Where I Stand On The Transisto Flagging Debacle

in #steemit7 years ago

PANIC AT THE DISCORD

People familiar with The Writers’ Block probably need no further explanation. Nor do those who follow Michelle Gent, or who happened to catch wind of the drama through one post or another. Quite a few people have been talking about this. For those unaware of what happened, the short version is this: @transisto put a lightweight flag on several of Michelle’s trending posts, made a comment that he would continue to flag such posts (meaning fiction) if their payout was disproportionate to the number of views they received, and the writing community (myself included) went into a tailspin. Michelle talked of leaving Steemit altogether, and dozens of users threatened to go with her. Many content contributors felt disenfranchised, transisto took an armchair pounding from the community, and it turned into a bloody big mess.

I represent The Writers’ Block, which is arguably the largest and most successful writing community on Steemit. As our numbers grow, it could potentially become one of the largest writing communities on the internet. It is certainly one of the best. I speak from much experience. The only other online writing group that even comes close for me is IWW, the Internet Writers Workshop. I was an active member for years and still look upon my friends there with deep affection.

As co-admin of The Writers’ Block alongside @GMuxx, I inherited a joint share of responsibility for addressing this issue with Transisto and Michelle Gent. Certainly both GMuxx and I could have simply minded our own business and not gotten involved. That was an option. Or was it? Dozens of disgruntled Steemit writers came flooding into the Block, cussing mad and loaded for bear. “You folks need to do something” was the consensus. Yeah, we could have ignored them. I typically choose to stay far, far away from whale politics. However, when transisto made the statement that original novels are not a good fit for Steemit, he stepped into my wheelhouse. And I knew The Writers’ Block had a moral imperative to respond.

WELL THAT WAS A WHOLE DAY OF MY LIFE I'LL NEVER GET BACK

I spent all yesterday in one chat forum or another, listening to podcasts, participating in radio shows, and voicing my opinion that this would be devastating to authors who write fiction, and that we should not have to live in fear of a downvote if our posts become too successful. Transisto’s name became synonymous with Satan, and nearly every writer I knew threatened to leave the platform. Posts were flying left and right from members of The Writers’ Block, and I was putting the finishing touches on mine when I looked at my Discord screen and saw transisto typing.

Since he was currently the very hot topic of conversation, I imagined him reading the scrollback and burning all our houses to the ground. Boy was I surprised when he came into the channel calm and logical and presenting one hell of a good case for why he took the position he did. This is not to say I approve of his choices, but I do understand them. He has targeted a problem with the reward system of Steemit that I suspect very few would disagree over, even though we might have very different ideas about how to fix it.

The biggest problem I had with the entire exchange was how to keep our own folks at the Block from degenerating into warfare. Writers were out for blood. How dare someone suggest that fiction has no value! This was censorship! Escalating tensions would serve no purpose, though, so cooler heads prevailed. Several dolphins joined the conversation, and we communicated. I have to say that what resulted was one of the best conversations I’ve ever taken part in.

Were all the issues resolved? No. Were the flags removed from Michelle’s posts? No. Did we all sing kumbaya and huddle around the campfire? No. Steemit still has problems. But what we did accomplish was a clear demonstration of how our group performs under pressure. I think we left no doubt that we are capable of listening as well as talking, and that we truly want to hear investors when they speak about the reasons they feel some action is necessary to balance the distribution of rewards.

SAME STORY, TOTALLY DIFFERENT VERSE

Today I prowled around Steemit with The Writers’ Block account leaving comments here and there, hoping to get the word out that many people were on board with the idea of using fiction—especially serialized fiction—to add value to the platform. While doing this I stumbled across some comments by @lukestokes that several people in Discord chats had been discussing. When I read them I understood why. He has a very good fix on several problems that are plaguing Steemit right now, as well as insight into why investors take the position they do. He also has the gift of being able to explain these things in a completely non-inflammatory way. I reached out in the comments, hoping to share some of the plans we have for Steemhouse Publishing, as well as our vision for using fiction to attract more readers to the platform.

