👩🏻 The 1st Month Of My Self-taught Coding 🤓 💪 Was it worth trying??

in #steemit7 years ago

Hello, Steemit. I am absolutely amazed and flattered by the amount of support I've received. And just wanted to say...

You guys are awesome 😁❤️

So, today I wanted to share my experience on how I just started to learn programming, which I never even dreamed of doing before... To be real, I am not a tech-girl or tech-person, so it never occured to me that I would just pick-up coding and start teaching myself.

But during the end of my gap-year, when I had lots of time on my hands, I would usually surf the net to teach myself something about business and finance (since I wanted to do BBA); there were lots of online courses and on specific programming languages, but I always scrolled past them. One day my little brother suggested me: "Why don't you start teaching yourself how to build a mobile app?"

And I liked his idea because, since I was a little girl, the animations, be it on TV or on phone, were the source of my happiness (like any kid 😆 ) and secondly, after a long time of "avoiding" the so-called coding, the curiosity had been built up enough to want to take a glimpse on what was all this hype about.

So, I did a quick research on Google to get the most basics of programming and to find out which language I need learn in order to build an app.😋 After the research I got all excited😆 🔥 and decided that Lua language would be suitable for me as a beginner; I searched for its tutorial on youtube and started to watch it.😊

And it was boring af😃

"What the hell, I could sleep, just by seeing this?!" I thought. "Was it not worth trying after all?"😔

I then turned to Udemy.com a different website, where there are many non-univesity online courses, unlike others. After thoroughly comparing few courses I bought one for $10.

This one was published by the boy, who was same age as me and who started his app business since he was 14 or something.
Screen Shot 2017-11-14 at 1.53.28 PM.png
Screen Shot 2017-11-14 at 1.52.31 PM.png
In one of his introductory videos he wrote one line of code, which quickly created a red rectangle on the display. At this exact moment, I got butterflies in my stomach and felt a strong urge to learn this shit.

To be continued...

Sort:  

Congratulations @sainaa! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @sainaa! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57824.98
ETH 3133.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42