STEEMIT Made My Son's Birthday Wish Come True

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Wishes do come true in STEEMIT.



My son and I usually have our weekend bonding moments eating at the most popular fast-food chain in the country: Jollibee. And during those times, we often chance upon kids celebrating their birthdays there. He would get up from his seat and try to take a peek at the party area. He would then tell me how nice it is to have a Jollibee party and he would like to have one on his next birthday. I would then tell him that if he continues to become a good boy, I will let him have his party but deep inside, I was worried that I might not be able to provide him one because of a slim budget.

Truth to be told, having a Jollibee birthday party is a bit expensive for an average single-parent earner like me. I handle and pay for my son's needs and education together with splitting the bills in the family. Plus, I just exhausted some funds last Christmas season and New Year's. An average cost to have a Jollibee party good for 30 persons or more would be at least $250. I can create a home party for less, but fulfilling my son's dream to have that party would make him even happier.

So joining Steemit was a blessing and it still is. I am a proud member since May 2017. It is also my brother @darthnava's lifesaver for his medical needs and spine surgery. I was able to raise the money through my Steemit earnings while posting articles, poetry and photographs. I was also able to help some of my relatives in need. And now even prouder that I was able to fund my son's 5th Jollibee birthday party.

I began to encash my SBD earnings and a power down to fund it all. I was able to garner $300 or almost Php 15,000. I told my son two weeks ago to accompany me to go to Jollibee to book his birthday party there. His eyes lit up and he flashed a huge smile. He was so excited that he was jumping for joy.




When his special day came, on January 17th, he began to ask about the time of the party because he was getting impatient. His party was scheduled at 5:00pm, it was a Wednesday, a lot of the kids are still going home from school and parents are just about to leave work. I took a half day leave to make sure things are in order.

Everyone in the family helped prepare and went to the venue together. My parents and brothers were very supportive for my son's big day. When we got to the venue, we saw it was very festive: already decorated with balloons and a colorful tarp with my son's name on it.

The cake, game prizes, activity materials and loot bags were already displayed. The friendly crew guided us and informed me of the flow of the program.










Our guests came and the children looked very excited. They were examining the decors and set-up as well. Their faces were all smiles and couldn't wait for the party to start.

The party started with a prayer and an introduction, a dance from the Jollibee crew, after which the children were asked to gather in the stage area to play games. There were prizes given and the kids couldn't be any happier for participating and winning goodies. Adults were able to play with the children too. A Jollibee mascot was there to entertain and have pictures with.














@darthnava poses with Jollibee

Food was served with a hearty meal of chicken and rice, spaghetti, fries, a soda, and a chocolate fudge sundae. Guests were impressed by the abundance of food when they were just expecting the usual burger and fries or a serving of spaghetti.

After dinner, they were able to enjoy the cake and the children were given loot bags for them to take home.

I was able to give parting words of appreciation to all the guests who graced the event. I was asked to give my birthday message to my son, Skyler. He was then asked to say something and as a reply to me, I was surprised to hear the words :

"I love you Mommy!"



It was like fireworks and music to my ears! I was struggling to hold back my tears because it was the first time he said the words in front of a lot of people. Of course we do I love you's everyday but usually I would always nudge him to get a response. It was indeed epic for me and the guests were impressed.

At the end of the day, my son was able to thank me and told me he had fun and it was the best birthday ever.

In all honesty, if not for Steemit, I wouldn't be able to fund my son's birthday with ease and without worries. Earning here is a means to augment income, but most importantly I was able to gain knowledge and develop a true sense of belongingness and community, people are not spoonfed here but given opportunities to grow, learn and improve lives. Thank you Steemit and the whole community, your upvotes and support really means a lot. My family, son and I will always be grateful for all the help you have given us all, and for that we are always grateful.

For the right reasons, dreams and wishes do come true here on STEEMIT!

Follow me @shellany

Sort:  

Wow so nice...that was so emotional as well as inspiring article....i feeled too happy for you how u managed your sons b.day ...and cheers for your hardwork and for ur love to bring happiness on ur sons face ....May gol bless all like this ....Thanks alot for sharing ..and yeah steem is distributing happiness allover...may steam progress more an more

Thank you, steemit has helped a lot of people and will continue to do so. Just continue to steem on! :)

I love reading posts like these because it makes me believe more in the platform. I'm happy that your son got his wish because of Steemit. :) Happy Birthday to your son @shellany. :)

Thank you sis! Yes, Steemit has indeed changed a lot of lives for the better. :)

Wow... Very nice, inspiring & motivating post.... Am so happy for you, family and mostly your son... Steemit made it possible again, am so happy, i tap from his blessings. @charleswealth

Thank you, never give up, blessings will come your way friend! :)

Really valuable information well done my dear

Wow great party!


Love

You are making a great article I wish I could become as successful as you and get a voice for me

You will do great! Just continue to do better fellow Steemian! :)

Happy birthday little guy!

Thank you so much @big.mama ! :)

That was sweet and belated Happy birthday to your son. :)
Fave ko rin si jobee. :D

Hehehe sarap na balik-balikan sis! Walang katulad ang Jollibee! :)

This is such a lovely article <3 I'm so happy for you that you were able to find happiness and community while earning enough money to bless Skyler and make his dream come true.

Thank you @thriftymum , it takes patience and hard work too but it's been worth it. Blessings to you too! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61763.08
ETH 2899.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.49