You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Open Letter to Ned and Dan: You Badly Need a Communications/Community/Content Expert and I Hereby Nominate @stellabelle or @donkeypong For That Job

in #steemit8 years ago

Now we are hurtling towards Hardfork 14 on Tuesday with its deeply unpopular vote balancing change and NO ONE, outside of perhaps 10 people on Github, has any clue how to prepare.

Come on, there is nothing difficult to understand. You just get a few more powerful votes, that's all.

This vote rebalancing was unnecessary, it is deeply unpopular in the community, and it makes the site worse.

This is what the announcement said:

The purpose of this change is to rebalance power toward normal users and away from bots. You can still vote as often as you like, this change merely impacts the speed at which voting power is consumed.

How it makes the site worse when it gives more power to the users? I haven't seen any other kind of proposals to decrease the voting power of bots.

Instead, Dan took precious time to post an article which addressed some wacky proposal for letting people cash out Steem Power right away. To me, that speaks to a serious lack of confidence or misdirection. Most people who saw that post laughed at the idea; even the author may have been laughing.

There are still lots of newbies who don't understand the basics. I think it's great that @dan writes about them every now and then. It's exactly that kind of communication what is needed more. Many of the newbies, and even many of the older users, don't have much clue how things work and why they were designed that way.

The Most Uninformed, Dismissive, and Disrespectful Comment I Have Ever Seen on Steemit Came From One of Your Own Employees Last Week. And Nobody From Steemit, Inc. Addressed It.

@nextgencrypto has been acting like a douchebag for a while now, I don't see any reason why we should respect him anymore as a community. He can't give any constructive criticism and instead goes directly to personal insults. He is clearly a toxic person who should be kicked out from any community that wants to function well. Your attempt to whitewash him is quite disgusting in my opinion.

Sort:  

The evidence speaks for itself, so either you didn't read the article or are in denial. I care not which one. Whether you choose to listen to the community that has massively upvoted and commented on this post, or just the people who write the code or are silent witnesses, that is your decision. Clearly, there is some disconnect between the two and that was the point of my article.

I am sorry that you are not open-minded enough to respect the actions of someone who chose to put the past behind him to use his voting power for the greater good of Steemit, douchebag or not. By the way, how exactly do we "kick out" douchebags from this community when they have massive SP that takes at least two years to liquidate? Vote them off the island?

And yes, there is still plenty of freaking confusion about the vote rebalancing. Just look at the comments on this post or on any of the chat channels this week. If you think you are smart enough to understand it, then why not add something constructive to the community by writing an informative piece to help simpletons like me (and most Steemit community members) understand it?

I am sorry that you are not open-minded enough to respect the actions of someone who chose to put the past behind him to use his voting power for the greater good of Steemit, douchebag or not.

I've seen several communities to suffer when people just can't say GTFO to assholes. @nextgencrypto has proved that he is really bad at cooperating in a civilized manner so in my eyes he is a lost case. Nothing good follows when people like him are not ostracized. Things will get bad especially when the community is somehow dependent of them. That's why Project Curie is a bad thing.

By the way, how exactly do we "kick out" douchebags from this community when they have massive SP that takes at least two years to liquidate? Vote them off the island?

Just don't cooperate with them in any way. Don't vote or comment their posts, don't talk to them in any other channels.

If you think you are smart enough to understand it, then why not add something constructive to the community by writing an informative piece to help simpletons like me (and most Steemit community members) understand it?

Ok, here is my take: https://steemit.com/steem/@samupaha/humans-are-better-than-bots-at-valueing-posts

Downvoting again because you're a clueless cry baby.

I've seen several communities to suffer when people just can't say GTFO to assholes. @nextgencrypto has proved that he is really bad at cooperating in a civilized manner so in my eyes he is a lost case.

Maybe its because I'm​ a disagreeable asshole myself, but the fact that there's a "loyal opposition" among the biggest stakeholders helps me sleep a little better at night where steem is concerned.

Personally, i don't want anyone to GTFO. But i think the many, many, many, many, many, many people (whales, minnows and dolphins alike) who act like complete sycophants and think Dan and the inner circle can do no wrong are far more harmful than someone who's fault is that he might be just a little bit too vigorous in his criticism.

Are you okay man, please tell me you aren't turning into me and acting like I did for awhile.....I would hate to thank of what someone with your "power" could do if you turned into a raving lunatic like I did when my mother died.

That communications person, just might be a good idea. I am sure I am clueless to, but I wrote and article for you... https://steemit.com/steemit/@whatsup/fighting-over-that-big-steemy-piece-of-pie-while-the-new-users-and-steem-prices-die

You are just proving my point. Instead of saying, for example, that you regret you have been behaving in quite uncivilized manners, you just call me "a clueless cry baby".