The Writers’ Block will be making a post soon about the ways a crypto-backed publisher will benefit the authors on its imprints. For now, I’d rather address the ways it will benefit Steemit. I was able to speak with lukestokes about some of this today. He dropped into The Writers’ Block and met with us briefly. I hope that as soon as we get more of the details ironed out, we’re able to meet with him again, as well as other influential users on the Steemit platform. I think our ideas have legs and are worth discussing. In a nutshell, we want to leverage the mainstream publishing industry as a way to earn FIAT money off the novels we write, which we then bring to the blockchain and disperse to the authors and publishing house according to the contract royalties split. Authors get paid in STEEM transfers (or possibly SMT,) and money coming into the publishing house can be used for various expenses and book promotion.

Before anyone starts yelling about the fact that authors typically don’t earn much money off their novels, let me assure you that I am aware of this. I currently have two novels in print and one manuscript in the hands of an agent. What makes the difference in book sales most often, though, is the amount of capital an author has for promotion, and how that capital is spent. If we have earning potential on the blockchain as a publishing house capable of generating its own post rewards, that puts a whole new level of ability on what we can do for our authors, and consequently, for Steemit.

Additionally, there’s also the likelihood of drawing readers to Steemit so they can follow authors they find on mainstream internet platforms like Amazon, Kobo, and Barnes & Noble. Authors can enhance this effect by engaging with those readers on their blogs, as well as posting ancillary fiction that goes along with the novels that drew their fans here. The possibilities are nearly endless. I don’t think this in any way conflicts with transisto’s vision for worthwhile posting effort, and at the same time completely shuts down his assumption that Steemit isn’t a good fit for novels. Challenge accepted, transisto! If we can keep it friendly and upbeat, I’d love to prove you wrong. If it benefits the platform and adds value to your investment, I can’t imagine you’d mind being wrong, either.

We’ll be moving forward with this in stages. You won’t see Steemhouse Publishing pop up overnight like a mushroom in someone’s cow pasture. We have a lot of thinking to do, a lot of planning, as well as boring business stuff like incorporation. But everyone, please know we have some of Steemit’s brightest minds behind this. And more determination than you can shake a stick at. Not to mention mind meld and the Borg Effect. (Writers’ Block members will get this.) I think Steemhouse has the potential to put Steemit on a few maps that have been ignoring it, as well as give some of the best writing talent on the planet a chance to compete in the mainstream. I will keep everyone posted as this develops.





Sort:  

God! What a breakdown of current events!

A calming, fair and analytical voice of reason if ever I heard one. But then again, that's coming from the @rhondak I know so not much surprise there, lol.

I only just got back from a short trip abroad so missed most of this brief, yet heated debate yesterday. But things like this don't get resolved with pitch forks and spirilous threats being bandied around. It needs a more "refined" approach and that's what you seem to have assisted in doing. I really commend you for that and just furthers my respect for you as an individual. Now, I feel it's time to build bridges and carry on. If anything positive came out from this episode, it's that these issues have been brought to light and now provide a solid reference point for (fingers crossed) reasoned discussions in the future.

Love the post, @rhondak.

As soon as I get over squealing and fangirling, I'll answer with a proper analytical voice of reason. LOL

Oh, you know by now that I'm just being silly. What is life if we can't have fun with people we like, right?

Thank you for your comment. You speak my heart fully with everything you said. Flags may come for all of us that we feel are unfair and inappropriate. But I just watched the video by kafkanarchy84 that Sir Percy sent me the link to, and boy does it ever sum things up. The market will correct itself. And if we can't stand back and let it, then we're in the wrong forum.

Again, thank you for weighing in. You know it means a lot to me. ;-)

Lol! I love the intro, @rhondak! And as that doesn't happen too often, I'll take it!

But seriously, it's good to know we are both on the same page. As clear as it may have appeared at the time, I do not believe for one second that, let's say, "initial proceedings" were conducted with any malicious intent behind them. Simply a difference of opinions, which is pretty much an inevitability given the sheer amount of us Steemit users all thrown into the mix together. It's not the first time this will happen and you can bet your bottom dollar won't be the last.

