You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: STEEMIT - IT IS WHAT WE MAKE IT - So What In The World Are We Making It?

in #steemit7 years ago

Brilliant, @papa-pepper!

This may be a "wee minnow" account, but I have 20 years of blogging experience elsewhere... and everything you're saying (and suggesting people do) is precisely what Steemit needs to be a beautiful and viable community for everyone, in the long run.

And that's the key, right there. "The LONG run." The whole follow-me-upvote me begging for attention tends to be a very short term philosophy, centered around what can I do to get something NOW, generally with complete disregard for the long term well-being of the community. Maybe you've heard the cautionary tale of those who would kill the goose that lays golden eggs? Let's not have that here... this is much to great a community for that!

Unfortunately people start "behaving badly" when there are rewards involved... I've seen it dozens of times. Earlier today I came across the account of someone who joined last month is already following over 7500(!) people (bot doing autofollows?) and spamming copied comments everywhere. Made me very sad. And it made me sad that "senior" Steemians weren't more ready to step up and -- if not actually flagging-- at least saying "hey, copying and comment spam are uncool!"

Thanks for an inspirational post!

Sort:  

I always wonder, does that whole begging and spamming thing really work? Or are these people just stupid expecting to get something in return for begging. I mean besides judging their effortless try to gain something without contributing.

Wow! 20 years of blogging experience? You must bring a lot to the table!.

Hopefully when the beggars come up relatively empty they will move on. Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61740.86
ETH 3453.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51