Viewpoint of a Day (Toddler vs Adult)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #toddler7 years ago (edited)

I am blessed to spend a day a week with my boy. Being self-employed, I book my calendar so I watch my son one day a week. Surprisingly, our Tuesday's or Thursdays tend to be very routine. I've found that the zoo offers so many options that we can go to the same place over and over again and it is always different. A lot of this is because I like to let Matthew play and go off his lead so that we spend time at the places where he wants to play with other kids and I do not rush him. The urgent calls I take and the others I send to voicemail.

Spending time from a 2 1/2 year old's perspective is humbling. Today, I can tell he had a great day but I also realize if it was from an adult's perspective there would have been a lot of complaining.

The Dentist (Matthew's Perspective he is 2 1/2)

Where, what, and who is the dentist?. It is Daddy and Matthew day and I'm going to the dentist so it must be fun. I really wish dad would take me to Chik-Fil-A to look for the cow and play on the play ground but I trust daddy. I arrived and there were other kids and toys. I don't know why we do not go to the dentist more. Daddy left me with mommy after we sat down. He came back with chewy fruit (my favorite). I'm hungry and he brought me tasty food, what a great Daddy. I yelled his name when he walked back in the door because I didn't know if he was coming back.

The dentist was funny, they had tickling machines that they put on my teeth and brushed my teeth instead of letting mommy do it. They gave me toys and sunglasses to wear so I was happy. I didn't like sitting in the big chair so long but it was OK.

Dad's Perspective: Matthew was excellent and charming as always. He was getting hungry so I was so happy I could get him something to eat so he wouldn't melt down during the visit. My wife, was upset he may have chewy fruit on his teeth seeing the doctor. I said, they are cleaning his teeth anyway and I'm sure they would prefer a child not stomping his feet and crying. Dad wins (point).

Chik-Fil-A

I love Chik-Fil-A and their nuggets, fries, and ice cream. Daddy normally just buys the nuggets so he can bring them to the zoo for us to eat. I love the play ground. I always make friends and have a good time on the playground. When I'm here it is the best day. One time I actually saw the cow from the calendar in Dad's office. However, I haven't seen him since.

Dad's Perspective: Obviously once we get in about 8 kids 3 times the age limit take over the playground. Matthew mimics them but I'm afraid they are going to accidentally hurt him. He did meet a friend so we stayed a while. He insisted on being on the playground instead of going to the zoo and since it is his day his choice trumps mine.

Zoo (Matthew's Perspective)

We made it to my favorite place: THE ZOOO. I love riding Jing Jing (Carousel) and the Train. I wonder if I get to go see the penguins first and run around. Yes, that is what we did. I met 3 other kids and we kept running around the indoor area over and over again. I never get tired of climbing the steep rocks and running in circles so daddy gets to chase me.

Next, we went and rode Jing JIng and played on the play ground. Finally, we went on my favorite train. I rode James (red train car) and waved at everyone who was there to watch me ride.

Dad's Perspective: It was in the 90's and the south carolina sun was bright. We kept this trip quick because I didn't want him burnt. Thankfully, the sea lions and penguins are indoor buildings so we spent a lot of time in there.

Time to Play at Home

Daddy is tired but we have to RIDE BIKES ! We ride bikes every day and I will yell if we don't go play outside more. We started playing but I fell and then daddy tried to make me come inside. I was very upset because I have to RIDE BIKES. While dad let me ride I hurt so I instead rode Herbie (motorized blue mini cooper). Dad wants to go inside but I want to show him how strong I am. Daddy and me were able to carry Herbie back to the garage instead of me driving it. It was fun carrying the car with Daddy.

Dad's Perspective

I made a mistake for us coming outside. When Matthew is tired he tends to fall more and can get upset. Instead of riding his tricycle down he chased me down the drive way and tripped full speed and landed on the concrete. He has some skid marks on his knee but also his forehead. He was obviously shook up but he was more mad that he couldn't ride his bike. We rode it for a while and got him inside as quick as we could. Of course, when he is tired it is always tougher to get him inside. Once again, he insisted we carry the car back in together. Talk about a heavy car!

Conclusion

Overall, Matthew went to the dentist. Was at a playground with rough older kids that I thought could accidentally hurt him. Then he fell on concrete at full speed run. However, if you look at him, he still has a smile ear to ear and you can tell considers this another great Matthew & Daddy day. My wife is back and downstairs with Matthew. As I write this article he is screaming 'Dad don't leave me'. I guess it is time to go downstairs so we can play with trains.

@RealEstateCoach

Sort:  

Great addition to the #steemdads tag! I'll be featuring this article in a weekly curation post centered around fatherhood! Keep up the great work!

Thanks, I appreciate that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 66043.66
ETH 3593.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46