Steem Journey Day 15: Detailed Results

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Journey begins with many actions yet slow in feedback !

Starting out in Steemit you will have to take a lot of action to find your way. It takes a while to know to discover your areas of strengths and weaknesses. Start by reading articles from people who have come before you. You will find the community encouraging. Remember, everyone's path is different. Respect one another and do not loose your voice.

Result, Galaxy, Earth, World, Globe, Space, Universe

Honest Steemer Results

There are many knowledgeable people who have created articles to help. I do not have their experience level as I am continually learning. My purpose is not to be the SteemIt Guru (yet) but give honest feedback so you have a starting comparison. This article may encourage or discourage you. Either way it moves you then I have done my job.

Hat, Man, Mr, Human, Game Figure, Stone

Momentum is Key

Here are the badges I focused on in August. All of these have been achieved in 14 days.

  • Weekly Author: Post 7 days straight: Achieved
  • 20 Posts: Achieved
  • 100 Comments: Achieved
  • 200 Upvotes: Achieved
  • 50 Replies: Achieved
  • 100 Upvotes by Peers: Achieved

Top 10 Lessons Learned:

  1. Participate every day for the first 7 days. Evaluate the results on days 8-10. The reward is the feedback. All SP & SD are strictly a bonus.

  2. Do not expect giant curations rewards. I upvoted several articles worth hundreds of dollars and found myself discouraged to only receive .001 SBD.

    Tip: Discover why this happened. Hint: Think Steem Power and amount of upvotes received by article.

  3. Wait for an article to be 30 minutes old before upvoting. Your bonus is so small that this will be the best starting strategy. Learn why I am suggesting this.

  4. Earnings will be very slow at first. Vote for relationships not rewards. Find the people you understand and get along with the best. I've received more rewards from authors upvoting my comments than I have from curating the article.

  5. Keep your steam power strong. Upvoting a comment for 0 cents is embarassing.

  6. Create an account on SteemVoter. Rule 1: Get as many rules as quickly as you can. Experiment with voting for a small author and a whale to compare the curation rewards.

  7. SteemVoter Rule 2. Review the voting bot log and read each article you voted for. Provide a thoughtful comment for all votes.

  8. Expect nothing and appreciate your something. I've personally been discouraged by tracking my results. I was unrealistically hoped for immediate results. My expectations were greater than my reality. Remember the purpose you joined and enjoy the process.

  9. Buy Steem. Ironically, this hasn't seemed to help much yet. If you are going to invest your time then gain steem fast to have a voice. Buy enough steem to receive 5 votes on SteemVoter. This will allow you to learn more about curation. Personally, every time I buy more steem I get excited to review the results 7 days later.

  10. Encourage yourself and only quit for the day. Come back the following day strong with an article. You may get only 1 upvote for 0 cents. Who cares? Be thankful someone new found you and learn about the new follower.

  11. BONUS RULE. Be your own author and Write Write Write. On day 8-10 you will better understand as well as be writing better.

My 15 Day Results

On day 6, 11, 12 I bought steem. Here are the results:

Amount Invested: $ 615

Account Value: $ 609.53

You are correct, I LOST money with my initial investment based on steem going down in price. This is another reason I would suggest buying weekly instead of in chunks. The results do not discourage me because steem is about momentum. The relationships and quality followers is what will make this journey worth it. I will provide another update on day 30.

Board, Blackboard, Font, Subjective, Lens, I

Other Results:

49 Posts, 307 Comments, 210 Followers, Total Posts Rewards in SP: 6.776

@RealEstateCoach Follow Me

PLEASE

Put your tips, lessons, results in the comments below. Resteem this if you feel other minnows will enjoy and/or benefit from this. If you have an article that will truly help you can add to the comment section. Please just upvote the article as a Thank You if you mention other posts.

If you disagree include your viewpoint in the comments.

One Last Thing

We all have a favorite post which seems undervalued. This is one that is the most personal to me. Feel free to read so you can get better know me.
https://steemit.com/toddler/@realestatecoach/viewpoint-of-a-day-toddler-vs-adult

[^CC0 Creative Commons]: Pictures from Pixabay

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62701.63
ETH 2445.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67