SteemCampUK Birmingham - My Thoughts

in #steemit6 years ago

_DSC4109_.jpg

The SteemCampUk has taken place a month ago in Birmingham. And yes, it is super late but better late than never! 😉



I have since written my thoughts in a notebook and unfortunately had no time to transfer it over to Steemit. But here I am, ready to do just that! So please enjoy the images - a small reminder of the time we all had and some of my thoughts to go along with the whole day.

_DSC4087_.jpg
_DSC4089_.jpg
_DSC4092_.jpg
_DSC4096_.jpg

Looking back onto the SteemCampUK, you realize how complex, full of potential and full of good people the platform is.

Those who join the platform have different expectations and goals. Many have pointed out that trending pages lure you in and you begin to believe that your content is so much better, you could easily earn more if that is the standard.

Later you realize that trending pages are mostly a paid by a bot content and it is difficult to find a quality material. That is when we begin to lose people. How do we bring them back? Has this event changed the opinion of @dobsdies?



Do we find curators or become curators ourselves? How do we increase the value of your vote to do so? Write 10 posts a day, get delegation & self-upvote? Sure! This sounds like a great idea or is it? So, the question is, do we grow our accounts fast or slow!?


_DSC4097_.jpg
_DSC4098_.jpg
_DSC4105_.jpg
_DSC4107_.jpg

My suggested session was called:

Curation projects. To get recognised and rewarded.

The idea was to chat about different types of curation projects. Share knowledge and maybe tricks of the trade.

As I myself am part of the curation project called @travelfeed, it mostly turned into a chit-chat about that. Phil (@teamhumble) was especially curious about the project’s mission, the long-term and benefit to the platform.

After the discussion, I have been suggested the @dtube to spread the word about the project to the wider audience. Of course, I found it to be simply brilliant! 💡 And it gave me an even better idea – why not to go all the way and do both: the dtube and the youtube platform?!

So in the end, I have set up a youtube account (still waiting for its first vlog), where we would chit-chat about the project. This should help us to connect with the audience and gain more support from the platform. But that is in theory, let's just see what will actually happen!

Apart from @travelfeed, the group has mentioned @dtubedaily, @utopian, #openmic and @photofeed. We have also discussed @curie.

So, what it showed is how unfamiliar the curation projects are!


_DSC4100_.jpg
_DSC4099_.jpg
_DSC4101_.jpg
_DSC4108_.jpg

There was some fun as well! We have played a card game and anyone wishing to see what it was, just check this video by @ultravioletmag (https://steemit.com/steemcampuk/@ultravioletmag/jlfvn7ec)!


_DSC4110_.jpg


Coming to the event with the five points set in stone:

Whoever Comes Is The Right People

Wherever It Happens Is The Right Place

Whenever it starts is the right time

Whatever Happens Is The Only Thing That Could Have Happened

When it's over it's over;

I have left the building in a positive mood.

Few thoughts to share, when we all sat down for the final circle:

... different perspective on what we do on Steemit and what did bring all of us to the platform;

... what we intended to talk about and what we ended up talking;

... real life communities


_DSC4111_.jpg


The attendees: @article61; @dayleeo; @teamhumble; @redrica; @lloyddavis; @rimicane; @steevc; @slobberchops; @cryptofunk; @beautifulbullies; @dobsdies; @ultravioletmag; @bingbabe; @davedev.

Sort:  

Cool ...nice meet up...

I didn't realise you were one of the founders of @travelfeed. Things have moved on a lot since our meeting in Brum, I was slightly motivated at that time but have since become 'very motivated' by Steemit. You were one of the people I didn't manage to chat too. I will next time :)

Good to hear that! We will chat next time for sure!

Thank you so much for representing Travelfeed! A great group of people meeting at a beautiful location talking about Steemit = HEAVEN!

TravelFeed to the moon! 😀

Interesting post @rimicane. Thank you!

I enjoyed seeing your photos. Looks like a great venue.

So, the question is, do we grow our accounts fast or slow!?

I'm still trying to answer that. I think the platform and tactics have changed a lot in the short time I've been here and I notice I seem to be one of the very few left who don't self vote. Maybe I should rethink that. 😢

Hard to tell, I hope I am doing the right thing by self-upvoting. But then again, I don't post much.... Sensitive topic...

Ah my home town :)
I must admit, the fact it was a meet up in Brum, UK was why I looked at your post, but I found it very interesting! You have hit on most the questions, concerns and topics I've talked about to other Steemians here in CA, USA at our @socalsteemit Meetups.
Its just nice to know my home town is involved in Steemit, not sure why exactly, but it brings a big smile to my face!

Oh, wow! I live in Brum! And the reason for this location was the fact that it is central, although not everyone was impressed 😟Next time - London. But so cool that we all have got meetups all over the world!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57842.09
ETH 2895.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56