Get Paid To Chat? The Next Phase Of Steem Development

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

chat-icon-money-pattern-23148380.jpg

Hello, my wonderful followers. I hope you're doing well today.

I was trolling around on steemit.chat when this comment by @jinxster caught my attention.

Screenshot (18).png

hmm...

Chat/Message service developed on the Steem blockchain

Think about it.

Right now we have Steemit, where people can get paid to blog based on community engagement. Soon we will have @zappl, Twitter-style micro-blogging based on the same system.

What's to stop someone from developing a chat or messaging service that does the same?

I've talked about this before...

When I was first introduced to Steemit, a light bulb lit up in my head.

I saw a future where user-generated-tokens based on curation, consumption, and content creation would support the income needs of the general population as the increasingly mechanized economy takes over most labor and service positions.

Steem development is superior

People talk up other cryptocoins, but I just don't see the actual development.

This might just be me missing what's actually happening, but it seems like everyone talks about developing apps for Bitcoin or Ethereum, but I just don't see a lot happening.

Perhaps it's because Steem has a built-in social network to give development the exposure and community support it needs to gain traction and see the light of day. Or maybe it's just because the concept is more exciting to developers who are more user-oriented.

I don't know, but I see a bright future for Steemit.

Thoughts?

Tell me what you think in the comments below.

Follow me @shayne

Easily exchange your SBD (Steem Backed Dollars) for Bitcoin with Changelly

Keep your Bitcoin and other Cryptocurrencies safe with KeepKey

Sort:  

Yeah, I remember it has been discussed before :)

The way I see it, it could be public trollbox so everyone else can see and upvote it.

Hmm... and the votes would be put into a pool to be distributed to users?

Well, it would be same as comments and use same reward pool... Imagine with few lines of code trollbox can be built on top of Steem. Just like https://www.poloniex.com/trollbox... I think it would be great project, was thinking about this addition on eSteem couple days back... :) I think busy had similar but off-chain one.

Something like mirc then? These days you can join channels using web browser, I think.

If we could build alternatives for every version of social messaging (forums, reddit, twitter, medium, mirc, instagram etc.. ) - Imagine the network effect! I know most of these projects are already worked on but damn, that would be glorious future for Steem!

You a developer? Make it happen!!!
:D

Do you mean everytime you chat? Posts and content take work and so getting paid makes a bit of sense, but being paid when you converse? Not sure. Where is the value in chatting? But I guess that could be said for most things

Think of it this way: Steem just adds a little twist to current social interaction in web by enabling you to directly support other people. With voting slider you can determine if you want to just give same old like just like before or actually financially support the other party.

Doesn't mean you have to go in for voting spree for every comment. It's just an option you have available now with Steem, that wasn't there before! Does that add value? If so, how much? I welcome discussion on these questions.

Indeed.

The question is: does it have value?

Experiments like these help to reveal what really does or doesn't have value. In the case of a chat, I would think more along the lines of -- does the chat have value? And if so, does the chat require users to retain that value?

We're entering a brand new economy.

I can't wait for @Zappl! I wouldn't be surprised if the Steemit model becomes the future norm to be honest.

Me too. I think it is going to be a killer app for Steem!

I'm on the same page as you. User-generated-economy is the future in my opinion.

It is the "Gamification" of everything. Soon life itself will be just a game with daily "rewards" or "dividends". Fun will be the new "work". Bitcoin was the foundation. Steemit will lead the way...

Yes. This is correct.

On projects not happening... bitcoin has cpunter party and it has been working for years now. STEEM accomodates more transactions and is faster. Nubits is a USD pegged currency that tracks the value more faithfully thanSBD but its lost its peg in the past. Bitcoin has superior adoption.
Ethereum is more flexible than STEEM. Monero's lack of wallets makes securing it a challenge.

Everyone is trying to figure out how this technology is even useful. I think there's a space for all sorts of different projects, and as this experiment matures, we will figure out what is useful and what isn't.

I am kind of glad everything I have ever said is not in some blockchain. Apart from that, most chats are not something you would save to your hard drive because ita not worth the drive space.

I think Chats should be mostly ethereal. What if they were on another blockchain that could discard the chat information from time to time. Or what if hard fork 20 allowed for a class of data to get purged from the block chain. Then chats could go in and then get purged. The Steem BC is aleeady under a lot of load. I could not pay a penny to buy something today.

Can we just implement this feature in steemit.chat :P
I would love to see that happen :)

Based on what I've been seeing in steemit.chat, I question whether that sort of behavior should be rewarded lol

But then again, monetizing the chat would probably help increase the quality of the convo. Checks and balances, etc.

haha, posting links all around and spamming and all,
but we can also make it like " channels like general and other discussion should be monetized and the rest should be left as it is" so that it also helps people to share their knowledge, teach a newbie, make quality discussions etc

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59575.00
ETH 2607.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43