You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I JUST MADE MY BIGGEST INVESTMENT IN STEEMIT SO FAR!

in #steemit6 years ago

There is a lot of good stuff going on here - of that I am in no doubt.

But before we all get too excited about a future where trickle-down economics suddenly starts working (for the first time ever), we might spare a thought for those new steemians who do not have thousands of dollars to spare on powering up, sometimes because they only earn a few dollars a day, and often because they need that money for rent or food.

Steemit, and indeed the whole steem ecosystem, has massive potential - otherwise I would not have spent so much time here (my time is worth more than my money). But as we think of the future we are creating, I hope we give consideration to what kind of future that is, and who, other than ourselves, it will benefit.

Sort:  

I agree with this sentiment - but we can each begin where we are. For me that means directly supporting the community of artists around me who live paycheck to paycheck with no financial security. I think this is a big step forward. And yes, as we grow, we can have greater and greater philanthropic impact on our wider world.

We certainly do begin where we are - how could we start anywhere else ? :)

Also, sorry for being such a grump. I've had an increasing number of conversations with steemians trying to make ends meet. That, and my work is about to bring me into contact with some of the most marginalised people in Australian society (in Melbourne at least). I'd be happier of more people here were mindful of these people and how our wealth could help them. Reflecting on this, rather than reacting, I know that you are aware, and acting for change (in a good way).

Yes! Moment by moment, we ARE creating change :)

Well said man, the work will only come to fruit if those with worthy upvotes (0.10 cent upwards) go out and actively find the bottom of the barrel posts (worthy ones of course) made by those who are on the breadline. Some of those bigger up-votes are life changing for people in countries in which the monthly income is less than $250

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60828.34
ETH 2917.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38