How To Do Well On Steemit -- Comment!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago

I know, I'm a minnow now. But I didn't used to be!

Before I went to school and used my Steemit earnings to pay for it, I was actually a dolphin here. I had a sizable egg in my wallet and I was doing well building my reputation and library of content.

Life happens, though... But anyway!! Before "life happened", it was not uncommon for me to give advice to new people here about how to build a following and earn money with Steemit.

And this recent post by @steevc reminded me of a classic piece of advice that people can use to build their reputation and (eventually) make some actual money here on Steemit.

Comment frequently, and comment well

SHP_2016_Say_Something_Week_Logo-484.png

This one little trick will be responsible for most of your success on Steemit.

Here are the Two Commandments of commenting that you must obey:

1. Frequency

You must comment often.

My advice is to, firstly, follow quality people. These are people who already have a good following or influence. People whos' content you personally enjoy or think are up-and-comers. Populate your newsfeed with these people and you will always have good content for commenting.

Secondly, check the Trending and Hot tags daily. These tags contain what are currently the most popular posts on Steemit. If you can comment on them quickly and frequently, your name will get out there and you will start seeing your following grow.

And on to the second commandment.

2. QUALITY

In many ways, this principal is more important than the first, but without the first one you won't get the chance to do the second one.

Quality means actually reading the post where you're commenting and adding to the conversation!!!

Think about what you're saying and engage in the community.

Natural, human-capital-based growth

Going about your Steeming in this way is precisely the reason that this platform exists: to put a real-world value on the etherial value of human capital.

And by commenting frequently and with quality, you are simply using the system for what it was designed to do. And the natural result is that you will be rewarded.

So do it!

When commenting backfires

I can't say how many times I've seen people who adopt the principal of frequency but completely ignore QUALITY. They post the same comment everywhere, no matter what the original post is actually about.

You can go to the popular posts right now and see it. A post could be about how terrible it is to loose a loved one, and there will be a dozen comments like "Great Post! Come check out mine at [link]".

It's terrible.

It's a scourge, really.

Those sorts of posts end up backfiring in a big way.

I mean, seriously... have you ever gone to the page of an account that does that and see a good following count, a high reputation, or any money in the wallet? I sure as hell haven't.

Accounts that do the spray-and-pray strategy never pay off. So don't do that.

And that's my advice for the day!


saysomething.png

What do you think?

Tell me in the comments below if you have anything to add to this conversation.

Follow me @shayne

Sort:  

All comes with experience. Unfortunately, beginners do not read the guides and do not listen to the advice of more experienced users. They write about how to become successful at Steemit, how to get more followers playing in Follow per Follow and produce tons of spam like "good post" or "take a look at my blog", "vote for me and I will vote for you". They have no time for reading...

Unfortunate, some people want the quick money.

Writing wel written comments takes a lot longer than just saying 'nice article' 'cool' 'thanks' 'upvoted' 'resteemed' or something like that.

Sometimes they even get some up-votes. And becomes they can 'spam' a lot more. They get maybe a few pennies extra. (Because we are talking about plankton here. I don't see many whales posting bullish comments.).

It might come from desperation. I'm not sure. Lot's of people seem to try making easy money on here because there's no artificial barrier to entry into the system. The thing is, though, that just because there's no barrier to entry doesn't mean that it's easy to get rewarded well.


This post was resteemed by @steemitrobot!
Good Luck!

Resteem your post just send 0.100 SBD or Steem with your post url on memo. We have over 2000 followers. Take our service to reach more People.

Pro Plan: just send 1 SBD or Steem with your post url on memo we will resteem your post and send 10 upvotes from our Associate Accounts.

The @steemitrobot users are a small but growing community.
Check out the other resteemed posts in steemitrobot's feed.
Some of them are truly great. Please upvote this comment for helping me grow.

Absolutely right. And it's not rocket science is it? There is a huge amount of help available on this community, but still it is ignored.

I had probably the finest example today in how to not Steemit: (Apologies for the rough screenshots)

IMG_9033.PNG

IMG_9034.PNG

I couldn't believe what I was reading!

He sounds like he's trying to be a mafia guy or something! lol it's weird when they get passive-egressive.

'passive-egressive' - I like that one :)

I couldn't understand why he'd type that, especially the 2nd part. This is when no comment is better!

Aw hell! I started using a Mac and it autocorrects things! >:(

I understand why he'd act that way, though: because he's trying to create leverage over you in the form of an up vote.

The problem with a lot of these people is that their up votes are worth nothing, and the up votes they get from doing this sort of thing are worth just as much, so they're really hustling in a very shallow pond.

Weird strategy, but I'm guessing many of them come from places where a few pennies a day makes some kind of difference... so good for them I guess.

Very good of you to see the positive in this. I tried, but got frustrated and left it!

Still, he can clearly comprehend English, so why not just read the post and stick a 1 liner in?

Anyways, i'm calm now, and back to seeking out posts to write something worthwhile on.

Cheers!

Great post-Follow for Follow? Just kidding homie! LOL I know its personal, but how much of steem took care of your school? (percentage) I think it deserves more attention. If you gave some poor students some hope that steem could at least offset school bills, you would be doing a community service. Anywhoooo, glad to see you posting again. You were one of the first guys to up-vote my stuff.

Steem took care of me and my wife while I went through school. I'm nearly at the end of it now. It's actually a pretty scary time... I'm not sure what I'm going to do come next month. I don't have the money to get by and I'm looking for work. Yeah... scared :/

I've connected with a lot of great people by commenting. And often my comments are upvoted more in value than my posts!

Advice taken, I am new to the community but yes I do notice that my comments has produce more positive results than the upvotes I give, plus the community does respond back and gives you more tips and advice if you ask.

supper bro.....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62904.22
ETH 2571.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76