Scammers/Satisfaction Guaranteed

in #steemit7 years ago

As you all are probably aware I am relatively new to the steemit community. One of the things I find very cool is the existence of whales and witnesses(?). You guys know what I mean. I'm talking about making an investment, optimizing, helping each other out and squeezing all the juice out of anything we post. So anyway, I have used some trustworthy whale services and they all held true to their promise.
Now, where everything probably went wrong is when I clicked into my wallet and saw a private message from optimisticguy. He sent a message and I quote, "You Can Triple Your Money on Steemit. We will Up-Vote your posts for you. Send us $1 Steem Dollar our group will Up-Vote your post by $3.00 in return. So you triple your money. If you send us $2 SBD we will Up-Vote your posts by $6.00. Send $10 SBD and you get $30.00 in Up-Votes. Double Down! Send us $50 SBD and you get $300.00 in Up-Votes and for $100 SBD you get $750 in Up-Votes. We are a group of 250 loyal Steemians, we believe you should be paid more for your work on Steemit. Now you can get paid for your efforts. To receive our Up-Votes send $1 Steem Dollar to our group leader @optimisticguy and enter a link to your post in the memo section. We will distribute your link to our 250 members then we will start Up-Voting your post. Yes you will receive Triple your money back in Steem Dollars. Your Satisfaction is Guaranteed. Thank You @optimisticguy"-optimisticguy

Now let me correct myself...everything went wrong when I actually engaged with this message. First of all he said you 'can' triple your money. Secondly, how are "they" all together calculating the upvotes to give you a particular amount? I say "they" because as you can see this person is claiming they are a group of 250 loyal Steemians(awwwww). Now, think about how much coordination that would require to actually pull off. Also, the cherry on top...Your Satisfaction is Guaranteed...I mean come on. Anytime someone guarantees you anything off an investment red flags should go up.

How did I fall for this? Because I did not follow my own rules, lack of knowledge and being overly optimistic.

I could be wrong but I doubt there are 250 people coordinating upvotes with each other. Well, I guess you live and learn and I am a lot older than I was yesterday...relatively speaking...on steemit. If any of you have had a similar experience I'd like to hear about it or if you think I'm wrong and I spoke too soon I'd appreciate your two cents as well.

Sort:  


You received a Upgoat from me, and gonna restreem some of your stuff.


Great post, really, to help the fellow minnows out there i wish you would have told me about this i could have warned you many people get 0.001 sbd gifts with memos on how to make easy cash and they are all scams, i gave you a list of trusted and not trusted whales, just stick with that from now on, hopefully you did not loose too much and got to learn from this.


I am sure the scam felt a little like this.


~Mr. Jay

Mr. Jay you are right my friend. Fortunately I did not lose too much and it was a great learning experience. Your insight is greatly appreciated.

This post has received a 0.97 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @rubix.

This wonderful post has received a bellyrub of 1.48 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to this cool cat: @rubix. My pops @zeartul is one of your top steemit witness, if you like my bellyrubs please go vote for him, if you love what he is doing vote for this comment as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 65687.24
ETH 3269.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69