A Note To Whoever Is In Charge

in #steemit7 years ago

selfie.jpg

Far be it from me to complain, I love Steemit as much as anyone... But somebody, somewhere seems to be having difficulty distinguishing between POST and DELETE. A point of clarification... when someone works long hard on a post when they click on the blue box named POST- they expect it to be posted on their blog... Not to disappear! This seems to be happening with alarming frequency. After nearly a year with no problems... it's happened 3 times in a week. Is this something that falls in the realm of witnesses, devs... or if not them, then who?

Sort:  

My suggestion is to do what I do: prepare the post in a text editor on the PC, and when it's ready, minus only the images, transfer it to the browser.

I use BBEdit on the Mac, which displays markdown and so lets me see what the result will be. There may be text editors under Windows and Linux with the ability to display markdown as well.

Just as a point of interest, losing a post is always a risk when dealing with any web site. You can lose it because the site goes down, the Internet between you and the site goes down, transmission errors / loss, problems with the site's posting capabilities, and so forth.

So it's a nice, safe conservative approach to create your post in a text editor, then copy/paste. That way you can't lose your work, plus you have a local copy you can save if you like.

This may be possible on a phone as well, depending on available software, clipboard, and so on.

I'm just using my wordpad!

I copy my work onto an open notepad

Crtl-A, Ctrl-C

Thus, I always have two versions of it. And then I have an archived version after posting.

And, to the developers, this was really bad interface botch done here.

Amen to that... I have Wordpad and am writing everything on there first- then copy & paste here!

Yeah it happened to me twice already. So I just copy before I post just to make sure @richq11

Good idea... I'm writing everything on Wordpad now and copy & paste it here!

Spot on .... I also noticed that. Did a post, drove home logged on after an hour to see if I had any feedback...and...post gone!!

It seems that- for me at least- it's just started. I've been on Steemit since last Nov and just started having problems. I've heard others say something a month or so back. I wonder is some of the witnesses are falling down on the job???

I don't really know how the platform operates, but it's a possibility I think.

and for the record I only came across you today... and added you to my vote list as I like your stuff. I went from an average of $60 - $80 a post to $3 - 6 after the last hard fork. My curation went from $7 a week to less than $2 ...

Thanks... I added you as well. The last HF hit us all pretty hard I think. Before I was hitting nearly $100, once or twice nearly $200. Now, it's more like $20. My chapters of my stories often take me up to 10 hours to write.

I never made much from curation- usually under $1.00 a day. I use up a lot of voting power trying to support people through their comments- but the payback seems negligible! But that's ok. This is my only means of support and I just keep cranking out posts hoping for the best.

From what I have been seeing from other members this seems to be happening to them also, so far I have had no problems with posting.

I never did before they changed the posting button... now 3 times in 1 week. I wouldn't complain if I just posted pictures or something I could redo quickly, but many of my posts take me over 2 hours just to type and edit!

Dont you worry Rich I feel your pain, remember I told you I got a computer that switches itself off often.. it can take me sometimes alot longer then 2 hours to put up a post, but I promise to invest in a new computer once I make it to steemfest.

Sorry dude. Wish I could offer some words of advice, but that stuff is above my pay grade. My eyes gloss over pretty quick on that stuff. I'm amazed they get as much right as they do.

Always save a parallel copy of your post.
In fact, save it every ten minutes or so while working on it.

I use an offline editor called MacDown (google it.)

😄😇😄

@creatr

I'm writing everything on Wordpad first now... That will work out better anyway so when I need to edit for the book it will already be there.

Way to go! ;)

This just happened to me too, as soon as I hit the post button, gone! I had most of my work saved in notepad, but the changes I made on the post screen were gone for good. Steemit has been locking up on and off for me all day. And I was pissed, after spending 1.5 hours fine tuning the post, it vanished into a black hole!

And a side note, I rewrote the changes in notepad and pasted in the text, and wow another lock up when I was assigning categories, and those got screwed up too. Who ever heard of politcs? LOL And well, it won't let me fix that one... What a day! Good luck on future posts!

Have a great night. :-)

Thanks... you too! My posts usually take me 2 hours at least to edit and type (not to mention writing it by hand before)... I was pretty pissed too!

Yes, it's very discouraging to lose hours worth of hard work. I, too, have been victimized by the disappearance of posts.

Ive been having the same problem, Im using a PC and Chrome Browser, I thought it might be the STEEM add-ons I had installed, so I removed them and it still happened to me. I too am curious.

I'm also pissed! I write and work hours on posts sometimes (the one I just lost took about 2 1/2 hours)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99