The People I Follow Are KILLING IT On Steemit Right Now! AKA: The Benefits Of Having A Mindful Timeline

in #steemit7 years ago

I was scrolling through my homepage timeline, looking for posts to curate, and I noticed that everyone I follow is doing really well on Steemit today:

killingit.png

In purely coincidental order we have:

@hanshotfirst
@jonny-clearwater
@kevinwong
@sykochica

All doing really, really well.

Follow the right people

The accounts I follow are rather diverse, and I follow them for different reasons.

Some are personal friends or other relations, some are up-and-comers who I think show good promise, and some are bigger content creators or developers who I can rely on to create top-level content that is not just good but will earn money.

Because I trust the people that I follow, I'm able to easily brows my timeline and upvote basically everything on there, because I follow people who create content and tools that I trust.

This doesn't happen with follow-4-follow

I've been seeing soooooo much f4f stuff on Steemit lately.

I've seen channels that have acquired about 900 followers in a week, but follow 5,000 accounts!!!

It might seem good to get that many followers in that amount of time, but when you look at the actual engagement on these accounts, it is very low compared to other channels of the same size that didn't get that way with the f4f approach. Votes are typically very low, and payouts are in the low dollars and cents.

The reason for this is that people who are doing f4f aren't looking to upvote other people's content -- they are playing a numbers game, hoping that if they follow enough people that a portion of them will follow back and a portion of them will actually curate and upvote.

It's better to grow an audience organically

Building an organic following will pay off much faster and much better than follow for follow.

So many new people seem to want to have it all NOW, and that ambition is clouding their judgment and preventing them from doing things that actually work on Steemit.

And as a result, that have what I can safely call a useless timeline. Their homepage is going to be a mess of random content, much of it plagiarized from YouTube. If you do what I do, your timeline will always be filled with great content to curate, and you won't be overwhelmed by a bunch of random stolen content, either! :D

I'll post later about how to build an organic following quickly and effectively.

But until then --

Follow me @shayne

Sort:  

It's a good time to be on Steemit!

It truly is. We have a chance to witness how Steemit will change the internet !

Rightly said @shayne . As in life, there are no shortcuts on Steemit as well. Organic growth is the best growth even if it is slow!

I'd even say it's not that slow for what you get. In fact, growth seems to snowball here naturally, unlike other social media.

people expect an avalanche .. LOL

You're not doing so bad yourself brother and you're a good role model to boot. Always enjoy your content. I think I should start posting?

Looks like you've got a good 200 followers. I say go for it and see what happens!! :D

I'm slowing learning the ropes!

The one thing I love about steemit is it helps to help others and it's a win-win for everyone. So people are so helpful and people, ideas, help progresses so quickly!

Long live STEEMIT !

Well then, let me be the first to ask you to follow me:)
@nicholasblack60

I started on here by following way to many people and now I have to do some cleaning to get a better feed as a lot of valuable stuff gets buried in garbage less valuable stuff in my feed. But I also don't have the power to dig in.

That's why it's important for people to follow your advice from the get go.

I think the most any of mines ever been worth is like $14 otherwise worth nothing :) But its all good :)

Thanks! Really helpful

Shayne, I have to agree with what you say. If a person believes in themselves and has pride in their beliefs, then their pick of who to follow becomes very easy. To me there has to be sincerity involved. I find it much more rewarding to think my followers do so out of interest in the content and hopefully me as a person. I don't think I have ever asked for votes or followers. I enjoy being here, I have no intent of leaving nor withdrawing earnings. I believe that Steemit will succeed and in my small way I can help it along, not just for me but for my Daughter.

you want followers that engages with you and gives a damn, not F4F.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60097.61
ETH 3373.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51