Hashtag Spam Analysis #1 - #steemgigs

in #waronspam7 years ago (edited)

download.jpg

My first post in this series will be about the #steemgigs tag.


Introduction

I personally love the idea behind @steemgigs. The point of the tag is to create a freelancing marketplace as an alternative to sites like Fiverr. People can buy/sell products and services from one another directly, without a middleman pocketing a percentage of the revenue. Posts don't always have to be a defined product or service, but certain things like contests and challenges certainly don't belong in a feed about freelancing. All of that being said, here is my objective analysis of the hashtag spam occuring on #steemgigs in just the last two days.


The numbers

Of 41 posts on the #steemgigs tag in the last two days, I have found that 80% of them don't belong.
Some of these posts are on the tag simply because people don't understand what it is for. Whether they have used the tag because they see high(ish) payouts on the tag, or if they've just chosen tags at random, is not for me to decide, I'll leave that up to you.

Many of these posts, however, are for contests or their entries. The main source being the @steemit-virus contest, which lists using the #steemgigs tag as one of the requirements, which equates to 19% of the spam I'm referring to in this post.

Here are the top 5 people who are using this tag incorrectly, including how often they have posted. Keep in mind this is only the past two days, but it is a recurring theme. This list does not include entries to the @steemit-virus contest.


Reactions

I have gotten mixed reactions in my attempts to educate steemians on the intended purpose of the tag.
Some users, like @pkvlogs and @schoolforsdg4 have cared enough to listen, and have agreed to stop using the tag for irrelevant posts.
Others, however, have blown up for being told their post could possibly be considered spam. @steemlover thinks I'm "misusing my SP" for flagging posts that would be considered spam on any tag, and @openbull wants a "good reason" why he got downvoted.
The most extreme reaction award definitely belongs to @kid4life! I won't go into details about it, but if you'd like to read how he handled it, start with my flagged comment explaining what the #steemgigs tag is for.


Conclusion

Some Steemians think I should be flagged by whales for calling spam what it is. I've also now been threatened that if I continue, there will be bots created just to downvote me, but when the ratio is 20%/80%, am I really in the wrong for trying to clean up an otherwise very valuable tag? Let me know what you think about my work in the comments below.

I'll gladly take any malicious flags because of my fight in the #waronspam. Thank you @stellabelle for starting the movement. Know that many of us are taking it very seriously, and could be risking our own reputations to keep the good fight going.

If you would like me to do an analysis like this on a tag you see being spammed and misused, let me know about it below!

Sort:  

Fire em up. As the Steemit FAQ states, Upvotes or downvotes are yours to make for whatever reason you want to make them.

Users are allowed to downvote for any reason that they want. There are many users in the community who recommend only using the downvote on posts that are abusive. It is up to you if you want to follow this etiquette.

did you start by telling them what was up before you flagged?

Sure did. And the only ones who got a flag were ones who spammed multiple times. No one who posted a contest entry was flagged by me because they were essentially coersed into using the tag.

oh! great .
you fucking lier.

How did I lie? I commented on three or four of your posts before I flagged. Don't be salty because you got called out for using a tag you didn't understand. Just because you see people getting paid on a tag is not a reason to use it.

When you click the flag button, here's what you see:
Screenshot_2017-09-13-18-28-15.png
You know why I flagged your posts? First, because I disagree with you earning money for a screenshot on your phone. Second, even if that screenshot were valuable to someone, it certainly wouldn't belong on a tag about freelancing. Do you feel better now that you've cursed and threatened me because I dared to downvote you instead of either upvoting or moving along?

You tell me to stay out of your comments section, but it doesn't work like that. Steemit is 100% public, and someone who is hunting down spam in public is definitely going to find it, and I'll continue to do exactly that.

Have a nice day...

LET ME SPAM YOU, NOBODY CHATS HERE ANYWAY CUZ YOUR SHIT!


LOL "yes I understand. Thank you for all you have been doing."

SHOW US THE WHOLE CONVO! I DO NOT SEE HIM TALKING ABOUT ANY CHALLENGES...

JUST THANKING YOU AFTER YOU TOLD HIM YOUR THE PETROL POLICE AROUND HERE...

A VERY SHITTY ONE BTW...

SHOW ME AS HE SAID, NO, @kid4life IS NOT ALLOWED TO USE THE TAG, or at least MENTION MY CHALLENGE, YOU STUPID PIG!

I WILL STOP USING THE TAG ANYWAY, BUT REMEBER MY WORDS FROM YESTERDAY YOU SHIT!

Have a great day DUMB DUMB!

surpas.png

Thanks for showing everyone exactly what I've dealt with while making this post.

Eat a D*** like I care what you and others think, I have my folks who back me up. I do not need people who even talk to you, get it?

You are the real spammer, who spammes posts with comments that have no class, replying in the most trolling way possible. you know what...

FUCK YOU!

And your "petrol job", get some Steem juice if you wanna make some damage to ones who spam the tag, otherwise your just a troll yourself...

You have been attacking me for no reason and spamming my comment section, I asked you a few times to stop and you still keep going...

NOW... Wait and see asshole...

All of our comments are public. Anyone could see for themselves who's trolling and flaming who. It really should be over at this point, but you just keep going. Your vague threats are a testiment to exactly how far you'll go to exact revenge for someone daring to say your post about contests doesn't belong on a tag about freelancing.

I shouldn't even be responding this time, because I'm sure you'll just curse at me more and try to bring my kids into it again. Once more, all publicly available for reading.

I will continue to call an orange an orange, and point out hashtag spam when I see it. You have a nice life, buddy.

Its all on the blockchain dumb dumb... No worries...

I told you 10 times: goodbye. And you trolled back!

Be sure I'll do a post about it, and what the hack risk a few bucks to try getting it on trending somehow, if anyone interested in your bum a$$...

About your kids, dude, you have a "SUPER DAD" in your intro, judging you're acting, you're still a kid yourself. SUPER MORON would be the right word!

GOODBYE!

Hope it works this time...

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Thank you for taking the time to go through this tag! I'm using it now and figuring out the best way to post for it. I noticed a lot of off topic posts when I looked recently. I'm thrilled to be able to offer my coaching here and stay out of the madness of fiat currency. I'm big on bartering too :)

That's awesome! Sorry you had you get dragged into this whole mess. Keep on steemin on!

Use the Mute button to silence their harrasment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61342.71
ETH 2389.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56