You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Tip for New Steemit Writers

in #steemit7 years ago

Truth.

Steemit is a "long game," if you actually care about succeeding here. I mostly bring artists to Steemit, and they ask the same questions. I ask them if they have Facebook pages, twitter accounts or Instagram; tumblr. Then I ask them how long it took them to get "seen" there. Often, the penny drops, at that moment.

It's funny that people assume things will somehow be different/faster because there are rewards involved. Why? This is just another social content platform (technically speaking) that just happens to offer rewards.

Adding value? I try to create interesting and informational content for people in the art world... and I try to interact. Engage. Especially on my own posts... an old habit formed while using message boards, back in the 90's. If people take the time to reply to your post, have the courtesy to acknowledge them.

Sort:  

That's one of the most important things. It pains me when I see a great post with many comments, and the author hasn't a single one...

I actually feel bad when I later notice a comment has been lost in the shuffle!

#nocommentleftbehind

I have lived by the idea of "curate your own stuff!" pretty much since starting here. If we're here on a social site and the name of the game is engagement, then for goodness' sake INTERACT! And then there's another thing... it really doesn't "cost" anyone much to toss even just a 10% upvote at authentic comments on your own posts... maybe it's just me, but it feels like people are getting stingier and stingier with their votes (present company excepted!)... makes me wonder who they think they are "saving" their votes for?

You know, it even says in the Steemit Whitewater to not upvote already well performing posts!

... am I the only one who read the whitepaper?!?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57613.91
ETH 2390.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43