You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is it REALLY quality content that is rewarded on the STEEM platforms?

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

I don't see why these other sites like dmania and the rest are thriving. What is exactly is the point of them ? We post there and the post appears here. Why not just post it here to begin with ? Why have all these other sites linked to steemit. Why not just have steemit ?

I don't see the value they bring. I must be missing something.

And no, it's not quality that gets rewarded here. Sometimes quality does. Just about every time popularity does. Meaning if you are already popular via Youtube , facebook ect. then you will be able to earn at steemit regardless of quality.

Sort:  

You are bringing up some really good points to this discussion @rentmoney

I agree with you on some points. No, I also believe it is not always quality content that gets rewarded. But i still do believe that Dmania and all the other paltforms should be connected to Steemit, and I do believe that there should exist more platforms that all is in the STEEM block-chain.

My thoughts is that these different platforms exists so that people who are only out after specific content can easily reach it on these platforms. And the reason content from the different paltforms are linked to steemit, so they appear in our feed or under different tags, is because the creators want to build a big community. Yes, I do believe there are flaws that makes this system of a block chain a bit disorientating.

Same question could be asked to our everyday social media... what is the point of instagram, if the picture that is posted on instagram also is shared on facebook. I do understand that trough our every day social media we receive the option "to share", which is not a provided option on the STEEM block chain. But without a way to share content from one media to another, the whole social media concept would completely change. Then the ability to spread your information would be more difficult and the growth of the platform would not be as fast. But with sharing content between the social medias, the platforms is able to lure even more people into the circle.

I understand that people that have gathered a bigger audience from other platforms, like youtube, facebook etc... and brought them over to the STEEM block-chain. But they really had to work for it to get that amount of followers/subscribers on the other platform in the first place (In most situations).

I do appreciate that you have opinions, and I am happy that you bring up these questions, I really am! But have to ask you @rentmoney... What is quality to you when it comes to provide people with content?

I love that you engage @rentmoney, and I wish you success in what ever you do!

Thanks for the thought out reply. I don't use many social media outlets. I do use Facebook from time to time.

As for the ease of finding a specific item / topic / picture (ect.) explanation for being the reason to have all these different media outlets :

I don't completely agree but I don't completely disagree either. A simple search for gifs will bring you to the steemit gif section. Same goes for Pictures, videos or any other sub section. I can see how someone that is less farmiliar with social media might find it difficult to navigate, so a site dedicated to each would serve a purpose in such a case.

As for what I think quality is, it usually isn't a one sentence topic nor is it a topic that is full of pictures with an extended explanation to a simple question ( which I see allot of on here ). For example someone is searching for the answer on how to resteem. The answer doesn't need three or four lengthy paragraphs plus 3 or 4 pictures to explain how to. I am sure we all have different views on what we consider to be something of quality. Which is the great thing about social media and life in general. We get to meet all sorts of different people with different views.

I wish you the best with your success as well !

I got to understand you a bit more now @rentmoney!

It is great to have a individual view on what quality is too you! It is also important to share these things in order to improve each other.

I made this post because I wanted people to share their thoughts on this topic at the same time as I gave you a presentation on my view of things.

My belief is that... If you found a post, article, picture or even a meme, that makes you stop and read it, then there exist a quality behind that posts structure and/or preview. If the post also added value to you as the reader, in terms of educational, inspirational, (ect...), then I consider it content of some quality.

That is just my belief and point of view. I think we agree to some point on certain things, but I believe it is good for us both to disagree. Let us agree to disagree on certain points, and I will let myself learn how to improve my content :)

Thank you very much @rentmoney

(sorry if my writing is bad now, I am typing on my phone)

I like your view on quality.

Well I like your view as well as my own. I appreciate others view