'Jaguar' - The Process Of My Best Oil Painting So Far. 🌌🐆💫

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

jaguar 6 - robbieallenart.png

  • This is my finished 'Jaguar' Oil Painting which is my first animal portrait, and my best oil painting so far. Next I'll show you the steps I took to reach this point.

My introduction to landscape and animal oil painting;

In 2016 when I was living in Queenstown, New Zealand, I began to experiment a little bit more with oil painting. I first discovered an Art Gallery/Studio in the Center of Queenstown, after sitting on a bench, under a tree in the Queenstown Gardens. I was reading a book, pausing, reflecting and sometimes daydreaming, and then responding to a sudden thought, flash of inspiration, or intuition, which brought the word “gallery” very clearly to my mind. When this happened I felt that I should act straight away. So I got up, picked up my bag and decided to go and visit the local galleries. I walked into the closest gallery, looked around, and didn’t feel any real reason why I should be there. So I moved on and went on to another gallery a couple of streets away. I walked in, spoke to the receptionist, and then a senior artist/teacher called Marion. I introduced myself as an artist who had recently arrived in town, and within a minute or two, I was discussing borrowing/renting out a shared space there (at the time there wasn’t anything available).

After a some months experimenting with landscapes, I decided to try an animal portrait. I have always loved animals, and I've always enjoyed drawing them in the past. I guessed it would be a good idea to experiment with an animal portrait before a human one. So I decided to go for the Wild Cat, or 'Big Cat' family, and I chose a black Jaguar, as this Wild Cat had previously appeared in my dreams. Either that or I am mistaking the Jaguar for a black Leopard. It wasn't easy to remember the exact detail in my dream, so I settled for the beautiful, majestic and mysterious black Jaguar.

And so I began…

jaguar 1 - robbieallenart.png

I started off with covering my originally white canvas with a paint layer of burnt sienna, as advised by my friend @samuelearpartist, to help add a level of vibrancy which would come through the painting. This technique also helps to eliminate any fear or apprehension when faced with the glaring white canvas before making your first few marks!

After the first layer was dry, I then created a darker burnt sienna mixture, and sketched in my Jaguar with a body shot against a tropical South American jungle/rainforest background with a flat brush. I liked how this initial step looked, however, something didn't seem right, I felt like I wanted to show more up close detail which I wouldn't have been able to achieve with this pose. I decided to change my idea early on, and go for a head shot portrait of the Jaguar instead!

jaguar 2 - robbieallenart.png

I found a beautiful photo of a black Jaguar by a Deviant Art Photographer called 'Xandau', and I decided to use this as reference. I scraped my original Jaguar off the canvas, and took on the challenge of portraying this incredible animal as well as I could on canvas. This was my first step of my new painting. I sketched in the head and background leaves with a darker mixture, and once it was dry, I mixed the rainforest greens, and painted them in first.

From this photo you can also see my first rented studio space! At the same time, I was living in a tiny cupboard under the stairs, Harry Potter style in a shared house in Fernhill, so I could also afford to rent this space and keep costs down. Maybe one day this part of my story will prove to be a funny and important part of my artistic journey, and I will repeat it many times with a smile on my face!

jaguar 3 - robbieallenart.JPG

My second step, completing the background rainforest leaves in simple detail so that the detail and hard edges of the Jaguar would come forward more.

jaguar 4 - robbieallenart.png

My third step was painting the fur of the Jaguar using a combination of Prussian Blue, Ultramarine Blue, Raw Umber, and Burnt Sienna. I 'blocked in' the larger shapes and forms first before any level of detailing, leaving the eye as focal point, until the end.

jaguar 5 - robbieallenart.JPG

My fourth step I continued painting in the fur, and filled in the main colour shapes of the Jaguars eyes. I took many hours working up the layers, and experimenting with blending in the fur. I made sure to aim to keep a fine balance of both hard and soft edges throughout the process.

jaguar 6 - robbieallenart.png

And finally after many days and nights of persistent practice, deep focus, hard work and effort, I arrived at this finished painting. I was very happy with the result and initially I did want to try to sell it. But I decided to give it away as a gift to the Brazilian family who had been supporting my artwork on social media every time I posted. I packaged an oil painting for the first time, and sent it to Brazil. It now hangs on the wall of a warm, loving family house in Porto Alegre, Brazil.

Sort:  

Nice work, on the painting and the gift.

@beyondordinary thank you! I'm happy I gave the painting away, because the Brazilian family really appreciated and loved it, and I'm sure it now has a good home.

It looks really really good. Hope you do another oil painting soon.
Nice work! :D

@rebeca.just20 Thank you! I'm trying to work out what I should paint next, I kind of feel like I want to try a human portrait in oils. Hopefully soon! :)

Beautiful work! I loved how you compared yourself saying you was living like "Harry Potter style in a shared house in Fernhill" hahaha. How lucky is this family in Brazil?! Keep it up. You should make one post a day! :)

Thank you @travelstories! Well it's true, and many other people in Queenstown, and in Australia made this joke about me! But also some said, It will be a time I look back and reflect on, when I am a financially successful artist, and smile as it was part of my journey.

I know, this family really appreciated it I think :) And I will, I think I am going to start posting more now.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61562.85
ETH 2891.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.43