You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit vs Priorities

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

You've piqued my interest @drakos, thank you for the write up and what you've noticed happening to Steemit. I wanted to provide my input and perception of these events as well.

Steemit flirting with it's own token system will no doubt stir the begining of a greater number of phishing scams and fake ICO schemes, but when looking at other coins i.e. Etherium implimenting tokens into their blockchain, this move could be very well be the huge step leading into Steemit's mass adoption.

First things first though. Steemit needs to also have the full functionality of being able to stop and otherwise thwart these efforts, and in the big picture, I can agree that right now this doesn't look like the case. However I can imagine that these are already being looked into ask we speak.

Providing strong security in the back-end is an essential step that cannot be overlooked when working on a project of this scale, teeming with vulnerability. From the front-end being just another user, I can see notifications being buggy, but fortunately, have not have a post or comment be swallowed and unrecoverable.

This makes me think that device compatibility is actually being worked on more than we can speculate at this moment. In all of my experiences, even when Steemit goes down (or slows), the things I write get frozen but have all been automatically saved when I refresh the page. I've lost more posts on Facebook than the zero I had on Steemit. This shows me that the developers aren't fucking around as much as we sometimes believe.

I still back up my posts on notepad and hackmd.io just in case. This is a major issue that needs the utmost attention right now though. If people cannot normally access the site or use it properly without enormous effort, then we are going to see use decline, and lose all appeal for new users altogether.

I would love to see the big announcements, acknoledgement of the issues, and hard fork updates being actually stickied to the top of our feeds because we are still beta and this is the time where everything needs to be ironed out before the public release.

I see frustration on the rise, and being transparent on what is happening and what's being done can definitely help the userbase we already have grow stronger and raise the confidence of posting and interacting more often.

More people need to see this. Resteemed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60003.48
ETH 2309.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49