A review of my first year on steemit/ road to steemfest3

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: A review of my first year on steemit/ road to steemfest3


I've moved to Hive, along with most other people, following Justin Sun's takeover of Steem in the Spring of 2020. I believe hive is a lot more decentralised than Steem!

Sort:  

Quite a journey mate :)

Looking back it's been an interesting year, to say the least!

Stand out lesson is that you do have to spend a lot of time on here to get anything out of it!

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes, I would agree with that, but, at the same time, isn't that true of most things?
I guesss it depends on your expectations. I can see that steemit as a potential income earning blogging platform might have been disappointing. However, part of the value for me has come from the opportunuty to learn about cryptocurrencies and where the world is going. There are problems, but there have been problems in every online community I've ever joined, ever, and this community is better equipped to find ways of resolving those, largely because the means to do so is in their own hands. I tend to follow a path of enlightened self-interest, keeping a weather eye on developments, acting when necessary, and meanwhile, getting on with my own path. I've had a lot of value from steemit, not because of the earnings, but because of the communities that I've had access to and the wealth they create - network capital, I suppose.
SMTs and the opportunity to tokenise wordpress blogs are an interesting development. I guess steemit is the engine oil that keeps it all lubricated and people in touch with each other. For the moment, anyway.

Yes - steemit certainly is the best place for cinnecting with people with alt. views.

It's just painful having to witness the injustice of the differential rewards. Ironically I find the tribesteemup upvote circle the most offensive in that regard!

Still - if you can suck it up there is a lot of good stuff going on here...

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes - steemit certainly is the best place for cinnecting with people with alt. views.

It's just painful having to witness the injustice of the differential rewards. Ironically I find the tribesteemup upvote circle the most offensive in that regard!

Still - if you can suck it up there is a lot of good stuff going on here...

Posted using Partiko Android

Ah, I wasn't aware of the tribesteemup upvote circle: I guess sometimes ignorance is bliss :)

Just look for anyone who blogs about homesteading who gets a regulat upvote of around $7. A couple of them deserve it, I unfollowed the rest. I don't it in my face/ feed!

Not that those I unfollowed aren't nice people... it's just witnessing releative deprivarion daily sucks big time!

Posted using Partiko Android

Stand out lesson is that you do have to spend a lot of time on here to get anything out of it!

Speaking of, I sent you a discord message :)

Stand out lesson is that you do have to spend a lot of time on here to get anything out of it!

Yep. Ready? :D

Not while I'm still in between houses. I need to get settled so I can get into a routine!

Posted using Partiko Android

It is great to read all you have done last one year and how you accomplished different things here. I wish all the best for your steem fest 3 in November and see you there and will check live broadcast as always. It is true that many entries coming from many countries but I loved that you already bought your ticket from yourself. So you gave chance to someone grab it.

It just didn't seem appropriate to enter the competition coming from a wealthy country!

Posted using Partiko Android

I think many should do it even they have scope to apply for a grant. I will try to apply for it if I change my plan and want to attend this year.

Congratulations @revisesociology! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received
Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Amazing journey man !!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58211.02
ETH 2483.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37