An Absolute Price Crash is the Best Thing for Steemit as a Platform

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

People are nervous and scared because of the dropping price of STEEM, but I was thinking about this right now, and came to the conclusion that a price crash to as low as possible is actually the best thing that can happen to Steemit as a platform.

Think about the benefits:

  • The trending page would no longer feature ugly selfies from teamsteem and jerrybanfield, because those guys will be long gone when the price finally crashes.

  • jerrybanfield will no longer be buying witness votes, which makes the platform look ridiculous to intelligent outsiders.

  • The Steemit cheerleading posts in general will disappear, as the cheerleaders move on to a new project.

  • The annoying as fuck "Good post, upvoted and resteemed!" spam will end, as the influx of new users looking to make a quick buck finally go away from polluting the blockchain with their crap.

  • The amount of content goes down, so it becomes slightly less impossible to find interesting content with the current GUI.

  • Oh, yeah. Jeff Berwick will also leave. Again.

  • If and when Steemit marketing does happen, the marketing needs to focus on something other than the money, which was never a sustainable base for marketing anyway.

  • Content will improve when new users will join because they will join to create content, not to take part in a get rich quick scheme.

So, as you can see, the enjoyability of the platform is inversely proportional to the price of STEEM, so if you want the platform to be more fun to use, pray for the price to crash!

Disclaimer: this was comedy, but there's an ounce of truth between the lines. It's up to you to figure out how much, and what the message is.

Sort:  

Hahahahaha you are very funny bro. The post just talked about "good post, upvoted and resteemed" and here uou are repeating.

Good post, upvoted and ... :)

Good post, upvoted and resteemed! ;)

🐮🐷🙈

Disclaimer: this was comedy, but there's an ounce of truth between the lines.

Oh, there is so much more than an ounce, my friend. We all know it.

More than an ounce of truth here!!

I was thinking along similar lines lately. What I thought was I wonder at what price will all the opportunists will ditch the platform again

Perhaps I am being harsh lol

I think this pull-back was necessary and extremely healthy for a number of other reasons, too. After the spectacular rise in crypto this year, the charts desperately needed a huge drop. This rise was so fast it's almost like a gap in the chart that needs to be filled. On top of that, this huge Bitcoin Scaling issue (I call it the Trojan Horse) is causing way too much uncertainty, which markets hate. I don't think there is even an outcome that will lead to improving bitcoin currently on the table, as I've noted in my Trojan Horse article.

I think we'll shake a lot of people off the platform in the near future, but if I had to wager, it won't necessarily be those named in the original post. They may go dormant for a bit though, choosing whatever venue they feel is most profitable for dispensing their individual types of content.

I did think a correction was coming but hoped that it wouldn't.

As for the platform, sure. A lot of newbies will go if it drops, the follow for follow brigade for one. Some of the folk that left last time didn't come back even though at one point it looked like everyone had. It will be interesting to see. Soon ;0)

The real question is, will the opportunists leave then, or will they try to take advantage even more? We want the creatives to join, right? Will they choose Steemit over, say, blogspot? The UI needs to improve.

The app is coming soon. That will help. If its good that is. I think the opportunists will leave. They did before. Quite unashamedly. Then when they came back some of them had the most comical posts explaining their absence. Something like.

*Hey guys, it wasnt because of the money, life got real busy. But hey now the money is back so am I. Wait, Imean, I have so much I want to share with you guys. Quick, here is a blog post I shared on my blog in 2015 that I have reposted forthe rewards you

I think people will choose steemit. Blogspot is awful these days. There are other platforms but I have a feeling steemit will be abig player

Here's hoping! I've been surprised by the positive response I've gotten from friends. There's less skepticism than I would have expected. I think as long as I say simply "it's a blogging site I like", they'll come check it out.

Well, and once the price goes up the same whales will keep supporting the same people. some people never learn

All the pricks will be back once the price rises again. Let's keep that price down forever! Or not?

And congrats on the 1000 followers you so refreshingly didn't post about.

I was thinking of makin a post similar to yours that asks what does 1000 followers on Steemit even mean. Most of the engagement on my posts comes from outside of my followers. And with 1000 followers, I still get less than 100 upvotes per post, usually.

I have 250 or so Facebook friends, and get more engagement when I post on Facebook.

Sure, this post caught fire, but I mean in general.

