Improvements that are needed for Steemit

in #steemit7 years ago

It’s been over 2 weeks that I started using Steemit and as a User Experience Designer I look at the platform a little different than the average user. I look at the flow and how things work. How can things go smoother for the end user (you) and what can be improved. Now, Steemit is still in it’s beta version so improvements are always welcome and I’m looking at it with my perspective.

Steemit is an amazing platform where you can share your knowledge and to be honest, I’m pretty addicted! I never really liked blogging because I didn’t had a great way to share the content. On Steemit you have a lot of people that can be your audience so that threshold has been reduced! But, like any other platform, Steemit has its flaws and can be improved to set the overall User Experience (UX) higher.

pexels-photo-58709.jpeg

The option to see all the users that upvoted your post


So this has been a pretty annoying thing in my mind. I like to see all the users that uprooted my post but Steemit let’s you show only 20. This can be improved by just clicking and showing a pop-up that shows all the users. Basically something that Facebook uses. But any other design can work as well.

Although this shouldn’t be top priority, it can still be fixed pretty quickly.

Drafted posts!!


You can submit a story but you can’t put in a draft on which you can work on. I have so many idea’s for posts and I want to put them in and wait for it till more inspiration comes along. Make a list of max 10 drafted posts for which you can work on and when you’re absolutely satisfied with it, you can post it. Now I work with Pages (For MacOS) or perhaps you work with Word (For Windows). This will also do but it is overkill. An option for drafted posts is really needed and should be on the priority list.

I want good notifications!


Steemit doesn’t have a notification pop-up by default. I adjusted it with Google Chrome that I do get notifications but when i’m away from my computer for 5 minutes and someone comments on my post or mentions me in their post, I won’t see it. Thus I miss that connection with my audience. A good notification system is required and has high priority to improve engagement and more!

I want to filter


So followers are a big thing here. I really love them! But they are sorted in alphabetical order. I don’t really like that, that much. I want to filter on when they started following me so I can check my latest followers, but also the followers that stood by me when I first started! I never know when I get a new follower, and who it is. Perhaps it’s someone with great content I never heard of. Then I wouldn’t know about his great content and I’ll be none the wiser!

Resteem my own post


So sometimes you think about your post ”This is really amazing, and I got a lot of upvoted, comments on it. I want to share it again! Well… Too bad, you can’t resteem your own post to bring it under attention once more. While this isn’t really needed on short term, it would be nice to have it on long term!

I’m a dedicated Steemian and want to see stats!


What did I earn lately? How many comments do I have in total? Where is the traffic coming from? These are a few questions I already have and what is needed for it? Analytics! I want to see how many followers I get each day / week / month. What is my best post and why did it work? This is really needed for me to bring my game to the next level. This should be high on the priority list, even though it will cost a lot of time to implement.

Plan your posts


So I talked about drafts, and that I have a lot of ideas. Sometimes I write more articles on it but it isn’t the best time to post or I posted an article already. So I want to plan my post for the next day and a good time. This will get you the highest amount of exposure and this will go great with the analytics. You can see what’s the best time to reach your audience.

Quick Search on articles


Many people have a lot of articles and resteem a lot. Their posts go deeper and deeper until you won’t find them anymore. Something like an archive would totally work here! You can check out your articles on what you wrote. You don’t wanna scroll down 100 times to find that one post but instead wanna search for it.

I hope you liked this article and found it interesting! If so, please leave a comment and resteem it to share it with your network!

Sort:  

Good post! Agree on most of all! As for all voters, you can see them here https://steemstats.com/#!/#%2F
as for followers https://steem.makerwannabe.com/index.php?username=rkrijgsman&period=4 I hope it was helpful

Thanks! Those are nice websites and I used steemstats a bit as well. But it would be nice to have it on the platform itself though ;)

agree! and 100% agree with notifications and search points

loved this post , and all those things I would also like to have !! Especially 1and 2 ! Im sure some of these are currently being worked on as we are constantly getting improvements ! I really hope we see some of these soon !! Upped , and resteemed ! 👍👍👍

great iniciative! It's idea's like these combined with the many skills all the users possess that will make this site the number 1 site in the world!

Well thought out post. I agree with you on most points, specifically the searching capabilities. They could do quite a bit on that front!

There are already 3rd party tools for some of these issues. For example, you can use a browser extension for notifications:
https://steemit.com/steemit/@fleuri/steemit-notifications-browser-extension-download-now
or use steemwatch to watch notifications in realtime or via a channel in the steem chat (steemwatch is down since yesterday though): https://steemwatch.com

That's true, but where shouldn't be a need for third party tools. As a user you don't want to open 5 different windows to use Steemit. You want to open only 1 (perhaps 2 for a chat).

Yes, I agree - but it seems the core developers are expecting others to create apps that access the steem blockchain rather than expanding steemit incrementally. I did hear someone saying that an entirely new website would replace this existing one in a couple of months - but I don't know more than that.

Thank you for this post. I hope you found a way of sharing it with Steemit designers directly. I find busy.org useful for finding articles easily without all the resteems clogging up my blog. Feeds still clogged up though. You have achieved so much in two weeks. Well done! I thought of another feature I'd like to see. It would be good to be able to pin posts.

Some very good ideas sometimes you dont get to your computer for some reason and really miss out my little upvote is not much but really like your posts as even I can understand them. Thank you.

very interesting post

Exactly!! UX is not good. I know it's in beta but it's very antiquated and clunky. I hope it gets up to speed and flow better soon. I Love it here but it feels like I'm trudging through mud.

Nice post, resteem and let's hope more people find it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64275.79
ETH 3156.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56