What is Cryptocurrency? And where do I start? A TRUE STORY.

in #steemit8 years ago

I was having lunch with a friend the other day and he asked me "what is cryptocurrency and where do I start". I felt angry. All those times I had explained different aspects of cryptocurrency to him and he's asking me where to start! I kinda felt like I had been talking to myself the whole time. He then told me that he has heard at least half of everything I've explained to him but it sounded like a foreign language. And now that this hot girl at work is into it he wants to learn quick!


After making him beg a few times more I finally gave in. He said that he needed to read some materials first and then start talking about it with me. He asked me what books or magazines he should get. I started to think back about when I started learning and could not think of one book or magazine. I started to list of several websites and blogs and then it hit me... The ONLY thing he needs is steemit! There are so many knowledgeable and talented people on here and so much great information, that steemit is basically a one stop shop. At least for a beginner wanting to learn about cryptocurrency. And not only is the best and most up to date information on here, everyone is super helpful and friendly. It's like crypto-university only better - make cryptocurrency as you learn about it! I kept painting the remarkable painting of what steemit is, we finished our lunch and went back to work.

About an hour later I get a call and I'm with a client. My secretary interrupts me and tells me I have an extremely urgent call. It was him. He went back to work and told this girl all about steemit. They talked more than they ever had before and he has a date with her this weekend to sign up for steemit together!! He praised me and assure me that he will listen to every word I say about cryptocurrency from now on.


I had to share this story because I believe that when steemit hits the mainstream, there will be many many people out there who share these two lovebirds' enthusiasm and sentiment about our wonderful community. And then we're off to becoming the worlds second largest cryptocurrency in 2018!


FULL STEEM AHEAD!!!!!

Sort:  

I love that story- great promo text too

You are welcome Sir

Thanks for posting such an interesting article. Good, information and thought worthy.

Great article
Shared on social media

What a heart warming stroy and there is much truth in there.
I agree, once Steemit hits the mainstream it will explode. Ease of use is the key and the new Busy.org helps although I think people might find it a little strange why t there are 2 versions. Perhaps in the future they will find a way of combining both setups.
I too have had similar problems with telling people about crypto and them only half listening. So annoying.
I agree Steemit is a crypto university. I think the reason why people get the concept of Steem quicker than Bitcoin is because it is based on something you can see. When I tell people about Steemit I tell then it is like Reddit or Facebook only instead of all the profits going to one person it is spread out to the content providers and users, Most people understand the idea of shares so I often use that analogy. Steempower are shares in the company.
Great post!

Great story.

Thanks for sharing interesting article about cryptocurrency.

Excellent story dear friend @riosparada congratulations

Thank you!!!! FULL STEEM AHEAD!!!

And now that this hot girl at work is into it he wants to learn quick!

This is how I got my FB account :p

Wow! Maybe it not as uncommon as I thought lol. Thanks for your support!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56784.71
ETH 2392.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.27