Steemit Newbie Question: How to get those active private keys?

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Dear Steemians,

I have been on the platform for about 4 days and am enjoying blogging about life and travels to contribute to this Steemit Community. 

Image Source

Here is my Big Question:

Everytime when I log in to post, I key in my password that was generated to me when I got accepted.

Is this your practice?

Today I got a message from @newsteemians saying that  "The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions."   Thank you for letting me know about this feature.

I searched through my dashboard and I cannot find the active keys.  Where do I get them?

1.  Is there an email address where we can write to support@steemit to ask questions?  

2.  Also is there a Steemit forum or FB page where the steemit team can answer Newbies questions?

Thank you for all your help as I do not know where to go for help.  I really appreciate this.

I have gone to you tube to try to find answer and have watched a lot of videos but don't know where to get answers for these specific questions.

Maybe some Steemit experts can answer some of these questions.

Thank you ahead of time for the awesome community.

Rosa :)


Sort:  

You can find your keys if you click on your little profile icon at the top right and then go to wallet. After that click the permission tab and there you go. If you want to see the private key click the little button next to the key that say "Show private key"

Oh, thank you. I found 4 keys. But whenever I post, the board always tells me to log in. So is it correct that when I log in, I don't use my master password key generated for me. From now on, I log in with that long string posting key password there? (This is very cumbersome.)

I am using the key i got assigned when i first registered. Its none of the keys on my wallet. Using that key i never log-out and i dont need any password to post or reply. You can probably get this again if you go to the little image of your self on the top right again and click on change password then if you dont know the current password you can use the Recover account function

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Right now, on the you tube channel, I found an interview of @terrybrock with @kevinwong saying that we can use steemit.chat to ask questions. I just went in there and am seeking answers for these difficult questions.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58211.91
ETH 2476.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38