list - just makes me feel so productive. Please note though...no point doing the easy stuff and leaving the important hard stuff till last - whatever is important DO THAT FIRST! It's like clock watching! I hate knowing I have to do something and it bugging me the whole day.

to-do-734587_640.jpg

5. KNOW THAT ITS OK TO FAIL

Fear of failure is a HUGE reason why people are afraid to make a decision - also the fear of regret...but you often learn a lot from failing that you wouldn't otherwise know! So go ahead - make that video, write that blog post...if it doesn't do well, you will learn to do better but consistency and persistence is the key to becoming a better version of yourself...you have to put yourself out there (I'm speaking to myself here as I need to do the same!)

apple-2172165_640.jpg

I hope this has been helpful for those who, like myself, struggle when they are faced with a million-and-one options! It's never going to be as bad as you think!! Full steem ahead! :)

Till next time! x

Sort:  

Nothing more than the truth... gotta love psychology !

This is a huge issue for me. I have a lot of toxic perfectionism, and I have trouble starting anything. For instance, I'll buy a notebook, but it's really hard to get myself to start writing in it because once I start writing, it's not clean and untouched and perfect anymore. I also feel the need to be consistent throughout, which is really hard to do on long-term projects (like taking notes on something over the course of a year) because my style or notation (or something else) might change over that time. Honestly, the only reason I ever finish anything is if I'm given a time limit to get it done. Otherwise I just fixate on every little thing that could be improved. I'll try to use this advice in the future to get things done! Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61293.86
ETH 2930.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65