STEEMIT Is A Ponzi Scheme - Refuted!

in #steemit7 years ago

This was a comment posted on the latest video on my YouTube channel, which is my Introduce Yourself video -- which, by the way, was very fun -- thank you all for being so positive and responsive! I love the comments, questions, and the overall optimistic attitude.

The comment left on the video brought up a common concern that prevents people from joining steemit:

Screenshot (62).png

Now, James Bond is a subscriber to my channel, and also @bitcoinmeister, and is an active member of the crypto-community in general. He has his own YouTube channel which you should check out. I think it would be fair to say he leans towards Bitcoin-maximalism -- as his comments in Adam's live chats typically consist of trying to get people who exhibit "weak-hand syndrome" to sell him their bitcoin lol.

I'd like to address the notion that Steemit is a Ponzi scheme, and also address the argument that if nobody bought into steem the price goes to 0.

First: Ponzi Scheme

A Ponzi scheme is defined thusly

A fraudulent investment operation where the operator, and individual or organization, pays returns to its investors from new capital paid to the operators by new investors, rather than from profit earned through legitimate sources.

This does not at all define how Steemit operates, as I understand it.

To start, payouts are generated according to the protocol and distributed from a pool between 3 kinds of Steemit users: Content creators (75%), Interest on Steem Power holders (15%), Seem witnesses (10%).

Therefore, Steemit does not qualify as a Ponzi scheme because users are not paid returns based on the capital from new investors; rather, they are paid as an automatic procedure of the protocol, whether or not there are new investors producing new capital.

Second: If Nobody Buys It, Steem Goes To 0

The argument is: if users simply cash out of Steem, it would crash to 0.

Answer:

Yes

This is also true of Bitcoin, or any other cryptocurrency... or any stock asset... or any metals asset, including gold... or any fiat currency... etc. etc. etc.

The nature of a financial asset is that it has some degree of liquidity: you have to be able to trade it for something in order for it to have value. That's... actually the whole reason that money has any value in the first place. And if everyone cashes out of any financial asset or currency, its value goes to 0, because that's the organic market setting the price of the asset as worthless.

This is not so much an argument against Steemit as it is an argument for a Resource Based Economy, and I don't think that a Bitcoion maximalist really wants to argue for a RBE.

But, to be fair, that's me putting words into 007s mouth, which I don't want to do.

The point is that if Bond believes that the potential of cashing a cryptocurrency out of existence means the crypto is a scam, then he must think that Bitcoin is a scam to be logically consistent. That might cause some cognitive dissonance. :)

However, I can easily prove that Steemit isn't a scam from personal experience: I have used the site, I haven't made any financial investment whatsoever, and I have cashed out hundreds of dollars without permission and generated an account worth almost $550. If that's a scam -- I'll take more scams, please!

Anyway, what do you think about this? Have people ever told you that Steemit was a scam? What sort of worries have people expressed to you when you brought Steemit up to them?

Follow me @shayne

Sort:  

My only investment in steemit, is my blood, sweat and tears and someone signing up today can buikd a wallet without any outside investment. Steemit is too legit to quit. Steem On Dude!

It's a great entry point for the underbanked to get into crypto, and also people who are just skeptical. There's no fear. It's free, and you might learn something and earn something :D

I have used the site, I haven't made any financial investment whatsoever, and I have cashed out hundreds of dollars without permission and generated an account worth almost $550.

Not to mention its decentralized, free market, cryptographically secured account keys that only you control, no referral rewards generated from newcomers and all that combined with there being no ads or ad revenue!

Who wouldn't love that?!

All superb additions to the point! Thank you.

Another non believer who probably never used the steemit.com platform which does not cost anything to sign up ATM...

Sounds like his attitude is to find a coin or website to invest his bitcoin. If you asked him what is NOT a scam and what does he consider a GOOD investment? Would like to hear his comments or answer to that question.

I think he just hodls.

The most attractive part about steemit is that you don't pay anything to start. It's like getting a bitcoin wallet, but then you start writing blogs and the wallet suddenly starts getting deposits lol

I agree with that @shayne

He can hodl all he want's, but if you divided his BTC in 1/3rds...