Upvoted and resteemed!

jerrybanfield will no longer be buying witness votes, which makes the platform look ridiculous to intelligent outsiders. - This. I don't know if it's just me but he seems like the biggest pumper and dumper in the crypto market. I saw a video where he commented in the next video he's going to tell you about all these awesome trades, but he wants to get some cheap coins first. I was like wtf, you're basically telling people you know you're advice pumps coins, so you just want to get in cheap so you can dump once people start buying after your announcement. Then you invest in Steemit because you "believe", but I guarantee the first sign of hard times he's going to leave because it's no longer a good "investment". That's not creating value for the platform.

Maybe I'm just jealous, but he just rubs me the wrong way. Maybe I should try and do a deep dive in his material to see if it's justified or not and do a post.

I've looked at a bit of it. You are probably noticing his blunt honesty. The guy is remarkably open about showing a lot of stuff, including his mistakes. If he were a pumper/dumper, he is actively avoiding many opportunities to increase his +EV from scamming. He posts videos listing all his mistakes and faults, gives personal information that is arguably very embarrassing, etc. Stuff like admitting to addictions (of drugs or habit), past ethical transgressions, describes how he used to think of himself as a pretty awful guy. It's possible he's just bad at pumping/dumping, it's possible that he is genuine. My read (as a long-time poker player and researcher) is the latter.

I think his positivity comes from successful recovery from addictions he describes, as that is a typical and healthy attitude to have post therapy for various addictions. This is what you would want to see after psychotherapy or CBT, not that I am suggesting he ever had any.

I am not in a position to pass judgment, and if it wasn't for him, I may not know about Steemit, as I happened across one of his videos on YT when researching altcoins.

This is all assuming the information provided is generally true, which again, is my read, for what it's worth. A one in a million+ con-man could hypothetically create much of this persona, and doctor things like all his tax and bank statements he openly shows.

I don't know anything about the man, but based on what you say here, it could be both true and effective manipulation. Being confessed to makes people tend to trust someone more, ironically. https://www.seeker.com/embarrassed-youve-won-more-trust-1765451856.html

It makes sense. You assume if they were honest about that, they might be honest about other things.

My main observations remain that he is pursuing a rather ineffective strategy if his goal is to simply profit at any cost (pumping tons of rewards from posts into FB adds for Steemit, divulging certain info, etc.) and his personality is right in line with what you'd call a typical success story for drug rehabilitation therapy (ie. almost delusionally positive at times).

Beyond that, I couldn't say.

Yeah. Can I say an awful thing? Sometimes I'm envious of people who have struggled with and overcome addiction. They're demonstrably better off than they were during their addictions. Sometimes it's hard for me to see if my life is on a peak or in a valley.

Of course, I'm glad I don't suffer from addictions. And I respect how difficult that struggle can be. And I'm sure that from inside their lives, it doesn't actually look like that. But occasionally, I'll just imagine reassuring myself by noting that at least I'm not smoking anymore, and then I'll remember that I never did, really, so it's not like I've accomplished anything ever.

That's darker than I meant it to be.

Your thoughts are much appreciated.

You should check out Jerry's new post, I'd say it's directly relevant to the discussion we've been having.

Could you link to it? I don't know the man's info.

This right here. Thats good. Followed :)

Free market capitalism does not bring out the best in people. :P

Lmao the hate on jerry bandfield is real. Very good post again man.

Seriously though, I joined the steem group of my country and all they were talking about was how to make a quick buck. One even made a subgroup running upvotes for upvotes.

I don't know how anybody can stomach his posts, the way he sticks his selfie onto every image is infuriating to me.

Such comment.
Much upvote.

The current GUI (steemit website) is the biggest problem for steem :/ I still have to manually type url to find content that interest me...

"The trending page would no longer feature ugly selfies from teamsteem and jerrybanfield, because those guys will be long gone when the price finally crashes."

"jerrybanfield will no longer be buying witness votes, which makes the platform look ridiculous to intelligent outsiders."

"Oh, yeah. Jeff Berwick will also leave. Again."

Good sir, I have only one thing to add:

Shots Fired.jpg

PS - I try to curate /created, and right now it's 6-7 articles per 10 seconds. 90% of them are not worth clicking on.

I know, man.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59529.60
ETH 2657.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41