You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: WHY ARE SOME OF STEEMIT BEST WRITERS LEAVING? ARE YOU FEELING IGNORED? WHAT CAN WE DO TO INCREASE RETENTION OF CREATIVE WRITERS? DO WE HAVE ROOM FOR SIMPLE SOCIAL POSTS? HOW CAN WE BALANCE BETWEEN SOCIAL MEDIA AND CREATIVE CONTENT?

in #steemit8 years ago

I think you've been doing a great job so far. Not sure what you mean by a crypto facebook. I think it's not possible :) I mean, your posts have been earning way more than if you would post them on your own site, instagram, facebook, medium or any other blog site I think...

The question is really: are you in it for the money, or are you in it for the content, features of the blockchain (superfast confirmations / transactions, decentralised content) and the community? There will always be people earning more rewards and people earning less. The fact that the rewards are going down is mostly based on the price of Steem going down.

Still if one earns double digits or even pennies with a post is quite a lot more than one would earn with a post on facebook, medium or twitter right? 300 USD per month is not a bad revenue either I would say...

Yes I had a 5000 SBD post in good times but I am not surprised they are lowered nowadays, it's all due to the price of Steem. (Yes my posts still do rake in quite some SBD but that's because of support for SteemFest, as you can see all those post rewards are transferred to @steemfest immediately)

Remember: Before Steemit there was no such a thing as a decentralised (blogging) platform where your contributions got you tokens of value in return. Now having a lower price of Steem thx to the hype wear-off is of course disappointing, but... what did you do before Steem? One would post on FB, Medium, Twitter. No rewards whatsoever except a like, a heart and a recommend.

Let's all work together to make this a great blockchain and emphasize on the features of 'decentralisation of content' more (no censorship!) instead of about not having that much liquid rewards as before. If this platform grows 1000% you are in a great position.

Sort:  

If I was a regular guy not promoting steemit and just throwing by hasty posts left and right I wouldn't mention it. Whatever lands, lands right?. I mention it because I am not that guy and I haven't been getting reward even in the good days. I craft every post carefully spending hours and hours for making my own graphics as well. Half of my work is designing Steemit stuff. You get to keep the steem power mate. i get to keep a middle finger.

There is a clear bias and I think it has to do my content and my confrontentional stance toward those who are scammers like TDV. I am trying to reach Dan now in order to find out what my future will be here. 3 months in with 100% push for myself I think its enough. I won't be posting any more content until he replies. I treated this like a full time job.

And yes, i think I could make more writing these in my personal blog. I know i produce good content. I don't like hearing this mantra of "at least here you earn money". its getting old and doesn't really apply the way you think it applies. I wrote an article about the basic human psychology.

if it applied like you suggest it does then we would have much higher user retention.

Others like me, who got involved much less with Steemit have already 30K in Steem Power.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60071.31
ETH 2409.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43