You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Voting-bots are not (inherently) bad

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Let me ask you, are you familiar with the concept of curation rewards? It is something that can be earned by those who take the time to spot popular content early on. Since you pulled your boost just one minute after posting, you completely wiped away virtually any curation reward that can be gained from voting your post. You are of course free to simply not care about that, yet from my perspective as a curator, it means that is pointless to keep following you.

Sort:  

Shaka is a whale I had in mind when I posted this a few days ago:

"You also harm those few generous whales that actually take the time to read your content and throw their fat upvote. You lessen their position on the platform and you give them all the reasons to stop being the good guys and turn to the dark side. The temptation to get 80 % of their vote back instead of 20% is really strong, don't you agree?" from:
https://steemit.com/steem/@trumpman/if-you-use-upvote-services-please-read-these-two-posts

All I have to say is thank you Shaka for all the upvotes you have been generously giving. Hopefully you won't get tired of all this shit and keep doing what you do. If you however start posting stolen memes 10 times a day and self upvote I wont blame you.

Let me ask you, are you familiar with the concept of curation rewards? It is something that can be earned by those who take the time to spot popular content early on. Since you pulled your boost just one minute after posting, you completely wiped away virtually any curation reward that can be gained from voting your post.

I am aware of this. And I know, it was not the nicest thing to do. Normally I wait the 30 minutes, before I buy a push. This was one of two exceptions so far, because I invested a bit more than I usually do and didn't want to lose so much in the end.
You are, of course, right that this strips the curation rewards and there is nothing that I can do, to present it in a nicer way.

The thing is: as someone who has not much SP, I cannot rely on curators. Sure, I always appreciate it, if I get decent upvotes, but this is not always going to happen. Using bots enables smaller accounts to get more exposure, using them within a short timeframe is unfair, but ensures they will not lose much while doing it.
I must admit: currently I am not so sure, how I will use them in the future.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 64063.60
ETH 2742.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67