The Importance Of Tags

in #steemit7 years ago

balloon-2643622.jpg

When creating a post on steemit it is important to tag your post correctly. It helps people find your content who are interested in that area.

Tags are important for many reasons on steemit. Ultimately it allows the arrangement of categories for easy browsing.

If you want to read fiction you can easily just browse the fiction tag. Obviously when you do this it is a little annoying if people have randomly tagged their recipe for moms apple pie as fiction. You see what I mean?

People in chat often complain that they have been flagged or chastised for using incorrect tags. They think why shouldn't I use that tag?

151su_2414-picsay.jpg

Tag spamming is where people use a tag because they think that they will gain more views and upvotes by using that tag. A common one being steemit.

Be aware that if you use tags that are completely unrelated to your post you do run the risk of being flagged for tag abuse which carries a reputational risk too.

I would recommend that you do not do this. After all we are all here to add to the community. Not detract from it.

Finally, be careful with your selection for your first tag. It is the tag that makes up part of the link of your post.

151su_20170908172.jpg

I hope you have liked my simple explanation of tags.

Follow me @sazbird

Sort:  

Good info and a good lesson to learn for all souls on Steemit.
I know I have tagged wrong in the passed so keeping an eye open and learning about this is very helpful!

Have a marvelous day!

It's an easy one to do, I think I have also.

Spot on, buddy! I've got an upcoming post series about Tag Spam where I will analyse a tag, and point out who is spamming that tag and how much. This post earned you an upvote, resteem, and a follow! Great job!

A return follow for you!

I look forward to seeing your series. The spamming is making some of them untenable and it's great to have a light shined on it :-)

The first post in the series will be about the #steemgigs tag. It's supposed to be for offering/requesting products and services as one would on sites like Fiverr, but there are a bunch of people using it for contests and other random posts, which does nothing but crowd the tag and attract flags...

Yes, and that devalues the tag itself when people do that. Ping me when it's up and I will check it out :-)

Always good to see you posting helpful advice, Opposite.

good reminder @sazbird and clearly stated, thank you!

Your welcome :-)

very helpful information.. thank you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63135.01
ETH 2546.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64