How The Job of Whales Can Be Made Easier By Reciprocal Resteeming Amongst Newbies

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)


Reciprocal Resteeming: How Newbies Can Help Each Other To Get Publicity


It is not news that getting more eyes to view your post is one way to increase its chances of being upvoted. Upvote means earning and earnings means money.


May newbies or minowns may have a difficult time getting noticed in steemit initially and thus many of their posts do not end up getting the expected earnings.

Presently

One of the ways to counter this is to seek for a whale who will upvote or resteem articles posted by newbies. However, as nice as this sounds, it may often be a herculean task getting a whale to offer this type of help for the numerous newbies coming into steemit right now.


In all honesty and sincerity, many whales here are trying, but they are constrained!!! The reason is simple; they are outnumbered. 

There are way fewer ratio of whales to newbies as a result of massive influx of people into steemit so you cannot really blame the whales. They have constraint in the number of post they can resteem per day otherwise, they may end up wearing their followers.


It is also important to note that the whales have areas of blogging interest. So assisting every newbie that come their way through resteeming will mean compromising on the type of post they are known for. This is bearing in mind that their followers know  and followed them for a particular type of post they make. 


When you put all the above into view, you will understand the challenges of being a whale in steemit right now.

Proposal and Way Out

Newbies can consider making friends of fellow newbies. That is following fellow newbies for the purpose of helping each other to surmount this obstacle.

When you consider that every newbie makes different friends and different fellowership, when they follow each other, they combine these followership for the purpose in question.

Newbies can consider an agreed reciprocal resteeming of each other's post as a way out. By this, daily one newbie will discuss with another and agree on at least two post to resteem amongst themselves. E.g. Mr A resteeems two post from Mr B and Mr B reciprocates by doing same for Mr A.

This will go along way to increase their mutual exposure to the steemit community and reduce the frustration often accompanying poor visibility of posts from such class of steemians.

Conclusion

Life is about innovation. Every problem has a solution. Do not fold you arms and complain. Try this, if it fails you device another plan. This just occurred to me this morning and I decided to share it. I don't know how many people it might benefit.

If you love this idea,

Resteem, upvote and follow me at https://steemit.com/@richguy.

Life is about mutual help.....

Sort:  

Its very true and a very good perspective. I think that finding a mentor with the same interests of you is key. Try to find someone who has a little more experience. You can create discussions of interest between the two of you and this helps each other. You almost build little communities within a larger community.

As for whales, a lot of them like to help out. Though there are some that just dont give a shit. Its all about them and their earnings first. While this isnt conducive to the type of environment a lot of people want here, it is completely acceptable. This community is all about the freedom to do as we wish within reason. If we wanted to force these things we wouldnt be investing in crypto would we?

I try not to get to mad or expect the whales support but I am greatly appreciative when they do.

I do think you @richguy helped me out A LOT when i first started. And i want to say thank you as I am now thinking about it now. I can remember you upvoting my first posts and it meant so much.

I am glad that you considered my little help. We can be a helping force in any corner we find ourselves.

i also followed you. gona resteem if i see something i dig

Muy buena idea. El único problema que veo es que quizás hagan falta muchos resteem para que entre newbies el artículo tenga una mínima visibilidad.

I wish I understand this language. Gracias/

Sorry. I wonder how many re-sendings will be needed to get enough visibility, if only newbies resteem. But very good point of view!

Well try it first and you will discover that it is better than what you currently have.

Agreed. We can support each other and indeed, there are many initiatives currently underway to make this happen.

Catching a whale vote/resteem is the pot of gold at the end of the rainbow!

Upvoted and following your journey :)

Thank you bro... Followed you back

This is very good @richguy . I understand lot of us here are just pouring out post just for the upvotes. Imagine someone asking me to upvote a stuff which i would have slapped him if it were to be a physical request. Well this post has just told us what area do you want to based to keep your followers intact. Because i have also noticed people just follow you because you requested for it. Now when you drop a fresh post there are no upvotes but checking your followers they are 100+. Meh we have to choose what we post else we are all getting things wrong. Thanks @richguy for this

Thank you for stopping by.

Congratulations @richguy! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Hey this is a good idea, I think it can work as you mention there are a lot of new people who do put out decent, and relevant content.

I've been doing that since I got here, but with a twist , I only resteem what I want no deals :) If I like what you've written or the topic or even the conversations there you get a resteem, and I value my resteems more than my upvotes, since I like my blog uncluttered and with some sense of reason :D

Still I try to be as supportive as I can be, even if not many have asked for advice :D I know how it feels to spend months and not earn or just spend hours for 10 views on a post :) that's how it starts.

I agree that one should only resteem something we feel is valuable. Cluttering up your feed to your followers will only overwhelm them and make them unfollow you or ignore you. I prefer to be choosy about who I follow and what I resteem. I will not post daily unless I have something important to say. Sure, I lose out on a few cents for each missed posting opportunity, but I believe that discretion will lead to a more active and dedicated following.

Hopfully, but it will negatively impact your earnings for sure, I missed all of the bots that were giving me a free dollar, which actually boosts me a lot since that would count in today's prices maybe to +500 or +1000 on my measly 22? posts I will be getting that number up :D

I agree with you, but bot-o-nomics don't agree :D

Money is a huge motivator, for sure, but I look at it this way: Building relationships with people is worth more than money can ever buy because when you die the money can't be taken with you. What one gains from personal relationships MIGHT pass on to the next phase. Plus, I believe that eventually Steem will do what Bitcoin did and when that happens, even a few hundred Steem will be worth a lot!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61861.45
ETH 2995.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48