Sort:  

I think steemit is a source of unconditional love and an ever growing society that will sooner or later be mainstream.
There are no downsides to the platform and you don't need to invest anything to participate in it.

Not a source, WE'RE the source, Steemit's the venue for our positivity. It's only that good, but it IS that good.
I didn't witness its start with the high proportion of crap content last year (that much was posted about we can still read); LO AND BEHOLD! The designers, having designed in certain algorithms, and it self-corrected and -selected for quality, and HF19 looks like it's an inflection point of the curve towards a better human, maybe even trans-human, community. I'm 'borged now, and better for it.

The value is entirely generated by the users. I've been trying to explain this to other prospects I'm selling Steemit to. The natural reaction, from people getting scammed so often, is to think that the short-hand pitch mentioned in the above post ("it's a cryptocurrency-backed social media platform.") sounds like some sort of multi-level-marketing. However, the value is based purely on the demand for Steem itself - it isn't paid out by an entity that could be lying to you or go bankrupt, it's a free-floating (though admittedly volatile) price set by a real market.

Real market...refreshing to see one of those every so often.

Steem certainly shows the power a web3 stack will allow for users and developers.

Growth in the web3 stack is going to explode just as web2 tech allowed dynamic content to take off. Steem will just be a speck of dust on a fabric of innovation. Not that that is a bad thing. Look at the progression from myspace to Facebook.

Steemit is a social media platform - until they rebrand themselves.

Steem - the blockchain - can be much more. Powering an attention economy that allows users to self fund the services they have grown to love from Facebook and other big name players.

Thanks for a great post. As a new user of Steemit and a long time user of Facebook and Instagram I've noticed the feel, energy and quality of content are completely different. FB particularly comes across as a superficial commercial shallow platform now that's lacking creativity. There's a lot of smart forward thinking here on Steemit and it really does feel like a new world. I'm excited to be here and to be expanding my personal horizons with it. And please keep recommending Blockchain Revolution... it's an incredible book when your new to crypto and the potential of what the blockchain is capable of. Thanks again and hope you're having a great day!

I think you have put a description to the way I've been feeling about facebook for a while now. I've pretty much lost my desire to go to facebook lately. I still do, a lot of my extended family are on there, and there's a few interesting groups that I follow there, but that has become most of my reason to go there now.

Steemit already rocking and will grow more in future. Thanks for the insight

Informative and entertaining, but let's not get ahead of ourselves. We should be thinking of building on the platform and not that it would cause the demise of other social media. We live in irrational world, things that benefit us the most we often reject it. It's important that the developers keep engage with the users and continually adapt and evolve. So lets always remind ourselves of the Darwinian view, may Steemit be the fittest of them all. May steemit continue to attract users and investors. May steemit continue to attract developers that can continue to keep the imagination of its users. May the team leading it continue to grow from strength to strength. My two cents.

Haha... I knew there was gonna be someone who got stuck on a literal interpretation of the headline...

Steemit is Socioeconomic Media. It's like the early days of the internet, when people had no frame of reference for what it was. But people are catching on.

And the trolls and others who can't play nice end up leaving in a huff. No worries though, they still have Facebook to troll and rant on. Actually, we need to have those other sites around so they have some place to go do what they do.

I hope so. I've always found Twitter utterly pointless, Facebook has had it's time and I use it less these days, posting the odd bit of humour and nothing else. I think Linkedin still has a place, especially if you run a business. YouTube just doesn't deliver the content that you want to watch anymore, since they changed the algorithms. Just like MySpace, a great many social media platforms are destined to die off. Hopefully a user owned and led platform such as Steemit will benefit. I'm new here but I have high hopes.

I use LinkedIn and Youtube and nothing else in the mainstream.

Thanks for this philosophy, as a new minnow here, swimming in every direction at the same time. Its nice to hear a voice of reason. to me steemit is just like the original internet, right at html time. people making pages about there interests and others sharing those interests swinging by, maybe dropping a thank you email at the creator. Long before commercial interest buried those pages so deep you couldn't find them anymore.
Your right, this is a fresh start for us.
I'm very happy to be part of it :-)

Steem on my friends !

My Signature Post ---> Potential Followers Please Click HERE to get started

Steemit is not just a social media platform

If I'm allowed to quote from this post, yes; absolutely. It's not just the social media. I believe it's the pioneer to that road. That mission.

Yeah, we have other platform coming and chasing down the road of steemit.

I guess I like that idea. We live in the Society; we should have a choice and individual preferences (Facebook vs. intragram for instance). So, I like the way it's headed.
But, being said that, Steemit is far way from other guys who are trying to even get to the beginning of the competition (if we call it so).
But, it's changing the game for sure.

Other day I read, Synereo is ready with the alpha version of their product. Did you read anything on this?

Last I looked at what Synereo was up to, I wasn't resonating with the look of their prototype.

I did invest during the ICO, sold at a big loss because they weren't following through, there were rumors about conflict on the team, and they were failing to deliver what they'd been planning.

I'm not sure where they're totally at now, though haven't been vibing with their position. all seemed too theoretical and philosophical for my taste without the solid entrepreneurship skills and decisiveness to ground into action and get rolling. will see how that rolls out, though haven't been following closely enough to comment much...

Their first product "Qrator" is in alpha. This is quite an old article though.
https://blog.synereo.com/2017/04/03/synereo-announces-qrator-the-first-liberated-attention-economy-application/
But, I was reading something in bitcointalk yesterday, there they mentioned it's coming in beta soon.
I'm sure you will have an eye for sure.
On an other note, Often times, I find, you choose certain topics which are quite the different than others (not, I'm not joking), like this one.
I will look for another post. @rok-sivante style :P

They are releasing their first beta sometime this month. They have expanded their team and I have their alpha running on my laptop so I know its real. To really know what is going on you need to go in the slack channel.

They are coming out with a public beta release this month.

Thanks for the informative article. It clarifies a few things that were a bit fuzzy for me. I know very little about the technology of blockchain and crypto. I came to the steemit site to check it out because of a recommendation from someone on youtube, and found it interesting enough to get involved.

get a copy of Blockchain Revolution by Don & Alex Tapscott - it'll catch you up to speed quick... ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66598.01
ETH 3236.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.66