Sort:  

Steemits Hard Fork from several weeks ago.

My personal views, based upon what I see (and I am here every day) is that Hard Fork is largely to blame.

Because of HF19, the voting was tweaked, so now we have something like ten upvotes per day at full power- don't quote me on this, my numbers may be slightly off.

Because of that, people must choose only a few now on which to full upvote. Now, I am still just as involved as I was, so it definitely wasn't that.

With that being said, I looked at the pasts of some of the top earners here. It takes time. They all started out making pennies for months. My sudden flood out of the gate was unheard of and unusual. Hence my frustration- I did exceptionally well in the very beginning, then settled to where I "should be" being so new. I was under the impression I should only rise.

Patience is key. You gotta put in your time here like everyone else :)

You're speaking truth here. I've been away on an almost 3-week holiday and going to dive back into Steemit in a big way from Monday. The price is very low at the moment but I've just put my money where my mouth is by making another Steem investment at the current price as I'm still confident it's going to go up once the current creases are ironed out.

Two things I believe:
+/-10 upvotes per day at 100% voting power is way, way too few.
The absolute flood of low-effort crap posters either need to change their game, or leave the platform. They do NOTHING but detract from the value of Steemit as a whole.

A future hard fork will hopefully address the above, perhaps by having all of a user's voting power spread across all votes made in a 24 hour period, with the cost and rewards divided by the number of upvotes made per day.

So let's say I have $2.70 per day to vote. If I for one post only in 24 hours, that person gets the full $2.70 attributed to their post at the end of the 24 hour period. If I vote for 10 posts, each gets $0.27 at the end of the day, and so on.

Might not work, but it's something that's come to mind recently while trying to think up solutions.

As for the slew of poor content, well, hopefully those users will simply leave when they grow tired of making $0.01 per post. Let's see.

give you have over 1700 SP, you do realize you can adjust your vote weight down using the vote slider? that way you can vote more than 10 times a day without excessively draining your vote power.

Yep, but I'm not talking about it as simple as that. There's a disincentive somewhere from the impression of how limited/limiting one's number of votes are. And many, I'd say the vast majority, don't have enough SP to see the slider.

true, but as I had described in my other comment below, that's also why I created and released the Minnow Post Vote Slider and Past Payout Monetizer Script a few weeks back, so that anyone down to around 72 SP can also gain access to the vote slider on STEEMIT.com!

the 10 upvotes per day is more of a problem for those who have under 480 SP, since you don't yet have access to the "Post Vote Slider" (not on STEEMIT.com, anyway) to adjust your vote power down so you can vote more each day (if that is your intention). It also gives you more flexibility to upvote comments as well, which is an excellent way to reward people for taking the time to leave thoughtful comments.

It's also partly why I created and released the Minnow Post Vote Slider and Past Payout Monetizer Script a few weeks back, so that anyone down to around 72 SP can also gain access to the vote slider on STEEMIT.com!

also, regarding this...

and he wanted me to pull mine from Steemit and he would pay me double his rate

guess he really doesn't get that there's no way to "pull your article" from the blockchain either! lol

Being that my upvote is worth a penny, I'll have to wait to use your slider, but I will :)

Great creation!

guess he really doesn't get that there's no way to "pull your article" from the blockchain either! lol Right?!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55971.81
ETH 2362.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32