Why You NO Upvote Me? I Upvote You Always... and other Newbie Grumbles

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

A newbie/minnow's life is hard.


You keep struggling to post, follow and upvote other Steemians. It's not easy to find your place and be recognized. In this community there are certain codes of conduct that we need to follow so that we wouldn't disrupt the harmony of this precious home; certain spoken and unspoken rules that will help us steem with ease. So here are some complaints I have read (and some I have done as well, guilty!) that are prevalent in the newbie world and the proper way to deal with it.

1. "I always upvote your posts but you don't upvote back."

When two Steemians are mutuals (members who follow each other), one may expect that the other must upvote. In Steemit, the case is not applicable. You cannot force a Steemian to vote for you. I'm sorry to break it to you but it's just the way it is, especially if the other Steemian follows so many members and might bypass your post. Lucky for you if that fellow Steemian has designated his autovote to you. But if they don't, don't take it against your friend, he or she may not find your post interesting enough to upvote. It's just part of life, not everyone will notice or like what you do.

2. "I gave you a tip, but you didn't FOLLOW me and UPVOTE my posts."

A bit of BRIBERY may work but if you truly expect that a certain tip will earn you a huge following and upvotes (unless it's a HUGE tip, lol) , then you're WRONG (Caps lock for intensity!)! It doesn't guarantee your following will grow or the members will upvote all your posts. Tipping is nice but again it all boils down if your posts are interesting or not. Here in Steemit, it's always a constant challenge. You will have high upvotes or low i-should-have-posted-another-interesting-post upvotes. So continue to find your niche, build followers and you might be able to sail high in no time.

3. "I always mention (insert whale account name here) in my posts and comments, yet I'm still unnoticed."

Mentioning a whale in your post doesn't get you noticed right away, although some do engage when mentioned. You have to remember sometimes people are busy and they have a life outside Steemit. And you have to understand that some whales experienced the same challenges we have been facing and they have proven that perseverance and hard work could get you somewhere. Just continue to acknowledge that person you admire, but don't get discouraged if they don't give you a second look or a pat on the back.

4. "I'm a friendly active chat/group member yet other members still ignore my posts."

If you haven't gotten the point of perseverance and creating interesting quality content, then good luck. Re-examine your posts, evaluate, ask around, and attend steemit workshops if you must to improve yourself. Nothing is handed to you on a silver platter, you must work hard in posting good content and interact with your fellow Steemians. Be nice, avoid conflict and uplift others as well.

Don't entertain negative feelings that would affect your post and writing.


In Steemit, you win some and you lose some. You have to open your mind that we are a diverse community, with different cultures and traditions, that would make you do a lot of adjustments. But despite of the differences we still communicate with the same language of love, respect, understanding and tolerance. I believe Steemit is a PAY IT FORWARD community, a lot of people are willing to help just as long as you are genuine and humble enough. Steemit helps you grow.

So don't be too hard on yourself and don't be discouraged! Always remember minnow, you are not alone! Steem on!

If you like, you can follow me, @shellany.

gif sources:
https://giphy.com

Sort:  

thx for sharing - please upvote me ;)

Thanks for reading as well! ;)

This post recieved a vote from @minnowpond. For more information click https://steemit.com/steemit/@minnowpond/boost-your-rewards-with-minnowpond

Sometimes it seems to be a bit like being (a) single (guy) and going out: people simply pick up on your intentions. If they are purely selfish, people will be turned off by them.

Exactly, just worded it nicely as not to offend the others. :)

I hope I didn't offend the author of the post. That certainly wasn't my intention. I think it's an interesting topic that is relevant not only on Steemit but in many spheres of live.

Oh no, I do get your point, I made these points because human as we are, we can't help but feel negatively on the issue of upvotes and following. Some of these reasons I have encountered while reading comments on certain posts, so this is a way to motivate members to just improve themselves and not deal with the negatives. Thanks for reading! :)

Baammm!!! That's more like it! Hit us minnows right on the spot.

Hahaha bull's eye ba madame???

Ahhh some painful truths in there...good post. Little upvote and resteem from a fellow minnow with big whale ambition

Thank you for appreciating my post! :)

You're welcome :-)

I agree and upvote

Thank you! Have a good day! :)

Excellent post, and very valid points that are particularly relevant today. Thank you from a very tiny minnow! lol. (I've re-steemed because I feel more people should read this post.)

Thank you, glad you like my post! Steem on fellow minnow! :)

follow me back

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 59067.30
ETH 2504.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44