Bless you, @rhondak... :)

I think the key to navigating all of this is thinking like a whale. Understanding what motivates the investors, and not letting kneejerk emotions rule. Then again, that's exactly what one has to do in mainstream publishing. A rejection from an agent does not mean your work sucks. It simply means they cannot place it in the market, and that economically, it's a bad risk for them. Hard not to take that personally, but the next agent may very well have the connections you need for a sale.

Wait, wait. . .let me back up. . . "Thinking Like a Whale." Hmm. That would make a great title for another post. . . .

You mentioned the publishing house won't pop up over night. The publishing house CAN'T pop up over night... not just because of setting up all that stuff that goes way over my head (ISBN numbers, contracts, investors, etc.) but because the publishing house will be very picky about what it produces. Many people who read have run into low quality indie or self-published books. This is NOT what we're about. We're about capitalizing on the skill set we already have on the block, multiplying that out into novel context, and putting out QUALITY novels. Novels that are the novel version of what the SFT curates. Mainstream quality fiction that is well edited, formatted appropriately, and has decent cover art. Even if all that other stuff was in place, and even considering starting with some drafts some of our members may have lying around, all that editing and polishing and re-editing takes time. Bringing the publishing house to life is going to take time and hard work. But we're working on it. And every piece of fiction one of our potential authors puts out on the block chain today is going to be a piece of that. Readers who fall in love with the work of one of our authors will come streaming onto the block chain to find the pre-existing stories, the companion pieces that come later, and to get news and updates that the author has a sequel in the works. They'll be excited to see the pieces the author made that won or lost in thus-and-such a contest.

I admit I don't fully understand the block chain. I probably never will. I really don't understand where all this money comes from. But I'm here and doing the work I can--and so far leaving all my "money" in the system--because I believe there is a future here. I believe in things like this publishing house. I believe that this sort of community can make a difference to a lot of writers. The blockchain can be the library of the new digital world. Bigger and better than Amazon.

Please turn this into a post. I will upvote and resteem the hell out of it.

uhm... working on it?

Great post Babe.
It's an increasing issue right now and I haven't written anything in 4 weeks as I've become a bit dissolutioned with attitudes here. Take 8 minutes out of your busy schedule to watch this vlog by my mate @kafkanarchy84 as it helped me see things in a slightly different light.
Let's not let this kind of thing ruin our experiences as I fear that as soon as people start ganging up the wars will only get worse.
You do great work @rhondak stay strong.

Oh my goodness, what an EXCELLENT take on this by @kafkanarchy84. Boy, did he ever sum up the reasons I'm not throwing a shit fit over the flag situation. THE MARKET WILL CORRECT ITSELF. Thank you for this link.

You're welcome babe. 😉

I was there for the conversation and this is exactly how it went down. I went from bitter @transisto hater to “ohh” in what can only be described as an aha moment. I fully agree with everything @Rhondak has said here in that I think Transisto is wrong about novels on Steemit, but I also think he’d be okay with being proved wrong. He walked into the lion’s den and engaged in measured, reasoned debate. That takes guts. So, much respect to him. We may not agree on the details, but we can agree we want the platform to grow.

Way to take a tough moment and turn it into a rallying cry. Well done, and very nice job working with Transisto. He can be prickly, and it's often hard for platform minnows to understand crypto whale actions. That said, he has thoughts on what is best for Stee and he uses his SP to get there. It's a tough job, and I respect what he's trying to do.

As for fiction on the block he's a little out of his mind. A blogging platform that pays as you go is an insanely good fit for writers. It's fucking ideal, and as more writers figure it out we will have more content creators on here. He often talks about the low quality of content relative to other platforms. I wonder who could solve that... I wonder if a few hundred or thousand fiction writers could...
Nice job Rho.

