Who are you?

in #steemit6 years ago

As a child, I spent many hours watching people from afar. I was fascinated by all the different faces, voices, gestures, dress codes, moods, etc. All the possibilities, all the variety gave me endless entertainment and I wondered what made everyone tick. It has become my life's passion and my work to discover people. I ask questions and I listen.

My Steemit experience thus far has been awesome. I get to read your thoughts, not just listen to you. This means I can read it again and ponder it. And just so you know, I do. I am very interested in you. And I'm very interested in your message. We are people from all over the world gathered here on Steemit and it should be the most fascinating of experiences to engage with one another.

A big part of Steemit is devoted to the cryptocurrency world. That makes sense as we are all learning about this new world. None of us can say, 'My grandfather did this or that with his cryptocurrencies.' Or, 'Ten years ago at varsity, my professor said this or that about crypto.' It is new and we are new to it. I read a small number of blogs on this topic every week but after a while, it can become more of the same.

Many people write about how to make your blog on Steemit work. Some are experts and very helpful. Others share their own experiences and journey. I love this. And then there are those who prey on my vulnerability born from my eagerness to succeed. They make promises they cannot keep just to draw me in and create big accounts for themselves and no one else. This is not peculiar to Steemit and I'm amazed that we, myself included, still fall for these schemes.

I enjoy the contests and the groups with whom I get to be involved as a result. It creates a fun environment and gives us something to do together.

The poetry, music and art creators leave me in awe. I'm a big fan of @koevert. And I just love the stories that @giantbear publishes here on Steemit free of charge. They both get auto-votes from me as I know I will read and enjoy what they write, even if it is not today.

Here is what I enjoy the most when I read your blog.

I just love it when you share yourself with us, your readers. Not your deepest, darkest secrets. That would be unwise, especially if your secret is that you broke the law... Rather, I love it when I read:

  1. I think...
  2. In my experience...
  3. This happened to me today...
  4. During my childhood...
  5. My dad/mom/uncle/grandmother used to say...
  6. This is how we do it in my country/city/house...

Any sentence with these words or similar gets all my attention. Your life, your context, your experiences and your perspectives are different from mine and everybody else's. It is the best thing you have to offer us. And it is the best way to write a blog here that contains information I cannot find on Google.

It would be awesome if you told us some of the stories you tell at dinner parties or at reunions. Or share your hopes and dreams. Or the situation at work for which you are seeking an innovative solution. (Unless you work for the CIA. We would rather not know that.)

I know you may have been drawn to Steemit more for the Steem than the writing but you have a story to tell! And I would love to read it!

@reonlouw

Sort:  

Congratulations @reonlouw! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Excellent post!

You really enjoy in steemit, you get knowledge and also happiness there, I like it.

This post has received a 3.67 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @reonlouw.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

Congratulations @reonlouw ! You received a 50% upvote from @kryptoniabot & @kryptonia.

Remember to receive votes from @kryptoniabot

Run a task on Kryptonia.
*For those who want to join the growing community, get your free account here Kryptonia Account
Use the tags KRYPTONIA or SUPERIORCOIN in your Steemit post for max vote.
Steemit reputation score above 25.

If you would like to delegate to the Kryptonia Upvote Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 10SP , 50SP , 100SP , 500SP , 1000SP , 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Due to an increased amount of tasks, we have changed up the voting power to evenly spread out the Upvote amount.

I have had a similar experience.
I love how open everybody is on this platform,
and the real sense of community.
I really love all the brilliant advice there is
on how to grow on this plaform.
Like you, I have also come across
the shady characters who take advantage
of the same eagerness that you and I share.
I feel thought that everybody has something
to teach you (and me), even the shady guys.
At the minimum, they can teach you
what to avoid.

I see this post as very interesting @grace234 id

I'm similar to you in wanting to read "the real story" people have to tell. I find a lot of that good material here and I wish it was valued more. Steemit is a good place for this. But I wish is was more welcoming and easier for new people to get going on it.

I try to vote for those who struggle to get rewards, but those are hard to find - just for the reason that they do not have rewards on the post. I sure hope for the best here and I love all my new connections, but I think this place is very fragile.

That's awesome how you love to listen, not everyone does. I guess I'll share my hopes and dreams... I certainly hope to become wealthy (everyone does) but I also hope to give back in a big way if I do - or even better yet, if I had the option between wealth or knowing wealthy people are doing much more than they are to protect the environment, I'd definitely opt for the latter! But that's mostly wishful thinking at this time, I have to work harder, learn more, get better at what I do arrrrrrrrr

(emotions get in my way on crypto, let's just say I bought crypto in Dec 2018 oh man that hurts to say hahahahah)

(found you via kryptonia :P)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63277.26
ETH 2570.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82