How our business found success by staying progressive, and so will steemit!

in #steemit8 years ago

Do not give up on this platform!!

It worked with our own business!

In November of 2000, we bought a business from other members of our family. This business had been in the family since 1967. When we took over, we had a bigger goal, stay progressive!

Steemit needs to be much the same way and I'll explain why, and our hometown is the perfect example.

The old business

The town we live in has a popujlation of 500, very similar to the small population steemit has now. But everything has a beginning. In the early 2000's, there was a big change for us, the small family owned resorts had become private condos and second homes for the wealthier families from the cities.

As a 23 year old bar manager, which the bar is all we had at the time, I had no idea what to do about losing the local business we had year round, thankfully my father was an experienced businessman. He put into motion a plan I never saw coming.

He knew we had to modify to create a business around the market we had, which meant catering to the summer crowd that overtook our small hometown. We see the same going on with the steemit platform, adding features that us users want to see. Thankfully, it keeps us interested knowing that things are getting better and better.

Making Changes

The first thing we added on was a full dining room that was completed in 2010. This increased our business by %300! Before we had cheap snacks that our low budget regulars could munch on, now we had a full menu of pricier, much better items that we knew would sell because of the market changeover. 

The impact was enormous. From April to May (our busiest time of year because school is out) we were booked every single night of the week. With the restaurant taking off, the bar business did way better than anticipated. We had to hire more staff for the first time in 10 years.

After the success of the restaurant, we asked ourselves what the summer people need next. After a lot of thought, we realized the closest place for groceries was an hour away. The last thing mom and dads wanna do after driving "up north" is go shopping. So we came up with convenience store/gas station. 

Noticing the Rewards

This has been a monumental decision like no other, of which I never imagined the impact. Our total gross sales in 2000 was right around $160,000. This last year we broke into the middle seven digits. We currently employ 25 people, in a town of 500. We employ 5% of the population! All by staying progressive!

Our next phase is going to include a new resort style cabin in the woods feel. Our goal is to have 10 cabins on our 20 acres just tucked away for some peace and quiet. With all the resorts being gone, there's no place left for people to stay. Since we have the best ATV and Snowmobile trails, among fishing and hunting, it seems like the next best logical decision. I'm excited about this one! Have to stay progressive!

Stay Postive and Make Changes!!!!!

The steemit platform is doing the exact same thing, adding on what our users need. As the user numbers grow, so will demands and options. And from what I've seen with the developers, they're very keen to progressiveness. They want to see this succeed as much as a small town business owner would want their business to succeed. 

This is why I keep reinvesting my SBD and Steem into powering up. The more I reinvest, and stay progressive, the more successful I will be with my blogs and posts! And you will be too!

So keep being vocal, it helps the developers understand who the market is, it helps them understand what the next phase of steemit will be. 

It's what we did, listen to the people! 

Thanks for reading and please follow me!!

Sort:  

What we need is more readers, There's so much writing going on and not enough reads

I agree with that too! We need more users curating! The whole system itself needs to grow, and it is, just slowly

There should be a piece that all newcomers should read that says they need to read too not just write, They're are so many posts going through unnoticed,

You're absolutely right, with amount of time I put Into the business, I don't get a lot of time to write, however I get many "moments" where I can go online and read, I like curating.

Impressive. Thanks for sharing how you turned around your business. Therefore I am curious what you think what would attract more readers?
@steempowerwhale 🐳
🌞 upvoting your lifetime dreams!

The thing I've noticed from 5 weeks on here is the platform seems to be very tech driven. The most money goes towards things such as Bitcoin, blockchain, and anything crypto. I've told so many people about this website, but they're afraid. I hate comparing to Facebook but it's seems to be the only thing that makes sense to them. When I tell them they get paid, they ask me how to cash it out, then I tell them they have to convert it to BTC then to USD and they really freak out. Nobody I've talked to knows what Bitcoin is, but that's partly where I live too.

I think to drive the user base up, this platform needs to hit more mainstream news. The only way I heard about it was a little blip on yahoo news. Need Yahoo, MSN and other sites to do bigger stories about it. That'll get everybody's interest.

Loved your post! And best of luck in the future!

Image credit quickmemes.com

Agreed
Your Advice is what We Minnows Need!!
I really like Steemit,
It really Jives
Watch Out World
Here We Come

Minnows grow!!

We need more hard working people like you.

Thanks for the notice, yes people need to realize things aren't handed to them. You have to go out and grab it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29