I don't see any bad in adding good quality fiction posts and I believe that adds value. On the other hand, I've been trying to add posts on utopian-io and they seem to be very strict with no so clear rules and its hard to get a post approved.

YES. My thinking exactly. You nailed it, Aggro. As usual. LOL

Beautifully summarized, one would almost suspect you of being a writer ;-)

I love the 'Panic At The Discord' heading.

Ordinarily we would both rather not get involved in disputes of this nature but we felt we needed to raise our heads above the trenches as we feel a deep responsibility for our growing corner of Discord at The Block.

Cool heads prevailed and rather than going on the attack it is important to hear both sides to understand alternative opinions. I freely admit to being a dunce in the crypto world but understand it a little clearer since Transisto calmly and rationally put his points across at The Block. I may not agree with all of them, but I understand them from his viewpoint.

Hey @rhondak
This is @chelsea88
I run this curation account for primarily east coast Steemians. We Also have a small but growing discord that I cordially invite you to:
https://discord.gg/6vQK7Ca

Back on topic, as you know I finally stumbled onto the writers block around the time of this happening. I was impressed then with how coolheaded you were and still am. There's no easy answer to the flagging war in general. As someone who writes a little here and there, I find it ridiculous that anyone would want to mess up another's success with writing as it is time consuming work. Furthermore, if you are like me, your fiction isn't a "slow release of a novel to make "easy" money on steemit" .... It's you having a creative moment and going with the flow of that. Keep up your level headedness. It is a great attribute. Resteemed.

Thank you, @chelsea88. I agree wholeheartedly that the creation of marketable fiction is extremely labor intensive and should be rewarded heavily. That wasn't the primary issue here, though, which is why most of us at the Writers' Block were able to take a step back and evaluate this from a more analytical position. I'm working on another article about this that I hope to go live with later tonight. And yes, I'm very interested in your curation project. Curation is also a hot topic right now, and you'll be seeing TWB writers weighing in on that debate as well. Again, THANK YOU!

I appreciate knowing the curation is being acknowledged. This is primarily for the east coast steemians. I do actually go through all 50 something this account is following every couple days and curate things that need it. If you know of any writers on the east coast and want to tag them here so I can start curating them. Thx @rhondak
Stay awesome & Hope you & yours had a nice holiday today =)

And more determination than you can shake a stick at.
This cracked me up. Sorry, this is a serious topic, never mind me, please.
chuckles in the corner

That's the hellbilly in me coming out. LOL!!!

A good post once again... my stance in that problem is similar to yours... I liked the latest Writer's Block post too.

But what we did accomplish was a clear demonstration of how our group performs under pressure. I think we left no doubt that we are capable of listening as well as talking, and that we truly want to hear investors when they speak about the reasons they feel some action is necessary to balance the distribution of rewards.

I just read a good post few hours ago that tells us to not take flaggin downvoting personally... and I agree with that post.

Actually what I dislike in flagging isn't the removal of post payout... but the decrease of Rep... if some investor balanced what I'd get from my story the same way... I'd be angry but will understand it after a while... But if my rep goes down with that... that's what I won't like at all.

Not to mention mind meld and the Borg Effect. (Writers’ Block members will get this.)

haha.. didn't get this part... seems I wasn't there enough.

Oh, you were. We've already assimilated you into our family. You just didn't realize it. ;-)

I am glad to see this post... I've been off for a bit and have not been able to join any of the conversations. I've been following the issue in various threads from both sides. Our side, and the platform side. As a writer, editor and a member of The Block, I was horrified. As a technologist and coder I started to see the rational...it is still hard to digest and I would like to see a more programmatic approach, with data. The potential for abuse is certainly there, on both upvoting and downvoting. The light at the end of the tunnel is that I have read several posts on Utopian.io that are looking to address some aspects of the disperity.

As @rhondak has said, if we work together and have rational dialogue and responses we will all benefit. @rhondak your leadership, vision and passion (and you too @gmuxx) for the writers and Steem community is shown in spades as you helped to navigate this issue.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63117.29
ETH 2601.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76