Ehh...just google it

:p

I've wondered, what do you get out of pushing the thirds strategy? I've got no problem with it at all, I'm just curious because I see you posting about it everywhere.

Glad that you asked @shayne

Check this...

  1. How would YOU train/teach/educate the NEW younger generation to handle WEALTH?

  2. steemit.com will ensure my friends and family will be able to find and understand what I have created and started to build ONE day.

  3. Without some kind of measurement/tool/strategy we ALL would be guessing and most likely LOSE our WEALTH.

"thirds rule strategy"

Good stuff. Thanks for answering.

The types that will buy steem at $10 a pop

Some will. I'm sure of that. This altcoin market is full of deep pockets with shaky fingers.

The funny thing is there was a lot of debate about this back in July. This was a common topic back then.

We used to tell people back then. In a ponzi scheme you have to spend money to get involved. Steemit gives you starting currency and I have never spent a dime purchasing steem as I am not a financially well off individual. I have however made thousands of dollars in posting, replying, and voting since July. I put a lot of effort into it.

On my @chaospoet account I once had a debate using poetry on exactly this subject... It was impromptu and not planned and I was paid a large sum for my little poetic exchange. This was back when payouts were huge and it is actually my single largest payout ever. I do think the discussion is still worthy of sharing when it comes to discussing steemit and ponzi schemes. :)



Well whoever bought bitcoin back in the day when it was .10 cents or less is probably the one who would pay the current rate of any coin today. What else would a person like that buy that he doesn't already own by now?

Heh yeah I think the first time I looked at bitcoin they were like $0.005 per coin. I said "Hey, that's pretty cool, but the federal government will likely squash it", plus my finances were very tight so buying pizza once a month was a treat for my family back then. But I am kicking myself as skipping pizza for that month would have made me a multi-millionaire today.

I told that to my wife and she told me next time I see something like that take the risk and she'll back me. Within a couple of days stumbled onto steemit. :)

I hear ya...

I still would of bought $20 bucks worth!

:p

So did a norwegian student, ended up with almost a million $ during the late 2013 drive up to 1250$.

Imagine that one bitcoin was worth half of a us dollar cent at one point.

Yeah back then... I saw a number of such opportunities. I had an opportunity to invest in ebay when it went public, and didn't. I've been good at spotting ideas off and on through my life, but I've rarely been in a position to actually invest any money in them as I didn't have much money. :) And as the saying goes... hindsight is 20/20.

have you ever wondered...

"are you the 1% or how to become the 1%"

(ok google)

Not really.... :) I consider the 1% very arbitrary. It is a common % that is chosen in so many different places. Yet when considering those who control the world it should actually be like the 0.01% or somewhere in that range. 1% is being way to generous with casting the blame when it comes to world rulership.

I agree!

Just a play on words\sayings to help make Cents!

;)

You know what? I'm in the same boat. I've made so many good calls in crypto, but with so little money to invest and needs that force spending. My next gut feeling is in steemit. So I guess we'll see.

If I don't get rich on steemit so what. Steemit has already proven worth all the time I've invested in it. It has already improved my life.

That is my view exactly. Couldn't have set it better myself.

That's amazing! Wow, super power posting!

Of course people have to buy steem to make it have value. If no one bought gold than it would have no value!

Exactly. If you can't exchange the money for anything, nobody uses it = it's worthless.

The "scam" or "ponzi scheme" argument is something you will hear a lot.

Hey, even humanity is a ponzi scheme, if you follow this kind of thinking. You need more and more people coming in to keep this scheme going!

At least you will not hear the "it doesn't have intrinsic value" argument often with Steemit. And that is a great advantage in favor of Steemit in the cryptocurrency world.

Steemit has lots of intrinsic value, and it can be measured too. By anyone who has the knowledge to do so.

That's a good point. Steemit has a very obvious value. But even then, in that sense, the data that can be stored on the Bitcoin blockchain should be recognized as a notary service, and should thus be considered intrinsically valuable... I think anyway.

But hey, steemit makes that sort of feature much more obvious.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60172.85
ETH 2384.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57