Donations returned to the amazing people who gave in my moment of need ๐Ÿ™๐Ÿป

in #steemit โ€ข 7 years ago (edited)

kissing.jpg

Those of you who did not specifically request me to keep the donations sent (in the moment I appeared to have lost around 3000 STEEM to a scammer) have now had your STEEM & SBD returned to you. As you can see below. Thank you so much for your generosity ๐Ÿ™๐Ÿป

Screen Shot 2017-10-14 at 17.28.00.png

And an even bigger thank you goes to...

the four awesome people who did specifically request that I keep their donations, despite getting my account back.

@bashadow
@happypheonix
@kaylinart
@immarojas - who asked that I use her SBD to buy croissants and film us eating them :)
No problemo.
I have a French partner who never says no to a croissant or two!

I included the image of me kissing my baby boy at the top of this post because I feel like giving all of you a big kiss right now and this whole experience has really opened my eyes not only to the beauty of Steemit, but also to a vast number of other things... security being top of the list!

steemit banner.png

How have I improved my security?

Now I only log in with my posting key. The master key is NEVER entered online.

This way, if I am ever scammed into entering my key into a fake steemit website again, the worst they can do is post from my account and make comments.

When i want to transfer funds (which is rare) I log in with my active key.

Without the master key they can't change any passwords, so if the account were ever to be compromised again, I would be able to quickly retrieve it and change all the passwords/keys myself.

In addition to this I make sure not to keep STEEM or SBD sitting idle in my wallet. As SP it cannot be transferred out immediately.

There is also a savings feature in the wallet which would buy you 3 days to regain control of your account before they could take anything. Ample time, assuming you have the email address with which you used to confirm your account!

THANK YOU again to all you beautiful people ๐Ÿ™๐Ÿป

Many valuable lessons have been learned... by many!

To learn the specifics of how I lost my account for 5 days click HERE

Blessings from Bali.jpg

If I have forgotten anyone please let me know in the comments below.

Sort: ย 
ย 7 years agoย (edited)

I donated to you 100$, probably it was some error with your account and that is why it's not showing in our wallets. Just refund me and we are fine :P

It's great to see supportive community like Steemit is showing to be! Many stories where people helped someone who really need it. Well done, Steemians!

Good one ;) You had me for a moment there!

A really awesome thing to see the Steemit community rally around me in this moment. I feel very loved & very grateful for this :)

And like I said, so many lessons learned.

Ok, you give 50$ and we will call it a day! :)

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Oct 14. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $12.92 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Oct 14 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Being new here I hadn't realized account security was so important, didn't realize there were Steemit phishing attempts and whatnot. Thanks for the reminder on the importance of secure account access practices.

Super important. I learned the hard way! Won't happen again :)

Love this picture of you both. Agreed there are so many blessing to come from this experience for you and us all. Thank you for all your efforts brother ๐Ÿ™๐Ÿป

Thank bro. Great to have you with me on this awesome journey :)

Congrats on your return Steem is my friend. greetings from Indonesia

Greeting back :)

And many thanks for your support!

You are welcome

I am happy to hear that everything has worked out so well in the end (although it always does). But the best part is seeing so many people that are willing to help in a time of need! We do live in a blessed universe, we only need to believe it to be so!

Wise words there. Believe and it shall be!

Onward & upward we fly together :)

I am happy to hear it! This platform is really fair

Thanks! I believe it is fair too. And feeling much more confident about how to stay safe now...

Appreciate your support as always :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64956.33
ETH 3456.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55