You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit - Value is Subjective

in #steemit7 years ago

Good article...upvoted and followed! If it were up to me there would no flags or bots. What you said at the beginning about influential people dictating value "for the good of the platform" is straight out of Communism! And it' bullshit! The fact that there are flags shows me that the creators had no intention of creating a non-censored platform. The same with disparate voting strength. In a free and open election (system) a rich person's vote doesn't carry more weight than someone who's poor. There was never any intention for parity in my opinion.

Sort:  

Thanks @richq11. I think there's room for negative opinion, as disagreement helps us reach consensus, but you're right, dictating what something is worth is in fact Communist behavior.

I think they intended to create parity in a way that profits the Steem cryptocurrency, but failed to create countermeasures for abusive voting, such as sybil attack. When it comes to voting power, they've created a trickle down economy. Unfortunately, trickle down economies do not have parity, and give room for the powerful to dictate the actions of the poor.

Well put! I always find that comments are the best form of disagreement. Not only does it open up discourse, it gives a person to have his/her mind change. I can't count the number of times where I've disagreed verbally only to have my mind changed. J.S. Mill wrote brilliantly about censorship, to paraphrase, "it deprives us of the opportunity to replace error with truth."

I know the feeling all too well. I enjoy being corrected when I am wrong, even if I seem stubborn at first, I'm always willing to open myself to new knowledge in order to grow.

I've not read any of J.S Mill's work. I'll have to check it out. Thanks!

This quote is from On Liberty. Mill was a Utilitarian in Britain in the 1800's

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95