Why I haven't deleted Facebook

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

photo-1432888622747-4eb9a8efeb07.pngsource

Yea I know the title looks contradicting to most of what we've been seeing on Steemit. everyone is deleting Facebook and using the tag "delete Facebook and join Steemit".

I've never felt comfortable using that post title because I have a different strategy for bringing people to Steemit.

The" delete Facebook" campaign actually started when the world found out that Facebook was selling user data to companies, lots of people got mad at that and started the delete Facebook campaign.

I couldn't delete Facebook all I did was to change my privacy settings , not because I so love Facebook so much , but because the people we want here on Steemit are all on Facebook and Twitter. If we all delete Facebook, how will they get to know about Steemit?

Over 60% of the people I brought to Steemit were my Facebook friends. And between when the delete Facebook started, I've brought well over 20 persons. If I'd deleted Facebook, those 20 persons wouldn't have been here at this time.

Facebook is the most successful social network in the world. If we want steemit to grow, deleting Facebook shouldn't be the only option.

Positive side of deleting Facebook

If a popular person with lots of friends and followers stops using Facebook for a while and then makes a post that he or she has stopped using Facebook because steemit is better, that post will definitely bring lots of people to Steemit because they still want to be in touch with their celebrity.

But a one time post will not do all the work! One time publicity will not do all the work!

There are about 40k to 50k people using steemit everyday, imagine if these people starts talking about Steemit on their Facebook account everyday ? Our growth rate will increase drastically.

From what I've observed, Big companies don't stop doing advertisements because they've reached their goal, No!. They continue advertising as long as there is a competitor out there.

We just clocked 1 million accounts on Steemit and more can still be achieved.

I won't delete Facebook yet because not up to 30% of my 4800+ friends on Facebook are here (steemit) . I still need to promote steemit on Facebook some more.

Sort:  

Irrespective of the disruption and competition Steemit has brought into the game, other social media platforms still remain relevant in some quarters.

Facebook is still useful in driving traffic/attention to one's content here. I do post my steem links on LinkedIn as well. They're still very useful.

I've been seeing a couple of "Ditch Facebook Campaigns" here, well, I'm yet to decipher the bases for the campaign, but, in my opinion, I believe other social media sites are still very useful. They compliment each other.

Cheers!

I'm telling you. I still post my links on Facebook and sometimes when I post, people will ask of steemit still pays and I'll say yes

This is incisive. I have not been doing much campaign for Steemit on facebook. I think this your post just opened my eyes. Thanks for this piece. I'm joining the campaign.

You welcome sir

We tag steemit better because it pays but we should not forget the fact that steemit and facebook are two different things. facebook has it's own features that steemit doesn't have and that will make me not to leave facebook easily. Think about your friends, family, relations facebook made it easier for you to reunite with them and still connecting more. I have a group on facebook I created called mlmhubnigeria this group has help me a lot to market my product. I have many more reasons not to quit facebook, this is just but few.

Facebook is still relevant for reach

Lol.... I met you and Steemit through Facebook and I don't regret it..
So maybe Facebook isn't so time-wasting afterall

Yea, it isn't and we should try to bring our friends here too so they can take benefit from steem Blockchain too

Well sir I totally agree cause information is key and you have unlocked a lot of doors by spreading it sir, Thanks a lot

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68148.22
ETH 3249.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67