I don't see how you could disagree with me on this: you really have been acting like a douchebag with all the namecalling. I'm just stating the fact.

@steamship, I am glad to see that there are people who stand up for what they believe. I am just learning how some things work in here. People should be allowed to voice ideas for improving the site, fixing the communication problems, and how people want to spend their votes, as is the case with @stellabelle and I'm sure she is not the only one. To hear that things are going to be changed, just when I am starting to get the hang of it is a little discouraging. I am also saddened to hear that @tuck-fheman is getting chased off. There are a few that gave me the courage to stay here, but I have yet to start my own blogging. If it's nothing but stress in here, this little minnow may seek a different pool to swim in. I hope that some good ideas are looked over, and that things are handled like adults. Steem could be a great thing, and not a potential of being a "has been".

To hear that things are going to be changed, just when I am starting to get the hang of it is a little discouraging.

On the contrary, you should be happy that developers are active and continuously working to make the platform better. Without any changes Steem will not be successful. There is still a lot to do until Steem can take over the world.

I agree with this, but the manor in which changes are rolled out is worthy of reflecting on, and many comments offered in this thread speak to that. Unless the community feels it is involved in such decisions, they will be quick to judge them as centralized and autocratic.

I guess I should have rephrased that. Any developing, which is done to make sites better is great. But from the perspective of someone just starting out on steem, reading all the comments about changes being made without warning and from sounds of it, not well liked, is where my discouragement is coming from.

I agree with your comment, but the last paragraph is a bit silly. The real problem is how this change was rushed out with too little information and community involvement, along with too little time in planning, analysis and discussion. It is not the lack of last-minute informative pieces. Writing yet another post about it at this point (there have already been several), even if that post were accurate (and no guarantee; most are not), would only pile on to the confusion.

I did it anyway! I am the chaos bringer! Muahahaha!

I am now following you, haven't noticed you on steemit before now but I like the way you think and bringing attention to issues that others are too afraid to discuss. I feel like we are "brothers" in that regard.....but I am just a poor trucker and no one listens to me.

How it makes the site worse when it gives more power to the users? I haven't seen any other kind of proposals to decrease the voting power of bots.

I really don't like to pimp my posts in other peoples threads, but I think this is an important topic. The new target definitely takes away power from the most active curators... you can read some analysis by me here:

https://steemit.com/steem-help/@sigmajin/the-tale-of-the-5-brothers-a-voting-power-parable

Yes, it does hurt bots, but it also hurts all very active curators, human and bot alike.

You really should pimp your posts when they are relevant. How else people could find them?

Here is my take: https://steemit.com/steem/@samupaha/humans-are-better-than-bots-at-valueing-posts

You really should pimp your posts when they are relevant. How else people could find them?

yeah, but who wants to be "that guy".. anyway read and commented on yr post

I don't see any problem if the post will bring value to the discussion. Of course all irrelevant links should be discouraged.

Thanks for the link.
Earlier you stated that my comment was absolutely false. Careful reading will reveal that I basically said the same thing you did, but without the math (because, as I noted, I wasn't positive).

No, you did not. You said precisely the opposite of what I did. You claimed that the 5 vote target will not change curators overall voting power. My post shows how it will.
I can't really explain any better than I did in that post. If you read that post and thought i was saying the same thing as you did above, I can only conculde that youre being intentionally obtuse.

like i said in the other post, i have no idea how any rational person could read the post i linked and think i was supporting this statement:

I have $40 worth of voting power for 24 hours today and I vote 40 times at 100%, each gets a buck.
I have $40 worth of voting power after update and i vote 40 times at 12.5% and each gets a buck? Or I can vote 5 times at 100%? Either way I get the same $40 worth.

There is literally a chart that shows precisely how much users daily power will change, with a before, after and % change column. I really don't see how that is ambiguous at all.

Even if you don't agree with the analysis, thats fine, but there's no way to interpret what i said as anything but a repudiation of the above. I really don't know how to explain to you otherwise if thats what you toook from reading that post.

I encourage everyone reading this to take a look.

Be nice. I'm neither being "obtuse" nor am I an idiot.
If I miscommunicated, that's another matter. Even after reading yours, plus the comments, and then looking back at my comment, I can't see your point at all. It's entirely possible that you've misread my comment.

Downvoting because you're a toxic person who goes directly to personal insults.

Now that's rich coming from you!

Hmm, wonder if they need help with communication. Nah. Carry on.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56953.07
ETH 2513.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28