You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A look at transparency and hiding beneath the surface

in #steemit6 years ago

I'm a big fan of @transparencybot, and hope they continue to get the support needed to defend them against people who are upset at having their use of bidbots pointed out.

I note a couple of things:

  1. Some people here are only fans of free speech when it suits them.
  2. People say they are doing this for 'visibility' or to 'get seen', but I don't think the number of views really bears this out. I'm fairly certain there are cheaper ways to get content in front of people.
Sort:  

Some people here are only fans of free speech when it suits them.

Yes, when it benefits them to have it. Otherwise, repression is king.

People say they are doing this for 'visibility' or to 'get seen', but I don't think the number of views really bears this out. I'm fairly certain there are cheaper ways to get content in front of people.

I have a feeling the numbers they will use to show this are skewed in several ways as highly visible authors use them too which will skew numbers and people will see them and share them in chats (people send some to me) based on the 'look at this crap and the level of reward). It is also possible that the authors themselves skew the numbers using refresh. The view counter is useless. Perhaps if unique visitor url were used it would be a bit more accurate, still gamable though.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57544.06
ETH 2338.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35