Drones a cheaper alternative for artists to get started in music videos? + Life update #1

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Hey Steemit right back at ya again with another life update and discussion.


How have ya'll been!? The last posts I had made were my 100 followers milestone + reintroduction post, and my power up + $7000 in 6 months challenge. Since I posted those two posts my follower count has gone up insanely fast; I believe I'm sitting around 125 followers now. Also the feedback I've received from all of you really touched my heart. So this post is just going to be updating y'all on everything that has been happening recently, and a couple ideas of mine that I think could help out independent artists looking to get into the music video realm.

So what have I been up to the last week..?


A lot of stuff actually. I have been waiting to drop the news till I know is set in stone, but I work for a new company permanently now. I've been employed for MarketSource for about a month and a half now, after being unemployed for 2-3 months helping my mother with her knee replacement surgery. There also something I can say about this job that I've never been able to say about any job... I love it!

My manager is awesome, I have little supervision so I am pretty much in charge of my own success, and I get unlimited connections talking to new people every day!

To explain a little bit about my job, I am essentially a sales rep for TracFone. I go to different Walmart locations, get to know the workers, and teach them how to sell phones. I do a little selling myself, but the main priority is to make sure the Walmart employees know what to sell and how. I make commission even while I'm not here because of that fact.

Anyways just updating y'all letting you know the struggle bus is about to drop me off pretty soon. Just a few more miles to go...

A Steemit exclusive music video...?


So I've made a post showcasing a song that is and has been in the works for a long time. Due to distance restrictions, since the main artist on that track lives in Colorado. Her name is Shentell and she is one of my best friends. Anyways we have officially planned to make a music video that will be finished by the end of this Summer. She is going to fly out to Seattle for a week and record the tracks with my newer microphone, then bust out the music video. I've had many ideas bounced around the team of producers I've put in charge of this task. Although besides the video going on YouTube I kinda want to go off of @brian-rhodes idea and make this a music video exclusive to Steemit. I will be posting behind the scenes footage, bloopers, etc...

Only my followers and people that see my posts will have access to this! When shooting schedule gets closer, I may be asking for help financially to fund this. That is if I can drop my pride enough to ask for that from you folks. Tell me your feedback on this, if you would be interested in seeing something like this, willing to donate to the cause, and whatnot.

Going off that, I had a pretty ingenious idea for artists trying to get into professional music videos on a budget with drones!


I've really been getting into drone landscape videos, and just videos shot with drones in general. Then the idea sprung to my head. Drones have relatively decent cameras, and if you're dropping enough money on one you get many features like a decent gimbal, 4k video, follow object mode, 360 orbit, and more. Now let's do some math...

The drone I've been looking at is the DJI Mavic Pro. This drone shoots 4k video and has all the features I've just stated.

Currently, if you're looking to hire someone to shoot the video for you and edit the footage I'd say a ballpark of around 2000 dollars. Most freelancers charge big bucks for stuff like this if you want quality. The DJI Mavic Pro is about 1200 dollars and lets you pilot it yourself, you don't even need the camera man if you feel confident enough. That plus a good video editing software you can get for about 20 bucks a month. So with $1220, and a little bit of homework, you essentially have all you need to have a 4k quality music video. Opposed to spending >$2000 hiring someone to do it all for you.

Remember this is all relative and doesn't include the price of convincing people to be in your video, providing refreshments, and all that kind of stuff. Just a pretty cool idea I had that maybe could strike inspiration in another artist here.

Me and my fiance's 1 year anniversary is coming up and although we don't have $1200 to spend, I'm pretty sure she's going to help me get a DJI Phantom 3 Standard which still shoots in 2.7k and is only around the $500 mark. I will be experimenting with it and post videos for y'all here to see if this idea would even be practical.

One last point...


I am still going to be doing the audio mixing/mastering giveaways and starting up my #steemgigs. I'm waiting to get a larger follower base so I don't waste my time offering it only to 125 people. Not that I don't appreciate you all, I just want a fair amount of people to have a chance at winning. Just to keep y'all updated on that :)

TLDR;


I appreciate all my new followers and all the feedback I've been getting. I started a new job recently and love it. I think drones could be a cheaper alternative to get into music videos. Finally, YES, I am still going to be doing giveaways!


Follow me on Steemit and other places

Steemit: @rdollarsign
Twitter: http://twitter.com/rdollasign
YouTube: https://goo.gl/1U8Gkm
Sort:  

Great post. Great ideas! I have also been using my Drone (Yuneec Typhoon H) for professional photography and video. See my post(includes free Nashville Panoramic download): https://steemit.com/funny/@pippininja/that-time-i-had-a-gun-pulled-on-me

Love it! Keep up the great work.

SO YUGE

ALL THE YUUUUUUUUGE!

We're going to make crypto great again.

Congratulations @rdollarsign! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I've seen drones recording weddings before - super cool perspective for the bride and groom to go back and watch, I'm sure! Nice post, followed and upvoted!

I see no reason that a drone couldn't replace a camera man entirely. The technology is amazing nowadays! Shame for people that do that for work... Sucks for them. Thanks though man, appreciate your feedback.

I've been thinking about getting a drone lately myself. I was really considering a mavic pro but I was also looking at the dji spark for the first one. You can get the base package for $499 and the fly more package for $699 (extra battery, controller, blade guards, etc). The camera is only 1080p (not 4k) but has all the other features of the mavick pro for les than half the price.

The Spark is a cool looking little drone, the only problem I have with it is that I would rather have a designated controller and at least something with higher than 1080p video. The Phantom 3 Standard is around 440 plus tax here, and shoots in 2.7k.

I love drone shots and I think they work really well in music videos. The only problem with drones is that they still fall right out of the sky from time to time, so repairs might be an unforeseen expense that changes the equation financially too.

That is true, although I'd say that the more expensive drones with today's software pretty much guarantees that you will stay in the air. Some drones even have sensors that tell them if there is obstacles.

Aren't those a bit more expensive or am I just behind the curve in my knowledge about drones. I would guess the latter, right ;)

The one I listed for 1200 does anything you need it to do, seriously.

I guess this is one of those technologies that are advancing quite quickly. I checked out the DJI Mavic Pro out and it looks pretty awesome indeed.

Pick one up if you have the funds man, not only is it fun to fly. But documenting your life while you're still alive is pretty important to me.

That's true... and a bit grim too :P

Yeah... but you want people to remember when you pass what you did.

Can get some great results with such gadgets :-) Congrats with your progress.

Thank you man! We will see, once I get one.

Nice article, thanks for sharing.
Drones definitely making its own way.

Always, and thanks for reading!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64741.88
ETH 3457.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55