What did you do for steemit today?

in #steemit7 years ago

Every now and again I see a post of someone who is unhappy with their earnings from steemit, you know the 'Im a minnow and the whales are evil' posts. I ask these people rhetorically now; you are expecting steemit to do everything for you, but what did you do for steemit?

They set up an account and made some posts and comments; that great nothing wrong with that, but after a few months (weeks sometimes) they are tired and want to give up, apparently it takes time to become a steemit millionaire, who knew?!

So thats really what they thought, you come here and just get paid for doing the minimum?

Did you bring any extra people to steemit?

Did you talk to local retailers and ask them to accept STEEM DOLLARS as payment?

Did you setup some kind of new platform running on steemit like minnowbooster.net, chainbb.com or many of the other cool innovations?

Did you hold your earnings, or did you just sell back to fiat?

It may be you significantly misunderstood what steemit is and your place in it. steemit is a small community, inside of the fringe crypto-currency/block-chain community, which is battling with mainstream society to become accepted as legitimate. This isnt going to work overnight, and there will be bumps along the way. If you are the kind of person who wants it to all be immediately perfect, and just be a foregone conclusion of success, then come back to crypto/steemit in 10 years, when all the hard work has been done. If you do that though then you will have missed the opportunity of early adopters to become big stakeholders in a new space.

In summary, if you want the opportunity of huge gains in your personal fortune, stick around, engage, grow the community, grow its acceptance to the rest of the crypto scene and the wider world. If you want to bowl up when all the hard work is done, thats fine too, I hope see you later, but for goodness sake, dont complain about it.

Sort:  

I think that it is even better for some people to give up early on, and pass the torch to someone who can shape the future, someone who doesn't give up.

No arguments here, I gave you a follow, I didnt do that for a while :)

Well thank you, I followed you too.. For the better future and beyond :D

I understand them, I have joined in April and it is a bit hard to start. When you have few followers your posts have only about 30 minutes to be succesful, if they do not get attention in that time the reward will be almost nothing, no matter how elaborated the post is.

But you are right. Just complaining is not useful, it is important to continue working and looking for solutions to the problems that you encounter.

I am considering at launching a small platform in Steemit, but I am waiting a bit because I need some liquid Steem to start it. I also should be more active on Discord servers, usually I just link my articles and other articles I found interesting.

I guess my point is, your rewards will scale with the platform. If you can build something that will be cool.

A great advice, I am also a minnow, started yesterday. I will heed to your advice and keep working on steemit whether i make millions or just hundreds.

For context, I have been involved in other crypto-currencies since 2014, and those communities are working for much longer than that to bring the vision to reality, play the long game if you can :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57142.21
ETH 2984.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.25