Power up 100% or Default 50% 50%. What does it mean.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago

9a5f0cf7735d5e626d4eb6e200877288.jpg

I am here on steemit trying to find more information on how the payout works on steemit.
I have a few questions?
What is the difference between power up 100% or default 50/50?
What post is it better to power up or default?
Is there a reference page to visit to get a better understanding of how all areas in steemit works?

So please can someone clearly explain to me how the payout works and whats the best way to make and save up your money before taking a pay out.
Thank you.

Sort:  

100% power up means all of your shares of the earnings goes to powering up your account with Steem Power.

50/50 means you want some (half) to go to Steem Power and some (half) of your earnings from the post to go to your money account (either Steem or Steem Dollars) that are readily available for trade or to pay for stuff.

Good info, thanks for sharing.

Thanks for helping us....

We are all on the same team. Best of luck!

exactly the information i was looking for thanx @triverse

Thanks this information you just gave me is going to save me time and money. I have been doing the 50/50 option but powering up afterwards anyway.

Thanks

Thanks for sharing! :)

Thanks for the info!

You are welcome. We are a team.

I still do not understand the difference between Steem Power and Steem. Can someone clarify please?

Steem Power is simply how much Steem you have invested in your own account. Steem is not invested and is available for trade on the internal market for Steem Backed Dollars or on external markets for other crypto currencies.

Steem Power is locked away and only available through 13 weekly payouts called "powering down".

Oh ok thanks for the info. In the long run it doesn't really matter since you can convert everything to everything else anyway but it just takes a while.

Well, it does effect you more in the long run. I prefer to do 50/50 because I get more Steem Dollars that I can use to buy Steem. If you look at the amount of Steem Power you get versus your Steem Dollars when doing 50/50 you will see that you can buy a lot more Steem with the Steem Dollars than you are getting in Steem Power.

If you do 100% Steem Power then you are not receiving the same amount of Steem Power as you could buy if had used the 50/50 option instead.

That is ... really counterproductive. They never should have split it into three different tokens, there's really no good reason for it. People are gonna game the system no matter what, so why make it more complicated?

You should check out some of the higher earning accounts if you think people are gaming the system with the payouts as far as Steem, Steem Power, and Steem Dollars. There are some suspicious earning going on with certain accounts that is well documented already.

Oh man totally. I wonder if it changed over time? I saw someone post a discussion with like 100+ upvotes and lots and lots of replies and the thread is like a dollar. Then I see some other that has 10 upvotes and it's freaking 170 dollars. How?

Also I'd say the promoted system is completely counter to the point of it. Rather than make someone's post go up in ranking in the respective tag, they all end up in a separate tag to compete with one another and be summarily ignored. Like I understand the thinking behind it but I don't know if that's the right thing to do.

Also, I think there should be tipping on the posts and comments, like Reddit gold. I mean you can send someone cryptocurrency with ease on Reddit, it should be effortless on this platform lol. Like you can do it with transactions, but would be good to have it more direct so people know why they're getting it. I understand the votes are supposed to do that, but sometimes you just want to give a guy a dollar for dropping an epic bant, you know?

You can send sbd directly to someone and put your note in the memo block...

I get it though. Make it an option directly in the blog page you are reading

Yeah so that the receiver knows what's up rather than getting some random transaction from a mysterious stranger lol.

Actually, I just had a look and it's the other way around now. It costs 1.15 SBD for 1 Steem. Weird man. Also my payouts are all over the damn place. I get nothing for my own posts, but my comments in other people's posts get weirdass returns. For instance this https://steemit.com/steemit/@tesselart/re-triverse-re-tesselart-re-triverse-re-ruddyred7-power-up-100-or-default-50-50-what-does-it-mean-20180127t092959950z. I got $0.02 yeah? No, I got 0.009 SBD, and 0.003 STEEM POWER. How does THAT add up to $0.02? And that's supposedly 50/50 as well right? Isn't Steem Power basically Steem? So why aren't they then 0.009 SBD and 0.01 SP or something like that?

I mean thank you ye mighty for paying out my 2 cents this time, every other time I just get the number reset to zero with no payout. What gives?

Exactly. I'm so confused though. I just started using Steem and bought a very small amount of steem (like $1.7 sbd) using the internal market and my account value doubled to $10. I'm not even exactly sure what I did.

I want to use $100 fiat to buy steem and power up, but not exactly sure how to do it the right away, especially now that I am reading so many contradictory articles and comments

You can actually buy Steem at Coinspot for AUD (good for me since I'm in Australia). I'm planning to put something like 5 or 10 steem in my account and see how it goes from there.

Thanks. I'll check it out.

Thanks! Just looked this up after writing a post. I'd give you a gold star if I had one! #goldstar

Thanks for the easy to understand explanation.

Thanks for a good simple explanation!

Created world record. 100+ upvotes with 0.000 wieghtage

Posted using Partiko Android

You're the man now, dog.

In simple terms, Powering up, keeps your rewards in the Steemit community until you decide to power down (which takes 13 weeks too do with 7 day installments back into STEEM which you can trade on an exchange into BTC or other. If you choose to keep 50/50 then half will be going into SBD (savings) , and half into STEEM . One benefit for you of Powering up 100% is that it increases your voting power, this is good to have. You can choose for each post, so you could have a mix of both. Try posting with 100% power up for a day then next day go with 50/50...see how that works for you.

ok thanks ill try that.

Ty for your information! Was here quite a while but have to time to do research about 100% power up or 50/50.
I will try it out!

Interesting — I'll try this out.

This is a good question for beginners, i figured it out by myself after a few days...

What he said:
For best results: Resteem, Upvote, Follow and Comment often! ~ Tijo~

Thanks what are the benefits of resteeming?

Good question.

Want to make money with this.

Tijo, I love your interviews with Clif.
I run a real-time reading service via Skype. www.pillowpeace.com
Do you have your favorite quotes? Could I record them for you in a form of a YT video?
Please let me know. Thank you & stay cool in the jungle. :)
I have just posted my first post on Steemit with decent amount of text. That's the story of my idea. Please welcome to take a look.
https://steemit.com/life/@pillow-peace/with-my-voice-i-am-able-to-affect-how-you-feel-positively

50/50 is my jam. Just like Tom Brady winning a Superbowl is his jam. Just like Jeffrey Damher killing people was his jam. Just like Bruce Jenner becoming KaitlynJenner is his/her jam. Just like Kim Jong-Un and big red buttons is his jam. Just like Donald Trump and Twitter is his jam. Just like Usher having herpes is his jam. Just like bitcoin taking over is our jam. Just like you reading and upvoting my reply is your jam. LMAOO!

Same Question i've pondering for awhile xD

Googled this and your answer came up. Thank you!

Much appreciated this data you just gave me will spare personal time and cash. I have been doing the 50/50 choice however controlling up a while later at any rate.

I also want to know, thanks for ur question

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59634.42
ETH 3191.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45