@birjudanak Had His Account Stolen In A Phishing Scam

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

@birjudanak blog

Don't click on his link or you'll be stuck with a login pop up that looks like Steemit.

The HTML link looks like this http:// steemit .aba . ae

Watch Out For These People!

Accounts that have been upvoting scam post, most of these accounts have reps of 25 and are new

some_text A link to My Blog

Sort:  

So many damn scammers in this world.

The systems we use attract scammers :-/

I saw this message to @sift666 from @keyhunter ... perhaps this is why he can't access his account?

sift666-keyhunter-border.png

I think there are hundreds of vunerble accounts just like this one...

i have posted about these you all should take a look too ☺

scammers stealers assholes idiots and every thing

Thank for this wonderfuk info

You are welcome @okoro!

well done captain @reddust !! an excellent fly catch ..always something sticky to look out for ! I almost got snapped by a fake myetherwallet phish ...stay frosty and keep up the stirling work

I haven't been caught by a scam yet, but I have run into a few since working with cryptocurrency, it's the wild wild west and kinda exciting...but others are naive, so let's spread the word.

it certainly is the wild west calamity jane ! the digital gold rush of our times.. let's hope we find a few big nuggets before it all packs up and goes mainstream! although i am convinced blockchain and post blockchain projects are going to change the world. (for the better)

I don't know how blockchain and cryptocurrency will playout, they need electricity and our grids are so vulnerable...But I am enjoying the ride and the challenge, I love this new technology because there are no rules yet.

high levels of redundancy in most block chain networks plus their de-centralised or distributed nature make them more robust than most other electricity dependent networks!! ( I think) & come the zombie apocalypse, you'll still be able to buy stuff with bitcoin.. gulp, let's hope so. It is all up for grabs and is being billed as the greatest shift of wealth in history. let's hope so. It's in the very wealthiest people's interest to relinquish a few percent of their riches to everyone else, lest the whole thing comes to a full stop. It seems pretty well organised, this cryptocurrency revolution. I think $10,000 in the top 5 crypto coins will be worth up to 100k in less than 5 years. HOARD & HODL :)

I just came across another article for a different user running the same scam, also @sift666's account was hacked, so I'm wondering if he clicked on something like this...@kiwideb made a post about it.

edit: Here's the post about the other scammer: https://steemit.com/steemit/@aftabkhan10/that-glitch-scam-post-do-not-click-or-enter-your-details

You have to enter your master key to get caught! I read that many people leave their master key in the memo section when they transfer sbd or steem. I can't remember who ran a search on this...I think it was @thedollarvigilante.

When I pasted my master key into the memo section by error, an automated security procedure prevented me from completing the action, so is it even possible to share a master key with the world using the memo section?

Was this on Steemit?

Yes, Steemit does not allow to share master key in a memo.
Where did you encounter the opposite?

That's what I read on someone else's article...that many accounts exposed their keys this way. Let me see if I can find it.

Old news.
This problem has been solved since then.
You can open a new account and try pasting its master key in a memo and see for yourself what happens.
While I might have joined steemit just before this problem was solved, I also joined it just before any vote bid bot existed and more so before any of those bots became affordable to me (the cheaper ones were created later)

Hm. When I transfer steem or sbd I go through blocktrades, not just the steemit blocktrades, but the site, I provide the site with my wallet address and they in turn give me a different encrypted address to use every time on steemit, so I don't use my master key.

Yeah, I don't understand why anyone would give someone their master key or use it in the memo section.

Thanks reddust . Got to be alert, Wild west like u say.

His account got hacked and robbed, a few others too. Do not click the link it looks like a Log In but its not they take control of your account and clean out your Steem and SBD.

People should be very careful with their master key :-(

I am flagging all the spammy phishing posts he made, and he made a LOT! Thanks for the warning so we can continue to police the ecosystem! I'll get @goodguygreg to resteem this, too!

I found some more weird accounts along with the phishing farm...there is someone farming accounts and has made at least $60,000 Steem !!!!

Oh boy. Remember, people, check your address bar before entering anything anywhere online! If you're unsure of anything, close the window!

nice work you saved many people :)

Thanks to point out phishing scam @reddust scammers can't hide himself for long time on steemit :-)

The account was stolen, although I haven't figured out how ....

What a mess for folks that get taken by this. So many posts today about this problem. One intriguing thing about Steemit is seeing how problems spring up and then get dealt with. These same forces have to be at work all over the place, but we don't see them so clearly as here.

It's easy to trace their activity on the blockchain @homestead. I learned a lot just investigating the accounts through steemd.com!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 61227.67
ETH 2682.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62