I'm So Proud Of The Quality Of The Steemit Community.

in #steemit7 years ago

The quality of the community here at Steemit is staggeringly good.

banner-quality.jpg

A single followers on Steemit is worth 1000 YouTube followers. And I'm not just glowing smoke, here: compared to YouTube, I would have to have 600,000 subscribers or more to even come close to earning what I do here on Steemit.

But beyond the economic value of all of you, here, vs users of other platforms, you are also very rational people with interesting ideas and an eagerness to learn and grow.

That's my kind of people!

But I wanted to share something specific with you.

There was an awesome exchange between me and user @shamic in my post

shamic.png

The thing is, I know exactly how this would have worked on Facebook.

Someone would've quickly slipped into an ad hominem attack and the whole convo would have degenerated into a worthless pissing contest.

But here on steemit?

  1. Point
  2. Counter-point
  3. Point recieved

This is more amazing than it might appear!

What we are witnessing here is actual conversation.

This is what debate is supposed to look like. This is how language is supposed to work. Neither of us were disrespectful or disingenuous, clarity of conversation was achieved, and views were digested and understood.

No walls.
No stupid ego-barriers.

I'm so proud of this community!

You guys rock SO MUCH!

I don't even know if you really understand that. Do you understand what a valuable resource you are responsible for? What an amazing opportunity Steemit offers us in terms of pulling the internet out of it's sludge of egocentric egodrama?

It truly is amazing!

What do you think?

Have you had experiences like this? Share it with me in the comments below!

Follow me @shayne

Sort:  

We haven't seen anything yet.
It's only going to get better . . . .
because Snuckerburgers was wrong about people
and Steem shows off the value in community

SteemQ > youtube
Busy > facebook
Zappl > twitter
Steepshot > instagram
Viva> Debit Card that uses Steem
Steemit > reddit


All aboard! Buckle UP! Powered by Steem


giphy (4).gif

TO THE MOON AND BEYOND

Love Your rocket graphic... Thank You @pitterpatter

Up Voted & I'm following both @shanye & @pitterpatter... please consider following me. Thanks again 4 the graphic.

I totally agree with @shayne... Steemit ( and Steem, the currency) are incredible innovations.

I joined Steemit 7 days ago and on a very fast "learning curve" regarding the crypto currencies. I'm grateful & thankful for all the more experienced/knowledgable Steemians posting exceptional guidance & wisdom. I still have much to learn and that's coming from someone that has over 35 years in the financial area in the Bond Markets, dealing with a number of the Fortune 100.

                ~~~STEEM On !!! ~~~

I wish I knew who did this gif graphic. I found it on
https://giphy.com/gifs/astronaut-rocket-riding-ToMjGpzxyldUhN3EG5i
with no name. All I did is add the words.

Well I applaud your choice of gif graphic... Well done !!

Thank you. You are free to use anything I create or the gifs which are posted to share. I will check your post out.

Thank You @pitterpatter... Have a Great Day !!

Couldn't agree more and thanks for this post. Couldn't recall what the name of the instagram killer was. Just installed steepshot and can't wait to give it a go.

Me too. Real content, real people putting time and effort into it and no BS will make this place amazing.

Agree. Steemit is a very authentic place.

how can we keep it that way? How can we protect SteemIt to keep post "authentic" and original?

Best we can do is be authentic ourselves and support authentic content.

That is precisely what I alike about Steemit. Yes! You appear to be a GREAT parent from what I've read!!

Thanks! It's my most important job :D

the idea of earning for my ramblings really turns me on. it's early days still. I hope the tags selection gets upgraded. I liked the way live journal highlighted more popular tags, but the readership there feel off the face of the earth.

I used to use Livejournal constantly. It was a really cool place. A platform before social media. I to also wonder what happened to us...

I love how new content is converged with personal experience and person-to-person language. It makes the learning process much more enjoyable and inherently social. Great post, Steem on!

I agree. Even though it's a long-form blogging platform, Steemit is a more true social media than Facebook or Twitter.

You guys are all genuinely good people trying to make the world better for everyone else. I've been here for the past week and my experience thus far couldn't have been more pleasant.
Keep it up everyone, way to go. Steem On 😄

Awesome :D

keep up the good works and keep the high quality stuffs coming everyone!

I am SO VERY GLAD to see this post. I'm not a very diplomatic conversationalist. I generally do not beat about the bush and usually go straight to the point. This is often mistaken for arrogance or being argumentative. In actual fact, I really like to help people and improve their lives. Why would I try to make them miserable? I wouldn't! My comments are either a genuine question or something that will encourage them to think differently. What is wrong with thinking? Is that not a good thing? Is that not something that makes you grow? I'm so glad to see that the people on Steemit are sensible THINKING individuals that can re-evaluate their beliefs based on evidence or alternative thoughts and ideas. This is a truly inspirational post for me! I'm so glad to have discovered Steemit.

Well, I'm happy for your discovery of Steemit. Welcome aboard! But further, I understand your approach. When I'm on Twitter or Facebook or YouTube, where people are very fragile and egocentric, I usually just try to break the cognitive dissonance and figure that if any change happens it'll be later on in private rather than some sort of public admission.

The people here are awarded use the brain, that's the diference a think...

Yes, people are awarded for using their brains on Steemit. It's very different than other places.

of course ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68845.40
ETH 3281.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65